§31.17

Kasich Kelly

King Kingston

Kim

Klug

JOURNAL OF THE

Cunningham Davis DeLav Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Dunn Ehrlich Emerson English Ensign Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Flanagan Foley Forbes Fox Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Gallegly Ganske Gilchrest Gillmor Goodlatte Goodling Goss Graham Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hamilton Hancock Hansen Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayworth Heflev Herger Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Horn Hostettler Hutchinson Hyde NOT V Andrews Barton Ehlers Fattah

Istook Johnson (CT) Riggs Roberts Johnson, Sam Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Royce Saľmon Knollenberg Sanford

Knollenberg	Sanford
Kolbe	Saxton
Largent	Scarborough
Latham	Schaefer
LaTourette	Schiff
Lazio	Schumer
Lewis (KY)	Seastrand
Lightfoot	Sensenbrenner
Linder	Shadegg
Livingston	Shaw
LoBiondo	Shays
Lucas	Shuster
Manzullo	Skeen
Martini	Smith (MI)
McCollum	Smith (NJ)
McCrery	Smith (TX)
McDade	Smith (WA)
McHugh	Souder
McIntosh	Stearns
McKeon	Stump
Metcalf	Talent
Meyers	Tate
Mica	Thomas
Miller (FL)	Thornberry
Molinari	Tiahrt
Moorhead	Torkildsen
Myers	Upton
Nethercutt	Vucanovich
Neumann	Waldholtz
Ney	Walker
Nussle	Walsh
Oxley	Watts (OK)
Packard	Weldon (FL)
Paxon	Weldon (PA)
Petri	Weller
Pombo	White
Portman	Wicker
Pryce	Young (AK)
Quinn	Young (FL)
Radanovich	Zeliff
Ramstad	Zimmer
NOT VOTING-10	
Gekas	Ortiz
Gonzalez	Porter
McCarthy	
Meek	

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

¶31.17 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. WAXMAN:

In section 5(a)(2) (page , line), strike "imminent threat" and insert "substantial endangerment''.

In section 6(7) (page , beginning line at

(1) strike "death, serious illness, or severe injury'' and insert ''substantial endangerment'';

(2) in the heading strike "IMMINENT THREAT' and insert "SUBSTANTIAL ENDANGERMENT", and in the text strike "im-minent threat" and insert "substantial endangerment''; and

(3) strike "during the moratorium period". It was decided in the **J** Yeas 167 negative Nays 259

¶31.18 [Roll No. 163] AYES-167

Abercrombie	Borski
Ackerman	Boucher
Baldacci	Brown (CA)
Barcia	Brown (FL)
Barrett (WI)	Brown (OH)
Becerra	Bryant (TX)
Beilenson	Cardin
Berman	Clay
Bishop	Clayton
Boehlert	Clement
Bonior	Clyburn

Coleman Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Convers Costello) Coyne de la Garza

Deal

DeFazio

DeLauro

Dellums

Crane

Deutsch Dicks Dingell Dixon Doggett Doyle Durbin Engel Eshoo Evans Farr Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta Ford Fox Frank (MA) Frost Furse Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Harman Hastings (FL) Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Holden Hover Jackson-Lee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennellv Allard Archer Armey Bachus Baesler Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Ballenger Barr Barrett (NE) Bartlett Bass Bateman Bentsen Bereuter Bevill Bilbrav

Bilirakis Bliley Blute Boehner Bonilla Bono Brewster Browder Brownback Bryant (TN) Bunn Bunning Burr Burton Buver Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Chabot Chambliss Chapman Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clinger Coble Coburn Collins (GA) Combest Condit Cooley Cox Cramer

