It was decided in the Yeas 286 affirmative Nays 141 ¶34.19[Roll No. 183] AYES-286 Allard Frost Neumann Funderburk Archer Nev Armey Gallegly Norwood Bachus Ganske Nussle Baesler Gekas Ortiz Baker (CA) Geren Orton Baker (LA) Gilchrest Oxley Ballenger Gillmor Packard Barcia Gilman Parker Goodlatte Barr Paxon Barrett (NE) Goodling Payne (VA) Bartlett. Gordon Peterson (FL) Barton Goss Peterson (MN) Graham Bass Petri Bateman Green Pickett Bereuter Greenwood Pombo Gunderson Pomeroy Bilbray Gutknecht Porter Bilirakis Hall (TX) Portman Bishop Hamilton Poshard Bliley Hancock Pryce Blute Hansen Quillen Boehner Hastert Hastings (WA) Quinn Bonilla Radanovich Bono Hayes Ramstad Hayworth Hefley Brewster Regula Browder Reynolds Brownback Hefner Riggs Bryant (TN) Heineman Roberts Bunn Herger Bunning Hilleary Roemer Hobson Hoekstra Burr Rogers Rohrabacher Burton Ros-Lehtinen Buyer Hoke Callahan Holden Rose Calvert Roth Horn Hostettler Roukema Camp Houghton Hutchinson Canady Castle Royce Salmon Chabot Hyde Sanford Inglis Istook Chambliss Saxton Chapman Scarborough Chenoweth Johnson (CT) Schaefer Christensen Johnson (SD) Schiff Johnson, Sam Chrysler Seastrand Clement Jones Sensenbrenner Kasich Clinger Shadegg Kelly Coble Shaw Coburn Kim Shuster Collins (GA) King Sisisky Combest Kingston Skeen Klug Knollenberg Condit Skelton Cooley Smith (MI) Costello Kolbe Smith (NJ) LaHood Cox Smith (TX) Cramer Largent Smith (WA) Crane Solomon Crapo LaTourette Souder Cremeans Laughlin Spence Cubin Lazio Stearns Cunningham Leach Stenholm Lewis (CA) Danner Stockman Davis Lewis (KY) Stump de la Garza Lightfoot Stupak Deal Lincoln Talent DeLay Linder Tanner Diaz-Balart Livingston Tate Dickey LoBiondo Tauzin Dooley Longley Taylor (MS) Doolittle Lucas Taylor (NC) Manzullo Dornan Tejeda Doyle Martini Thomas McCollum Dreier Thornberry Duncan McCrery Thornton Dunn McDade McHugh Thurman Edwards Tiahrt Ehlers McInnis Torkildsen Ehrlich McIntosh McKeon Towns Emerson Traficant English McNulty Ensign Everett Metcalf Upton Volkmer Mevers Vucanovich Ewing Fawell Miller (FL) Waldholtz Walker Fields (TX) Minge Flanagan Molinari Walsh Foley Forbes Mollohan Wamp Watts (OK) Montgomery Fowler Moorhead Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Fox Moran Franks (CT) Morella Weller Franks (NJ) White Myers Myrick Whitfield Frelinghuysen Nethercutt

Wilson Young (AK) Zeliff Wolf Young (FL) Zimmer

Abercrombie

Barrett (WI)

Ackerman

Andrews

Baldacci

Becerra

Beilenson

Bentsen

Berman

Boehlert

Bonior

Borski

Cardin

Clay Clayton

Clyburn

Coleman

Convers

DeFazio DeLauro

Dellums

Deutsch

Dicks

Dixon

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Fattah

Fields (LA)

Fazio

Filner

Flake

Ford

Foglietta

Frank (MA)

Farr

Dingell

Doggett

Coyne

Collins (IL)

Collins (MI)

Boucher

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL)

Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) NOES-141

Furse Gejdenson Murtha Nadler Gephardt Neal Gibbons Hall (OH) Oberstar Obey Harman Olver Hastings (FL) Owens Hilliard Pallone Hinchey Hoyer Jackson-Lee Payne (NJ) Pelosi Jacobs Rahall Jefferson Rangel Reed Johnson, E. B. Johnston Richardson Kanjorski Rivers Roybal-Allard Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Sabo Sanders Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Sawyer Kildee Schroeder Kleczka Schumer Klink Scott LaFalce Serrano Lantos Shays Levin Skaggs Lewis (GA) Slaughter Lofgren Spratt Lowey Stark Luther Stokes Maloney Studds Thompson Manton Markey Torres Torricelli Mascara Matsui McCarthy Velazquez McDermott Vento McHale Visclosky McKinney Waters Watt (NC) Meehan Waxman \mathbf{Meek} Menendez Williams Mfume Wise Miller (CA) Woolsey Mineta Wyden Mink Wynn

NOT VOTING-7

Yates

Gonzalez Lipinski Ward Gutierrez Martinez Hunter Rush

Moakley

So the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

¶34.20 PROVIDING FOR THE CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 925

Mrs. WALDHOLTZ, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 104-61) the resolution (H. Res. 101) providing for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 925) to compensate owners of private property for the effect of certain regulatory restrictions

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

¶34.21 DIRECTOR OF THE CONGRESSIONAL BUDGET OFFICE

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. KNOLLENBERG, pursuant to the provisions of section 201(a)(2) of the Congressional Budget and Impoundment Control Act of 1974, Public Law 93-344, announced that the Speaker and President pro tempore of the Senate on Wednesday, February 22, 1995, did jointly appoint Ms. June Ellenoff O'Neill as Director of the Congressional Budget Office, effective March 1, 1995, for the

term of office beginning January 3, 1995

¶34.22 COMMITTEES AND SUBCOMMITTEES TO SIT

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent, the following committees and their subcommittees were granted permission to sit during the 5-minute rule on Wednesday, March 1, 1995: the Committee on Banking and Financial Services, the Committee on Economic and Educational Opportunities, the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight, the Committee on House Oversight, the Committee on International Relations, the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, and the Committee on Veterans' Affairs.

\$934.23\$ Hour of Meeting

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet at 10 o'clock a.m. on Wednesday, March 1, 1995.

¶34.24 ORDER OF BUSINESS—RULE WAIVER FOR CONSIDERATION— H. RES. 80

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That clause 2(1)6 of rule XI be waived for the consideration of the resolution (H. Res. 80) requesting the President to submit information to the House of Representatives concerning actions taken through the exchange stabilization fund to strengthen the Mexican peso and stabilize the economy of Mexico.

\$34.25 Providing for the Consideration of H.R. 926

Mr. McINNIS, by direction of the Committee on Rules, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 100):

Resolved, That at any time after the adoption of this resolution the Speaker may, pursuant to clause 1(b) of rule XXIII, declare the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for consideration of the bill (H.R. 926) to promote regulatory flexibility and enhance public participation in Federal agency rulemaking, and for other purposes. The first reading of the bill shall be dispensed with. General debate shall be confined to the bill and shall not exceed ninety minutes, with sixty minutes equally divided and controlled by the chairman and ranking minority member of the Committee on the Judiciary and thirty minutes equally divided and controlled by the chairman and ranking minority member of the Committee on Small Business. After general debate the bill shall be considered for amendment under the fiveminute rule. It shall be in order to consider as an original bill for the purpose of amendment under the five-minute rule the amendment in the nature of a substitute recommended by the Committee on the Judiciary now printed in the bill. The committee amendment in the nature of a substitute shall be considered by title rather than by section. Each title shall be considered as read. During consideration of the bill for amendment, the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole may accord priority in recognition on the basis of whether the Member of-