tions of our riverine and coastal floodplains help to maintain the viability of natural systems and provide multiple benefits for people.

Effective implementation of the Unified National Program for Floodplain Management will mitigate the tragic loss of life and property, and disruption of families and communities, that are caused by floods every year in the United States. It will also mitigate the unacceptable losses of natural resources and result in a reduction in the financial burdens placed upon governments to compensate for flood damages caused by unwise land use decisions made by individuals, as well as governments.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON. THE WHITE HOUSE, March 6, 1995.

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on Banking and Financial Services.

\$38.9 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— NATIONAL ENDOWMENT FOR DEMOCRACY

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. KNOLLENBERG, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States: Pursuant to the provisions of section 504(h) of Public Law 98-164, as amended (22 U.S.C. 4413(i)), I transmit herewith the 11th Annual Report of the National Endowment for Democracy, which covers fiscal year 1994.

Promoting democracy abroad is one of the central pillars of the United States' security strategy. The National Endowment for Democracy has proved to be a unique and remarkable instrument for spreading and strengthening the rule of democracy. By continuing our support, we will advance America's interests in the world.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON. THE WHITE HOUSE, March 6, 1995.

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on International Relations.

¶38.10 ATTORNEY ACCOUNTABILITY

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. KNOLLENBERG, pursuant to House Resolution 104 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 988) to reform the Federal civil justice system.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. KNOLLENBERG, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. HOBSON as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole.

The Acting Chairman, Mr. GOSS assumed the Chair; and after some time spent therein,

\$38.11 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. GOODLATTE:

Page 3, line 20, insert before the period the following: "or, if the offeree made an offer under this subsection, from the date the last such offer by the offeree was made'

Page 4, line 3, insert after "offer was ' the following: "or, if the offeree made made' an offer under this subsection, from the date the last such offer by the offeree was made".

It was decided in the Yeas 317 affirmative Nays

	l	5
¶38.12	[Roll No. 200]	
30.12	[ROII NO. 200]	
	AYES-317	
	_	
Archer	Ensign	Leach
Armey	Eshoo	Levin
Bachus	Everett	Lewis (CA)
Baker (CA)	Ewing	Lewis (KY)
Baker (LA)	Fawell	Lightfoot
Baldacci	Fields (TX)	Lincoln
Ballenger	Flanagan	Linder
Barcia	Foley	Livingston
Barr	Forbes	LoBiondo
Barrett (NE)	Fowler	Lofgren
Barrett (WI)	Fox	Longley
Bartlett	Frank (MA)	Lucas
Bass	Franks (CT)	Luther
Bateman		
	Franks (NJ)	Manzullo
Beilenson	Frelinghuysen	Martinez
Bentsen	Frisa	Martini
Bereuter	Funderburk	Mascara
Berman	Furse	McCarthy
Bevill	Gallegly	McCollum
Bilbray	Ganske	McCrery
Bilirakis	Gejdenson	McHale
Bishop	Gekas	McHugh
Bliley	Geren	McInnis
Blute	Gibbons	McKeon
Boehlert	Gilchrest	McNulty
Boehner	Gilman	Meehan
Bonilla		
	Goodlatte	Menendez
Bono	Goodling	Metcalf
Boucher	Gordon	Meyers
Brewster	Goss	Mica
Browder	Graham	Miller (FL)
Brownback	Green	Minge
Bryant (TN)		Molinari
	Greenwood	
Bunn	Gunderson	Mollohan
Burr	Gutknecht	Montgomery
Burton	Hall (OH)	Moorhead
Buyer	Hall (TX)	Moran
Callahan	Hamilton	Morella
Calvert	Hancock	Myers
Camp	Hansen	Myrick
Canady	Harman	Nadler
Cardin	Hastert	Neal
Castle	Hastings (WA)	Nethercutt
Chabot	Hayes	Neumann
Chambliss	Hayworth	Ney
Chapman	Heineman	Norwood
Chenoweth	Herger	Nussle
Christensen	Hilleary	Obey
Chrysler	Hobson	Olver
Clayton	Hoekstra	Ortiz
Clement	Hoke	Orton
Clinger	Holden	Oxley
Coble	Horn	Packard
Coburn	Hostettler	Pallone
Collins (GA)	Houghton	Parker
Combest	Hoyer	Paxon
Cooley	Hunter	Payne (VA)
Cox	Hutchinson	Peterson (FL)
Cramer	Hyde	Peterson (MN)
Crane	Inglis	Pombo
Crapo	Istook	Pomeroy
Cremeans	Jackson-Lee	Porter
Cubin	Johnson (CT)	Pryce
Cunningham	Johnson, Sam	Quillen
Danner	Jones	Quinn
Davis	Kaptur	Rahall
de la Garza	Kasich	Ramstad
Deal	Kelly	Reed
DeFazio	Kennedy (MA)	Regula
DeLay	Kennedy (RI)	Riggs
Diaz-Balart	Kennelly	Roberts
Dickey	Kim	Roemer
Dicks	King	Rohrabacher
Dixon	Kingston	Ros-Lehtinen
Doggett	Kleczka	Royce
Doolittle	Klink	Salmon
Dornan	Klug	Sanford
Doyle	Knollenberg	Sawyer
Dreier	Kolbe	Saxton
Duncan	LaFalce	Scarborough
Dunn	LaHood	Schroeder
Edwards	Lantos	Schumer
Ehlers	Largent	Seastrand
Ehrlich	Latham	Sensenbrenner
Emerson	LaTourette	Shaw
Engel	Laughlin	Shays
	Lazio	Shuster
English	Lazio	Shustel
	004	

