¶31.11 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendments en bloc submitted by Mrs. COLLINS of Il-

Amend section 6(2)(A) (page, line) to read as follows:

(A) beginning on the date of the enactment of this Act, and Amend section 7 (page, beginning at line) to read as follows:

SEC. 7. JUDICIAL REVIEW.

This Act shall not be considered to authorize or require any action that is subject to judicial review.

It was decided in the Yeas 155 negative Nays 271

¶31.12[Roll No. 160] AYES-155

Gordon Abercrombie Obev Ackerman Green Olver Baldacci Gutierrez Owens Hall (OH) Pallone Barcia Barrett (WI) Harman Pastor Payne (NJ) Becerra Hastings (FL) Beilenson Pelosi Hefner Bentsen Hinchey Pomeroy Berman Holden Rahall Bevill Hover Rangel Jackson-Lee Bishop Reed Reynolds Boehlert Jefferson Johnson, E. B. Bonior Richardson Borski Johnston Rivers Boucher Kanjorski Rose Brown (CA) Roukema Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Roybal-Allard Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Kennedy (RI) Rush Bryant (TX) Kennelly Sabo Kildee Sanders Clay Clayton Kleczka Sawyer Clyburn Klink Schroeder Coleman LaFalce Schumer Collins (IL) Lantos Scott Collins (MI) Levin Serrano Lewis (GA) Skaggs Slaughter Conyers Covne Lofgren DeLauro Spratt Lowey Dellums Luther Stark Deutsch Maloney Stokes Dicks Manton Studds Stupak Taylor (MS) Dingell Markey Dixon Martinez Doggett Mascara Thompson Doyle Durbin Matsui Thurman McDermott Torres Engel McKinney Torricelli Eshoo Meehan Menendez Towns Traficant Evans Mfume Miller (CA) Tucker Fattah Velazquez Fields (LA) Mineta Vento Filner Volkmer Minge Flake Mink Ward Foglietta Moakley Waters Mollohan Watt (NC) Frank (MA) Moran Waxman Franks (NJ) Morella Wise Furse Murtha Woolsey Gejdenson Gephardt Nadler Wynn Neal Yates Gibbons Oberstan

NOES-271

Allard Bono Chrysler Clement Clinger Archer Brewster Browder Armey Bachus Brownback Coble Baesler Bryant (TN) Coburn Baker (CA) Collins (GA) Bunn Baker (LA) Bunning Combest Ballenger Burr Condit Barr Burton Cooley Barrett (NE) Buyer Callahan Costello Bartlett. Cox Calvert Barton Cramer Camp Canady Crane Bateman Crapo Bereuter Cardin Cremeans Bilbray Bilirakis Castle Cubin Cunningham Chabot Bliley Chambliss Danner Blute Chapman Davis Chenoweth de la Garza Boehner Christensen

DeFazio Jones Kasich Ramstad DeLay Regula Diaz-Balart Kelly Riggs Roberts Roemer Dickey Kim Dooley King Doolittle Kingston Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Dornan Klug Knollenberg Dreier Duncan Kolbe Roth Dunn LaHood Royce Salmon Edwards Largent Ehrlich Latham Sanford Emerson LaTourette Saxton English Laughlin Scarborough Ensign Schaefer Lazio Leach Everett Schiff Ewing Lewis (CA) Seastrand Fawell Lewis (KY) Sensenbrenner Fazio Lightfoot Shadegg Fields (TX) Lincoln Shaw Flanagan Linder Shays Lipinski Foley Shuster Forbes Livingston Sisisky Fowler LoBiondo Skeen Fox Longley Skelton Franks (CT) Smith (MI) Lucas Manzullo Frelinghuysen Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Frisa Martini Funderburk McCollum Smith (WA) McCrery Gallegly Solomon McDade Souder Ganske Gekas McHale Spence Geren McHugh Stearns Gilchrest Stenholm McInnis Gillmor McIntosh Stockman Gilman McKeon Stump Goodlatte McNulty Talent Goodling Metcalf Tanner Goss Meyers Tate Graham Mica Tauzin Miller (FL) Taylor (NC) Greenwood Gunderson Molinari Teieda Gutknecht Montgomery Thomas Hall (TX) Moorhead Thornberry Hamilton Thornton Mvers Hancock Myrick Tiahrt Torkildsen Hansen Nethercutt Hastert Neumann Upton Hastings (WA) Visclosky Ney Norwood Vucanovich Waldholtz Hayes Hayworth Nussle Hefley Ortiz Walker Heineman Orton Walsh Herger Oxley Wamp Hilleary Packard Watts (OK) Hobson Parker Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Hoekstra Paxon Hoke Payne (VA) Weller Horn Peterson (FL) White Hostettler Peterson (MN) Whitfield Houghton Petri Pickett Wicker Williams Hunter Hutchinson Pombo Wilson Hyde Inglis Porter Wolf Wyden Portman Young (AK) Istook Poshard Young (FL) Zeliff Jacobs Pryce Quillen Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, Sam Radanovich