Kildee Kleczka Reed Reynolds Klink Richardson LaFalce Rivers Rose Lantos Roybal-Allard Levin Lewis (GA) Lincoln Rush Sabo Lofgren Sanders Lowey Luther Sawyer Schroeder Maloney Schumer Manton Scott Markey Serrano Martinez Skaggs Slaughter Mascara Matsui Spratt McDermott Stark McHale Stokes McKinney Studds McNulty Stupak Meehan Tejeda Mfume Thompson Miller (CA) Thornton Mineta Thurman Mink Torres Moaklev Torricelli Mollohan Towns Moran Traficant Morella Tucker Murtha Velazquez Nadler Vento Visclosky Neal Oberstar Volkmer Obey Ward Olver Waters Watt (NC) Owens Pallone Waxman Williams Pastor Payne (NJ) Wise Peľosi Woolsey Peterson (FL) Wvden Poshard Wynn Rahall Yates Rangel

NOES-259 Crapo

Cremeans

Cunningham

Cubin

Danner

Davis

DeLay

Dickey

Dooley

Dornan

Dreier

Dunn Edwards

Duncan

Ehrlich

Emerson English

Ensign

Everett

Ewing

Fawell

Foley Forbes

Fowler

Frisa

Fields (TX)

Franks (CT)

Franks (NJ)

Funderburk

Gallegly

Ganske

Gekas

Geren

Gilchrest

Gillmor

Gilman

Gordon

Graham

Greenwood

Gunderson

Gutknecht

Hall (TX)

Hamilton

Hancock

Hansen

Hastert

Goss

Goodlatte

Goodling

Flanagan

Doolittle

Diaz-Balart

Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Heineman Herger Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Horn Hostettler Houghton Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Johnson (CT) Johnson, Sam Jones Kasich Kelly Kim King Kingston Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Frelinghuysen Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Linder Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Longley Lucas Manzullo Martini McCollum McCrery McDade McHugh McInnis McIntosh

McKeon Menendez Metcalf Meyers Mica Miller (FL) Minge Molinari Montgomery Moorhead Myers Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Ney Norwood Nussle Orton Oxley Packard Parker Paxon Payne (VA) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pombo Pomerov Porter Portman Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Andrews Barton Ehlers

FEBRUARY 23

Regula Riggs Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Royce Salmon Sanford Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shavs Shuster Sisisky Skeen Skelton Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns NOT VOTING-8 Fattah Gonzalez

Ramstad

Stenholm Stockman Stump Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer Meek Ortiz

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time.

McCarthy

¶31.19 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mrs. COLLINS of Illinois:

At the end of section 5 (pages , after line), add the following new subsection:

(c) COMMON SENSE REGULATORY IMPROVE-MENTS.-Section 3(a) or 4(a), or both, shall not apply to any of the following regulatory rulemaking actions (or any such action relating thereto): (1) PERSONAL USE OF CAMPAIGN FUNDS.—A

regulatory rulemaking action by the Federal Election Commission governing personal use of campaign funds, taken under the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971 and with respect to which final rules were published on February 9, 1995 (60 Fed. Reg. 7862).

(2) IMMIGRANT ASYLUM REQUESTS.—A regulatory rulemaking action to improve procedures for disposing of requests for asylum under immigration laws, taken by the immigration and Naturalization Service and with respect to which final rules were published on December 5, 1994 (59 Fed. Reg. 62284).

(3) HUD REGULATORY IMPROVEMENTS.-A regulatory rulemaking action by the Department of Housing and Urban Development

(A) to establish a preference for the elderly in the provision of section 8 housing assistance, taken under subtitle D of title VI of the Housing and Community Development Act of 1992 and with respect to which a final rule was published on December 21, 1994 (59 Fed. Reg. 65842); (B) to eliminate drugs from federally as-

sisted housing, as authorized by section 581 of the National Affordable Housing Act and section 161 of the Housing and Community Development Act of 1992 and with respect to which a final rule was published on January (C) to designate urban empowerment zones

or enterprise communities, taken under subchapter C of part I of title XIII of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993 and with respect to which a final rule was pub-(4) COMPENSATION TO PERSIAN GULF WAR

VETERANS.—A regulatory rulemaking action