## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Payne (NJ) Pelosi

under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

**\$28.11** ORDER OF BUSINESS-CONSIDERATION OF AMENDMENTS-

H.R. 7

On motion of Mr. GILMAN, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That during further consideration in the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union of the bill (H.R. 7) to revitalize the national security of the United States, the provisions of House Resolution 83 of a period not to exceed ten hours for consideration under the five-minute rule be extended for twenty-six minutes;

Ordered further, That the debate time for amendments numbered 13, 21, 24, 30 or 33, or a germane modification to one of these amendments, be extended from thirty-six minutes, heretofore agreed to by order of the House, to forty-four minutes to be equally divided and controlled by the proponent and an opponent: and

Ordered further, That the debate for the Torricelli amendment numbered 48 or amendment numbered 28 or 43 be extended from thirty-six minutes, heretofore agreed to by order of the House, to forty-four minutes to be equally divided and controlled by the proponent and an opponent.

## **¶28.12** NATIONAL SECURITY REVITALIZATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BE-REUTER, pursuant to House Resolution 83 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 7) to revitalize the national security of the United States.

Mr. LINDER, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein,

## **\$28.13** RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. LEACH

On page 28, strike line 4 and all that follows through line 12 and insert in lieu thereof the following:

'(g) INTERPRETATION.—Subject to the power of the Congress to declare war under article I, section 8, clause 11 of the Constitution of the United States, nothing in this section shall be construed to derogate or limit the authority of the President as Commander-in-Chief of the United States Armed Forces under article II, section 2, clause 1 of the Constitution of the United States.

Beginning on page 28, strike line 16 and all that follows through page 29, line 2.

ON page 29, line 3, strike "(c)" and insert in lieu thereof "(b)"

It was decided in the negative		Yeas Nays	158 267	
¶28.14	[Roll No. 142]			
AYES—158				
Abercrombie	Barrett (WI)	Bishop		
Ackerman	Beilenson	Bonior		
Baesler	Bentsen	Borski		
Baldacci	Berman	Boucher		

Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Cardin Chapman Clayton Clement Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Convers Costello Danner DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Deutsch Dicks Dingell Dixon Doggett Dooley Doyle Durbin Engel Eshoo Evans Farr Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta Ford Frank (MA) Frelinghuysen Frost Furse Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Gonzalez Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamilton Hefner Hilliard Allard Andrews Archer Armey Bachus Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Ballenger Barcia Barr Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton Bass Bateman Bereuter Bevill Bilbray Bilirakis Bliley Blute Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Bono Brewster Browder Brownback Bryant (TN) Bunn Bunning Burr Burton Buver Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Chabot Chambliss Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clinger Coble Coburn Collins (GA)

Hinchey Houghton Hoyer Jackson-Lee Jefferson Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klink LaFalce Lantos Leach Levin Lofgren Lowey Luther Manton Markey Martinez Mascara Matsui McCarthy McDermott McKinney Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Mink Moakley Mollohan Moran Morella Murtha Nadler Neal Oberstar Obev Olver Orton Owens Pallone NOES-267 Condit Cooley Cox Coyne Cramer Crane Crapo Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Davis de la Garza Deal DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Edwards Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson

Peterson (FL) Petri Porter Poshard Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Rivers Rose Roukema Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Skaggs Skelton Slaughter Stark Stokes Studds Stupak Thompson Torres Torricelli Towns Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Williams Wise Woolsey Wyden Wynn Yates Gordon Goss Graham Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hancock Hansen Harman Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Heineman Herger Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Holden Horn Hostettler Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Jacobs Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, Sam Jones Kaptur Kasich Kelly Kim King Kingston Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood

Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Lincoln Linder Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Longley Lucas Manzullo Martini McCollum McCrery McDade McHale McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon McNulty Metcalf Meyers Mica Miller (FL) Minge Molinari Montgomery Moorhead Mvers Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Nev Norwood Nussle Ortiz Oxley Packard Parker Becerra

Pastor Smith (WA) Paxon Solomon Payne (VA) Souder Peterson (MN) Pickett Spence Spratt Pombo Stearns Pomerov Stenholm Portman Stockman Pryce Stump Quillen Talent Tanner Quinn Radanovich Tate Rahall Tauzin Ramstad Taylor (MS) Regula Taylor (NC) Riggs Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Royce Salmon Sanford Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Sisisky Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Zimmer NOT VOTING-9

Tejeda Thomas Thornberry Thurman Tiahrt Torkildsen Traficant Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff

Green Malonev Clay Hastings (FL) Thornton Collins (MI) Lewis (GA) Wilson

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

\$28.15 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. TORRIČELLI:

Page 68, line 4, strike out "shall" and insert "may. 191

It was decided in the Yeas ..... negative ..... Nays ..... 232

¶00.10			
	[Roll No. 143]		
AYES—191			
Abercrombie	de la Garza	Hamilton	
Ackerman	Deal	Harman	
Andrews	DeFazio	Hayes	
Baesler	DeLauro	Hefner	
Baldacci	Dellums	Hinchey	
Barcia	Deutsch	Hoyer	
Barrett (WI)	Dicks	Jackson-Lee	
Beilenson	Dingell	Jacobs	
Bentsen	Dixon	Jefferson	
Berman	Doggett	Johnson (SD)	
Bevill	Dooley	Johnson, E. B.	
Bishop	Doyle	Johnston	
Bonior	Duncan	Kanjorski	
Borski	Edwards	Kaptur	
Boucher	Ensign	Kennedy (MA)	
Brewster	Eshoo	Kennedy (RI)	
Browder	Farr	Kildee	
Brown (CA)	Fattah	Kleczka	
Brown (FL)	Fazio	Klink	
Bryant (TX)	Fields (LA)	LaFalce	
Cardin	Filner	Lantos	
Chapman	Flake	Laughlin	
Clayton	Foglietta	Levin	
Clement	Ford	Lincoln	
Clyburn	Frost	Lofgren	
Coleman	Funderburk	Lowey	
Collins (IL)	Furse	Luther	
Collins (MI)	Gejdenson	Manton	
Condit	Gephardt	Martinez	
Conyers	Geren	Mascara	
Cooley	Gibbons	Matsui	
Costello	Gordon	McCarthy	
Coyne	Gutierrez	McDermott	
Cramer	Hall (OH)	McHale	
Danner	Hall (TX)	McKinney	

## **28.16**

Largent

Latham

Laughlin

Lazio

LaTourette

English

Ensign

Everett

Ewing Fawell

Foley

Forbes

Fowler

Fox

Frisa

Fields (TX)

Franks (CT)

Franks (NJ)

Funderburk

Gallegly

Ganske

Gekas

Geren

Gilchrest

Gillmor

Gilman

Combest

Goodlatte

Goodling

Flanagan