Skeen Souder Spence Spratt Stearns Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate Allard Baesler Bonior Borski Clay Convers Coyne Dingell Durbin Evans Farr Fattah Fazio Filner Flake ٢v Frost ĽL) ۳Ń

Skaggs Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Stenholm Stockman Abercrombie Ackerman Andrews Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Costello Del auro Dellums Deutsch Foglietta Gephardt Gonzalez

Sisisky

MARCH 6

Wamp Ward Watts (OK) Waxman Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Wolf Woolsey Wyden Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

NOES-89

Tauzin Taylor (MS)

Taylor (NC)

Thornberry

Torkildsen

Torricelli

Traficant

Thurman

Tiahrt

Torres

Upton

Vento

Walker

Walsh

Volkmer

Vucanovich

Waldholtz

Gutierrez

Hefley

Hilliard

Hinchey

Jefferson

Kanjorski Kildee

Lewis (GA)

Lipinski

Lowey

Manton

Markey

Matsui

McDermott

McKinney

Mineta

Moakley

Murtha

Oberstar

Owens

Pastor

Petri

Ford

Gillmor

Hefner

Johnston

Malonev

McIntosh

McDade

Meek

Mfume

Pickett

Poshard

Payne (NJ)

Mink

Johnson (SD)

Johnson, E. B.

Jacobs

Hastings (FL)

Tejeda Thomas

Reynolds Richardson Rivers Rose Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Schaefer Scott Serrano Shadegg Skelton Slaughter Stark Stokes Studds Thompson Thornton Towns Tucker Velazouez Visclosky Waters Watt (NC) Williams Wise Wynn Yates

NOT VOTING-28

Barton Becerra Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Bunning Condit Dooley Fields (LA)

Pelosi Portman Radanovich Rangel Rogers Roth Roukema Schiff

Miller (CA) So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

¶38.13 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. BERMAN to the amendment submitted by Mr.McHALE: Amendment submitted by Mr. BER-MAN:

Strike section 2 and insert the following: SEC. 2. FRIVOLOUS ACTIONS.

(a) GENERAL RULE.-

(1) SIGNING OF COMPLAINT.-The signing or verification of a complaint in all civil actions in Federal court constitutes a certificate that to the signatory's or verifier's best knowledge, information, and belief, formed after reasonable inquiry, the action is not frivolous as determined under paragraph (2). (2) DEFINITIONS.-

(Å) For purposes of this section, an action is frivolous if the complaint is-

- (i) groundless and brought in bad faith;
- (ii) groundless and brought for the purpose of harassment; or
- (iii) groundless and brought for any improper purpose.

(B) For purposes of subparagraph (A), the term "groundless" means-