Vucanovich Waldholtz

Velazquez Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Vento Yates ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1 Souder

NOT VOTING-18

Andrews	Farr	Ortiz
Barton	Gibbons	Rush
Becerra	Gonzalez	Smith (NJ)
Brewster	Hilleary	Towns
Chapman	McCarthy	Tucker
Ehlers	Meek	Vucanovich

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time.

¶32.6 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. WISE:

At the end of section 5 (page-, after), add the following new subsection:

(c) AIRCRAFT, MINE, AND NUCLEAR SAFETY REGULATIONS.—Section 3(a) (or 4(a), or both, shall not apply to any of the following regulatory, rulemaking actions (or any such action relating thereto):

(1) AIRCRAFT SAFETY.—Any regulatory rulemaking action to improve aircraft safety, including such an action to improve the airworthiness of aircraft engines.

(2) MINE SAFETY.—Any regulatory rule-making action by the Mine Safety and Health Administration that relates to reducing death, injury, or illnesses in mines, including such an action-

(A) to require better ventilation to avoid buildup of explosive methane gas, taken under section 101 of the Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977 (30 U.S.C. 811) and with respect to which notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 59 Federal Register 26356: or

(B) to restrict the use of diesel equipment to avoid coal mine fires, taken under that section and section 508 of that Act (30 U.S.C. 957) and with respect to which a notice of proposed rulemaking was published at 54 Federal Register 40960.

(2) NUCLEAR WASTE DISPOSAL.—Any regulatory rulemaking action to ensure that before beginning the disposal of radioactive waste, the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant in New Mexico complies with appropriate disposal standards, taken under the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant Land Withdrawal Act and with respect to which a proposed rule was published on January 30, 1995 (60 Fed. Reg.

It was decided in the Yeas 194 negative Nays 228 [Roll No. 168]

¶32.7

Clayton

Clement

AYES-194 Clyburn Abercrombie Engel Ackerman Coleman Eshoo Baesler Collins (IL) Evans Baldacci Collins (MI) Farr Barcia Condit Fattah Barrett (WI) Beilenson Conyers Costello Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Bentsen Coyne Berman Cramer Foglietta Bevill Ford Crapo Frank (MA) Bishop Danner Bonior de la Garza Frost Borski Deal Furse DeFazio Boucher Gejdenson Gephardt Geren Browder DeLauro Brown (CA) Dellums Brown (FL) Deutsch Gordon Brown (OH) Dicks Green Dingell Bryant (TX) Gutierrez Dixon Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Cardin Doggett Dooley Chapman Chenoweth Hamilton

Doyle

Durbin

Harman

Hayes

Hastings (FL)

Hefner Hilliard Holden Hoyer Jackson-Lee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kleczka Klink LaFalce Lantos Laughlin Lewis (GA) Lincoln Lipinski Lofgren Lowey Luther Malonev Manton Markey Martinez Mascara Matsui McDermott McHale McKinney McNulty Meehan

Allard

Archer

Armey

Bachus

Baker (CA) Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE)

Ballenger

Bartlett

Bateman

Bereuter

Bilirakis

Bilbray

Bliley

Blute

Boehner

Bonilla

Brewster

Bunn

Bunning

Burton

Buyer

CaĬlahan

Calvert

Canady

Castle

Chabot

Chambliss

Chrysler

Clinger Coble

Coburn

Combest

Cooley

Cox

Crane

Cubin

Davis

DeLay

Cremeans

Cunningham

Diaz-Balart

Dickey Doolittle

Dornan

Duncan

Dreier

Christensen

Collins (GA)

Camp

Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Barr

Bass

Menendez Sawyer Schroeder Mfume Miller (CA) Schumer Mineta Scott Serrano Minge Mink Skaggs Moakley Skelton Mollohan Slaughter Montgomery Spratt Moran Stark Murtha Stenholm Nadler Stokes Neal Studds Ney Stupak Oberstar Tanner Obey Olver Tauzin Taylor (MS) Orton Tejeda Thompson Owens Pallone Thornton Pastor Thurman Payne (NJ) Torres Torricelli Payne (VA) Pelosi Traficant Peterson (FL) Tucker Peterson (MN) Velazquez Pomeroy Poshard Vento Visclosky Rahall Volkmer Rangel Ward Waters Reed Reynolds Watt (NC) Richardson Waxman Rivers Williams Wise Roemer Rogers Woolsev Rose Wyden Roybal-Allard Sabo Yates Sanders

