tions of our riverine and coastal floodplains help to maintain the viability of natural systems and provide

multiple benefits for people.

Effective implementation of the Unified National Program for Floodplain Management will mitigate the tragic loss of life and property, and disruption of families and communities, that are caused by floods every year in the United States. It will also mitigate the unacceptable losses of natural resources and result in a reduction in the financial burdens placed upon governments to compensate for flood damages caused by unwise land use decisions made by individuals, as well as governments.

# WILLIAM J. CLINTON. THE WHITE HOUSE, *March 6, 1995.*

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on Banking and Financial Services.

### ¶38.9 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— NATIONAL ENDOWMENT FOR DEMOCRACY

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. KNOLLENBERG, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States:

Pursuant to the provisions of section 504(h) of Public Law 98–164, as amended (22 U.S.C. 4413(i)), I transmit herewith the 11th Annual Report of the National Endowment for Democracy, which covers fiscal year 1994.

Promoting democracy abroad is one of the central pillars of the United States' security strategy. The National Endowment for Democracy has proved to be a unique and remarkable instrument for spreading and strengthening the rule of democracy. By continuing our support, we will advance America's interests in the world.

# WILLIAM J. CLINTON. THE WHITE HOUSE, *March 6, 1995.*

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on International Relations.

# ¶38.10 ATTORNEY ACCOUNTABILITY

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. KNOLLENBERG, pursuant to House Resolution 104 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 988) to reform the Federal civil justice system.

The ŠPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. KNOLLENBERG, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. HOBSON as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole.

The Acting Chairman, Mr. GOSS assumed the Chair; and after some time spent therein,

# ¶38.11 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. GOODLATTE:

Page 3, line 20, insert before the period the following: "or, if the offeree made an offer

under this subsection, from the date the last such offer by the offeree was made".

Page 4, line 3, insert after "offer was made" the following: "or, if the offeree made an offer under this subsection, from the date the last such offer by the offeree was made".

# ¶38.12 [Roll No. 200]

#### AYES-317

Archer Ensign Leach Armey Eshoo Levin Everett Lewis (CA) Bachus Ewing Baker (CA) Lewis (KY) Baker (LA) Fawell Lightfoot Fields (TX) Baldacci Lincoln Ballenger Flanagan Linder Foley Forbes Barcia Livingston Barr LoBiondo Barrett (NE) Fowler Lofgren Barrett (WI) Fox Longley Frank (MA) Bartlett Lucas Bass Franks (CT) Luther Bateman Franks (N.J) Manzullo Beilenson Frelinghuysen Martinez Bentsen Frisa Martini Funderburk Bereuter Mascara Furse McCarthy Berman Bevill Gallegly McCollum Bilbray Ganske McCrery Gejdenson Bilirakis McHale Bishop Bliley Gekas McHugh Geren McInnis Blute Gibbons McKeon Boehlert Gilchrest McNulty Boehner Gilman Meehan Goodlatte Bonilla Menendez Bono Boucher Goodling Metcalf Gordon Meyers Brewster Goss Mica Miller (FL) Browder Graham Brownback Minge Green Bryant (TN) Greenwood Molinari Bunn Gunderson Mollohan Burr Gutknecht Montgomery Burton Hall (OH) Moorhead Hall (TX) Moran Buyer Callahan Hamilton Morella Hancock Calvert Myers Camp Canady Myrick Hansen Nadler Harman Cardin Hastert Neal Hastings (WA) Nethercutt Castle Chabot Hayes Neumann Chambliss Hayworth Ney Norwood Chapman Heineman Chenoweth Herger Nussle Christensen Hilleary Obey Chrysler Hobson Olver Clayton Hoekstra Ortiz Clement Hoke Orton Clinger Holden Oxley Packard Hostettler Coburn Pallone Collins (GA) Houghton Parker Combest Hoyer Paxon Payne (VA) Cooley Hunter Hutchinson Peterson (FL) Cox Cramer Hyde Peterson (MN) Crane Inglis Pombo Istook Pomerov Crapo Cremeans Jackson-Lee Porter Cubin Johnson (CT) Prvce Cunningham Johnson, Sam Quillen Danner Jones Quinn Rahall Davis Kaptur de la Garza Kasich Ramstad Kelly Deal Reed DeFazio Kennedy (MA) Regula DeLay Diaz-Balart Kennedy (RI) Riggs Kennelly Roberts Roemer Dickey Kim Dicks King Rohrabacher Dixon Kingston Ros-Lehtinen Rovce Doggett Kleczka Doolittle Klink Salmon Klug Knollenberg Dornan Sanford Doyle Sawyer Kolbe LaFalce Saxton Scarborough Duncan Schroeder Dunn LaHood Edwards Lantos Schumer Seastrand Ehlers Largent Latham Ehrlich Sensenbrenner Emerson LaTourette Shaw Engel Laughlin Shavs

Sisisky Tauzin Taylor (MS) Wamp Ward Skaggs Taylor (NC) Watts (OK) Skeen Smith (MI) Tejeda Thomas Waxman Weldon (FL) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Thornberry Weldon (PA) Smith (WA) Thurman Weller Tiahrt White Solomon Souder Torkildsen Whitfield Spence Torres Wicker Torricelli Wilson Spratt Stearns Traficant Wolf Woolsey Stenholm Upton Stockman Vento Wyden Stump Volkmer Young (AK) Stupak Talent Vucanovich Young (FL) Waldholtz Zeliff Tanner Walker Zimmer Tate Walsh

#### NOES-89

Reynolds Richardson Abercrombie Gutierrez Hastings (FL) Ackerman Allard Hefley Rivers Andrews Hilliard Rose Roybal-Allard Hinchey Baesler Bonior Jacobs Rush Borski Jefferson Sabo Clay Johnson (SD) Sanders Clyburn Johnson, E. B. Schaefer Kanjorski Kildee Coleman Scott Collins (IL) Serrano Collins (MI) Lewis (GA) Shadegg Convers Lipinski Skelton Costello Slaughter Lowey Coyne Manton Stark Del auro Markey Stokes Dellums Matsui Studds Deutsch McDermott Thompson McKinney Dingell Thornton Durbin Mineta Towns Evans Mink Tucker Moakley Farr Velazquez Fattah Visclosky Murtha Fazio Oberstan Waters Watt (NC) Filner Owens Flake Pastor Williams Foglietta Payne (NJ) Wise Petri Wynn Frost Gephardt Pickett Gonzalez Poshard

# NOT VOTING-28

Barton Ford Pelosi Gillmor Becerra Portman Brown (CA) Hefner Radanovich Brown (FL) Johnston Rangel Brown (OH) Malonev Rogers McDade Bryant (TX) Bunning McIntosh Roukema Condit Meek Schiff Mfume Fields (LA) Miller (CA)

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

# ¶38.13 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. BERMAN to the amendment submitted by Mr.MCHALE:

Amendment submitted by Mr. BER-MAN

Strike section 2 and insert the following:

# SEC. 2. FRIVOLOUS ACTIONS.

(a) GENERAL RULE.—

(1) SIGNING OF COMPLAINT.—The signing or verification of a complaint in all civil actions in Federal court constitutes a certificate that to the signatory's or verifier's best knowledge, information, and belief, formed after reasonable inquiry, the action is not frivolous as determined under paragraph (2).

(2) DEFINITIONS.—

(A) For purposes of this section, an action is frivolous if the complaint is—

(i) groundless and brought in bad faith;

(ii) groundless and brought for the purpose of harassment; or

(iii) groundless and brought for any improper purpose.

(B) For purposes of subparagraph (A), the term "groundless" means—

Shuster

Lazio

English