Porter Schumer Vento Visclosky Quinn Serrano Řahall Shavs Ward Skaggs Ramstad Waters Watt (NC) Slaughter Reed Richardson Stark Rivers Stokes Williams Roukema Studds Wise Roybal-Allard Thompson Woolsey Rush Torkildsen Wyden Wynn Sabo Torres Sanders Torricelli Yates Sawver Towns Zimmer Tucker Schroeder Velazquez

## NOT VOTING—9

Brown (CA) Dornan McKinney Moakley Bryant (TX) Gonzalez Collins (IL) Johnston Rangel

So the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶37.13 CLERK TO CORRECT ENGROSSMENT On motion of Mr. CANADY, by unani-

mous consent.

Ordered, That in the engrossment of the foregoing bill the Clerk be authorized to correct section numbers, cross references, and punctuation, and to make such stylistic, clerical, technical, conforming, and other changes as may be necessary to reflect the actions of the House in amending the bill.

## ¶37.14 JOB CREATION AND WAGE ENHANCEMENT

Mr. DELAY, pursuant to section 2 of House Resolution 101, called up the bill (H.R. 9) to create jobs, enhance wages, strengthen property rights, maintain certain economic liberties, decentralize and reduce the power of the Federal Government with respect to the States, localities, and citizens of the United States and to increase the accountability of Federal officials.

When said bill was considered and read twice.

Mr. DELAY, pursuant to said resolution, submitted the following amendment:

Strike all after section 1 of the bill and insert the text composed of four divisions as follows:

(1) division A, consisting of the text of H.R. 830, as passed by the House;

(2) division B, consisting of the text of H.R. 925, as passed by the House;

(3) division C, consisting of the text of H.R. 926, as passed by the House; and (4) division D, consisting of the text of H.R. 1022, as passed by the House.

The previous question on the motion to amend and on the bill having been ordered by said resolution.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House agree to the amend-

ment? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HANSEN, announced that the yeas had

So the amendment was agreed to.

The bill, as amended, was ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title.

Mr. SPRATT moved to recommit the bill to the Committee on Science with instructions to report the bill back to the House forthwith with the following amendment:

In Division D of H.R. 9, consisting of the text of H.R. 1022, as passed by the House, strike the following text:

Section 204. Environmental Clean-up.

"For the purposes of this title, any determination by a Federal agency to approve or reject any proposed or final environmental clean-up plan for a facility the costs of which are likely to exceed \$5,000,000 shall be treated as a major rule subject to the provisions of this title (other than the provisions of section 205(a)(5)). As used in this section, "environmental clean-up" means a corrective action under the Solid Waste Disposal Act, a remedial action under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980, and any other environmental restoration and waste management carried out by or on behalf of a Federal agency with respect to any substance other than municipal waste.

By unanimous consent, the previous question was ordered on the motion to recommit with instructions.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House recommit said bill with instructions?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HANSEN, announced that the nays had

Mr. SPRATT demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said motion, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the Yeas ...... 180 

## ¶37.15[Roll No. 198] AYES-180

Abercrombie Fields (LA) Mascara Ackerman Filner Matsui Andrews Flake McCarthy Baldacci Foglietta McDermott Barrett (WI) Ford McHale Frank (MA) Becerra McKinney Beilenson Frost McNulty Bentsen Furse Meehan Gejdenson Berman Meek Bevill Gephardt Menendez Mfume Bishop Geren Boehlert Gibbons Mineta Bonior Gordon Minge Borski Gutierrez Mink Boucher Hall (OH) Mollohan Browder Hamilton Moran Brown (FL) Morella Harman Brown (OH) Hastings (FL) Murtha Cardin Hefner Nadler Hilliard Neal Chapman Hinchey Oberstar Clayton Holden Obev Clement Hoyer Olver Clyburn Jackson-Lee Ortiz Coleman Jacobs Orton Collins (MI) Jefferson Owens Johnson (SD) Pallone Conyers Johnson, E.B. Costello Pastor Coyne Kanjorski Payne (NJ) Cramer Kaptur Payne (VA) Kennedy (MA) Peterson (FL) Deal DeFazio Kennedy (RI) Peterson (MN) Pomeroy Poshard DeLauro Kennelly Dellums Kildee Deutsch Kleczka Rahall Dicks Klink Reed Dingell LaFalce Richardson Dixon Lantos Rivers Doggett Levin Roemer Dooley Lewis (GA) Rose Roybal-Allard Doyle Lincoln Durbin Lipinski Rush Edwards Lofgren Sabo Lowey Sanders Eshoo Luther Sawver Evans Maloney Schroeder Manton Schumer Farr Fattah Markey Scott Serrano Fazio

Skaggs Skelton Slaughter Spratt Stark Stenholm Stokes Studds Stupak Tanner Tejeda

Thompson Thornton Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky

Volkmer Ward Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Williams Wise Woolsey Wyden Wynn Yates

NOES-239

Allard Frisa Ney Archer Funderburk Norwood Armey Gallegly Nussle Bachus Ganske Oxley Gekas Gilchrest Packard Baesler Baker (CA) Parker Baker (LA) Gillmor Paxon Ballenger Gilman Petri Goodlatte Pickett Barcia Goodling Barr Pombo Barrett (NF) Goss Graham Porter Bartlett Portman Greenwood Barton Pryce Bass Gunderson Quillen Bateman Gutknecht Quinn Bereuter Hall (TX) Radanovich Bilbray Hancock Ramstad Bilirakis Hansen Regula Bliley Reynolds Hastert Hastings (WA) Riggs Roberts Blute Boehner Hayworth Bonilla Hefley Rogers Rohrabacher Bono Heineman Brewster Ros-Lehtinen Herger Brownback Hilleary Roth Bryant (TN) Roukema Hobson Hoekstra Royce Bunning Hoke Salmon Burton Horn Sanford Buyer Hostettler Saxton Callahan Houghton Scarborough Calvert Hunter Schaefer Camp Hutchinson Schiff Canady Hyde Seastrand Inglis Sensenbrenner Castle Chabot Istook Shadegg Johnson (CT) Chambliss Shaw Chenoweth Johnson, Sam Shays Christensen Jones Shuster Kasich Chrysler Sisisky Kelly Clinger Skeen Smith (MI) Coble Kim Coburn King Smith (NJ) Collins (GA) Kingston Smith (TX) Combest Klug Knollenberg Smith (WA) Condit Solomon Cooley Kolbe Souder LaHood Cox Spence Crane Largent Stearns Latham Stockman Crapo Cremeans LaTourette Stump Talent Cubin Lazio Cunningham Leach Tate Lewis (CA) Tauzin Danner Lewis (KY) Taylor (MS) Davis de la Garza Taylor (NC) Lightfoot DeLay Diaz-Balart Linder Thomas Livingston Thornberry Dickey Doolittle LoBiondo Tiahrt Torkildsen Longley Dreier Lucas Upton Duncan Manzullo . Vucanovich Dunn Martini Waldholtz Ehlers McCollum Walker McCrery McDade Ehrlich Walsh Emerson Wamp English McHugh Watts (OK) McInnis Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Ensign McIntosh Everett Weller Ewing McKeon White Whitfield Fawell Metcalf Fields (TX) Meyers Flanagan Mica Wicker Foley Forbes Miller (FL) Wilson Molinari Wolf Fowler Moorhead Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Fox Myers Myrick Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Nethercutt Zimmer Frelinghuysen Neumann

NOT VOTING-15

Gonzalez Bryant (TX) Green Hayes Johnston Laughlin

Brown (CA)

Collins (IL)

Burr

Miller (CA) Moakley Montgomery Pelosi Rangel