NOT VOTING-8

Andrews Gonzalez Meek Ehlers Hilliard Zimmer McCarthy

So the amendments en bloc were not agreed to.

After some further time,

¶31.13 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Ms. SLAUGHTER:

end of section 5 (page

line), add the following new subsection: (c) FOOD AND WATER SAFETY REGULATIONS.—Section 3(a) or (4)(a), or both, shall not apply to any of the following regulatory rulemaking actions (or any such action relating thereto):

(1) MEAT AND POULTRY INSPECTION.—Any regulatory rulemaking action to reduce pathogens in meat and poultry, taken by the Food Safety and Inspection Service of the United States Department of Agriculture

and with respect to which a proposed rule was published on February 3, 1995 (60 Fed.

(2) DRINKING WATER SAFETY.—Any regulatory rulemaking action begun by the Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency before the date of the enactment of this Act that relates to control of microbial and disinfection by-product risks in drinking water supplies.

(3) IMPORTATION OF FOOD IN LEAD CANS.-Any regulatory rulemaking action by the Food and Drug Administration to require that canned food imported into the United States comply with standards applicable to domestic manufacturers that prohibit the use of lead solder in cans containing food, taken under sections 201, 402, 409, and 701 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act and with respect to which a proposed rule was published at 58 Federal Register 33860.

It was decided in the Yeas 177 Nays 249 negative

¶31.14[Roll No. 161]

AYES-177

Gutierrez Hall (OH) Abercrombie Owens Pallone Ackerman Hamilton Baesler Pastor Payne (NJ) Pelosi Baldacci Harman Hastings (FL) Barcia Barrett (WI) Hefner Pomeroy Hilliard Becerra Poshard Beilenson Rahall Hinchey Bentsen Hoyer Rangel Jackson-Lee Berman Reed Reynolds Bishop Jacobs Boehlert Jefferson Richardson Johnson (SD) Bonior Rivers Johnson, E. B. Borski Rose Johnston Roukema Roybal-Allard Boucher Brown (CA) Kanjorski Brown (FL) Kaptur Rush Sabo Sanders Brown (OH) Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Bryant (TX) Cardin Kennelly Sawyer Clay Clayton Kildee Kleczka Schroeder Schumer Clement Klink Scott Clyburn LaFalce Serrano Coleman Lantos Skaggs Collins (IL) Levin Skelton Lewis (GA) Collins (MI) Slaughter Lipinski Convers Spratt Costello Lofgren Stark Lowey Luther Stenholm Stokes Coyne Danner de la Garza Maloney Studds DeFazio DeLauro Manton Stupak Markey Tanner Dellums Martinez Tauzin Taylor (MS) Tejeda Deutsch Mascara Dicks Matsui Dingell McDermott Thompson Dixon McHale Thornton Thurman Doggett McKinney Doyle McNulty Torres Torricelli Durbin Meehan Engel Menendez Towns Eshoo Mfume Miller (CA) Traficant Evans Tucker Mineta Velazquez Fattah Mink Vento Moakley Visclosky Fazio Fields (LA) Mollohan Volkmer Filner Moran Ward Foglietta Morella Waters Murtha Watt (NC) Frank (MA) Nadler Waxman Wilson Furse Neal Gejdenson Oberstar Wise Gephardt Obey Woolsey Olver Gibbons Wyden Gordon Ortiz Green Orton Yates

NOES-249

Allard Bartlett Boehner Archer Bass Bonilla Armey Bateman Bono Bachus Baker (CA) Bereuter Bevill Brewster Browder Bilbray Baker (LA) Brownback Ballenger Bilirakis Bryant (TN) Barr Bliley Bunn Barrett (NE) Bunning