NOES-228

Ehrlich King Emerson English Kingston Klug Knollenberg Ensign Kolbe LaHood Everett Ewing Fawell Largent Fields (TX) Latham LaTourette Flake Flanagan Lazio Foley Forbes Leach Lewis (CA) Fowler Lewis (KY) Fox Lightfoot Franks (CT) Linder Franks (NJ) Livingston Frelinghuysen LoBiondo Longley Funderburk Lucas Manzullo Gallegly Ganske Martini Gekas McCollum Gilchrest McCrery Gillmor McDade Gilman McHugh Goodlatte McInnis Goodling McIntosh Goss McKeon Graham Metcalf Greenwood Meyers Gunderson Mica Miller (FL) Gutknecht Hancock Molinari Moorhead Hansen Hastert Morella Hastings (WA) Myers Myrick Havworth Hefley Nethercutt Heineman Neumann Herger Norwood Hilleary Nussle Oxley Packard Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Parker Horn Paxon Hostettler Petri Houghton Pickett Hunter Pombo Hutchinson Porter Hyde Inglis Istook Portman Pryce Quillen Quinn Johnson (CT) Radanovich Johnson, Sam Jones Ramstad Kasich Regula Kelly Riggs

Rohrabacher Skeen Smith (MI) Ros-Lehtinen Smith (TX) Roth Smith (WA) Solomon Roukema Royce Saľmon Souder Sanford Spence Stearns Saxton Scarborough Stockman Schaefer Stump Schiff Talent Seastrand Tate Taylor (NC) Thomas Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Thornberry Shavs Tiahrt. Torkildsen Shuster Sisisky Upton Gibbons Andrews Gonzalez McCarthy

Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

NOT VOTING-12

Ortiz Barton Rush Smith (NJ) Becerra Ehlers Meek

So the amendment was not agreed to.

¶32.8 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. GREEN:

At the end of section 5 (page 4, after line 5), add the following new subsection:

(c) FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE REGULA-TIONS.—Section 3(a) or 4(a), or both, shall not apply to any regulatory rulemaking action (or any such action relating thereto) to clarify requirements under the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 with respect to which a final rule was published on January 6, 1995 (60 Fed. Reg. 2180).

It was decided in the Yeas 177 negative Nays 241

¶32.9[Roll No. 169]

AYES-177 Abercrombie Filner Markey Ackerman Flake Martinez Baesler Foglietta Mascara Baldacci Frank (MA) Matsui Barcia Frost McDermott Barrett (WI) McHale Furse Beilenson Gejdenson McKinney Gephardt Gillmor Bentsen McNulty Berman Meehan Bishop Gordon Menendez Green Gutierrez Mfume Miller (CA) Boehlert Bonior Borski Hall (OH) Mineta Boucher Brown (CA) Harman Minge Hastings (FL) Mink Brown (FL) Hefner Moakley Hilliard Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Mollohan Hinchey Moran Holden Morella Cardin Chapman Horn Murtha Nadler Clay Hoyer Clayton Neal Jackson-Lee Clement Oberstar Clyburn Jacobs Obey Coleman Collins (IL) Jefferson Olver Johnson (CT) Owens Collins (MI) Johnson (SD) Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Conyers Johnson, E. B. Johnston Coyne Danner Kanjorski Pelosi Kaptur Kennedy (MA) de la Garza Peterson (FL) DeFazio Pomeroy Poshard DeLauro Kennedy (RI) Quinn Rahall Dellums Kennelly Deutsch Kildee Dicks Kleczka Rangel Dingell Klink Reed LaFalce Dixon Reynolds Dooley Richardson Lantos Doyle Levin Rivers Lewis (GA) Roemer Durbin Lincoln Engel Eshoo Lipinski Roukema Lofgren Roybal-Allard Evans Farr Lowey Sabo Fattah Luther Sanders Fazio Maloney Sawyer Fields (LA) Schroeder Manton