(3) in paragraphs (1) and (2), by striking "and other" and all that follows through the period at the end and inserting "and any country designated by the President pursuant to section 203(d)(2).

(g) DEFINITIONS.—The NATO Participation Act of 1994 (title II of Public Law 103-447; 22 U.S.C. 1928 note) is amended by adding at the end the following new section:

"SEC. 206. DEFINITIONS.

"For purposes of this title:

"(1) NATO.—The term 'NATO' means the North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

"(2) OTHER EUROPEAN COUNTRIES EMERGING FROM COMMUNIST DOMINATION.—The term other European countries emerging from communist domination' means any full and active participant in the Partnership for Peace that-

(A) is among the following countries: Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Bulgaria, or Albania; or

'(B) is among certain countries that were a part of the former Union of Soviet Socialist Republics or that were part of the former Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, which the President may designate pursuant to section 203(d)(2) of this Act.

"(3) DESIGNATED CONGRESSIONAL COMMITTEES.—The term 'designated congressional committees' means-

'(A) the Committee on International Relations, the Committee on National Security. and the Committee on Appropriations of the House of Representatives; and

'(B) the Committee on Foreign Relations, the Committee on Armed Services, and the Committee on Appropriations of the Sen-

## TITLE VII—BUDGET FIREWALLS SEC. 701. RESTORATION OF BUDGET FIREWALLS FOR DEFENSE SPENDING.

It is the sense of the Congress that, in order to protect against the diversion of defense funding to domestic discretionary accounts, so-called "budget firewalls" between defense and domestic discretionary spending should be established for each of fiscal years 1996, 1997, and 1998,

Passed the House of Representatives February 16, 1995.

The bill, as amended, was ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title.

Mr. SKELTON moved to recommit the bill to the Committee on National Security with instructions to report the bill back to the House forthwith with the following amendment:

Strike out the last section of title II (relating to the ballistic missile defense as a component of military readiness) and insert the following:

Section 204. Readiness Certification.

Of the total amount of funds appropriated or otherwise made available for the Department of Defense for fiscal year 1996, the amount obligated for national missile defense programs may not exceed the amount made available for national missile defense programs for fiscal year 1995 until the Secretary of Defense certifies to the Congress that the armed forces are properly sized, equipped, housed, and structured and are ready to carry out the assigned missions as required by the national military strategy.

After debate

By unanimous consent, the previous question was ordered on the motion to recommit with instructions.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House recommit said bill with instructions?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BUNNING, announced that the nays had it.

Mr. VOLKMER objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV. and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas ...... 197 When there appeared Nays ..... 225

928.17[Roll No. 144] YEAS-197

Abercrombie Gordon Orton Ackerman Gutierrez Owens Hall (OH) Pallone Andrews Hamilton Parker Baldacci Harman Pastor Payne (NJ) Barcia Hayes Barrett (WI) Hefner Payne (VA) Beilenson Hilliard Pelosi Hinchey Peterson (FL) Bentsen Berman Holden Peterson (MN) Bishop Hoyer Jackson-Lee Petri Pickett Bonio Borski Jacobs Pomeroy Jefferson Boucher Porter Brewster Johnson (SD) Poshard Brown (CA) Johnson, E. B. Rahall Brown (FL) Johnston Rangel Brown (OH) Kanjorski Reed Reynolds Bryant (TX) Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Cardin Richardson Chapman Kennedy (RI) Rivers Clayton Kennelly Roemer Kildee Clement Rose Clyburn Kleczka Roybal-Allard Coble Klink Rush Coleman LaFalce Sabo Collins (IL) Sanders Lantos Laughlin Collins (MI) Sawyer Schroeder Condit Leach Conyers Levin Scott Costello Lincoln Serrano Coyne Lipinski Sisisky Danner Lofgren Skaggs de la Garza Lowey Skelton Luther Slaughter Deal DeFazio Maloney Spratt DeLauro Manton Stark Dellums Markey Stenholm Martinez Studds Deutsch Dicks Mascara Stupak Dingell Matsui Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) McCarthy Dixon Doggett McDermott McHale Dooley Tejeda Thompson Thurman Doyle McKinney McNulty Durbin Edwards Meehan Torres Torricelli Engel Meek Menendez Towns Eshoo Mfume Miller (CA) Evans Tucker Upton Velazquez Farr Fattah Mineta Vento Fazio Minge Fields (LA) Visclosky Mink Moakley Volkmer Filner Flake Mollohan Ward Foglietta Montgomery Waters Watt (NC) Moran Ford Frank (MA) Morella Waxman Frost Murtha Williams Furse Nadler Wise Gejdenson Neal Woolsey Gephardt Geren Oberstan Wyden Obey Wynn Gibbons Olver Yates

NAYS-225

Ortiz

Gonzalez

Bliley Allard Canady Archer Blute Castle Boehlert Armey Chabot Bachus Boehner Chambliss Bonilla Baker (CA) Christensen Baker (LA) Bono Chrysler Browder Ballenger Clinger Brownback Coburn Barr Barrett (NE) Bryant (TN) Collins (GA) Bartlett Bunn Combest Barton Bunning Cooley Bass Burr Cox Bateman Burton Cramer Bereuter Buyer Crane CaĬlahan Bevill Crapo Cremeans Bilbray Calvert Bilirakis Camp Cubin

Cunningham Hunter Ramstad Hutchinson Regula Davis Riggs Inglis Istook Diaz-Balart Roberts Dickey Rogers Doolittle Johnson (CT) Rohrabacher Dornan Johnson, Sam Ros-Lehtinen Dreier Jones Roth Duncan Kasich Roukema Dunn Kelly Royce Salmon Ehlers Kim Ehrlich King Sanford Emerson Kingston Saxton English Klug Scarborough Knollenberg Ensign Everett Kolbe Ewing LaHood Fawell Largent Fields (TX) Latham Flanagan LaTourette Foley Lazio Lewis (CA) Forbes Fowler Lewis (KY) Fox Lightfoot Franks (CT) Linder Franks (NJ) Livingston Frelinghuysen LoBiondo Longley Frisa Funderburk Manzullo Gallegly Ganske Martini Gekas McCollum Gilchrest McCrerv McDade Gillmor McInnis Gilman Goodlatte McIntosh Goodling McKeon Goss Metcalf Graham Meyers Greenwood Mica Miller (FL) Gunderson Gutknecht Molinari Hall (TX) Moorhead Hancock Myers Myrick Hansen Hastert Nethercutt Hastings (WA) Neumann Havworth Nev Norwood Hefley Heineman Nussle Herger Oxley Hilleary Packard Hobson Paxon Hoekstra Pombo

Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (N.J) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stockman Stump Talent Tate Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Traficant Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmei

NOT VOTING-12

Hastings (FL) Becerra Schumer Chenoweth Lewis (GA) Stokes Clay McHugh Thornton Green

Portman

Prvce

Quinn

Quillen

Hoke

Horn

Hostettler

Houghton

So the motion to recommit with instructions was not agreed to.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House pass said bill? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BUNNING, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. DELLUMS demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the Yeas ...... 241 affirmative ...... Nays ..... 181

928.18[Roll No. 145] AYES-241

Allard Barton Bonilla Bono Brownback Andrews Bass Bateman Archer Bereuter Bryant (TN) Armey Bachus Bevill Bunn Baker (CA) Bilbray Bunning Bilirakis Baker (LA) Burr Ballenger Bliley Burton Barr Blute Buyer Barrett (NE) Boehlert Callahan Bartlett Boehner Calvert