Hinchey Houghton

Jackson-Lee Jefferson

Johnston

Kanjorski

Kennelly

Kildee

Klink

Kleczka

LaFalce

Lantos

Leach

Levin

Lofgren

Lowey

Luther

Manton

Martinez

Mascara

McCarthy

McKinney

Menendez

Miller (CA)

Meehan

Meek

Mfume

Mineta

Moakley

Mollohan

Mink

Moran

Morella

Murtha

Nadler

Oberstan

Neal

Obev

Olver

Orton

Owens

Pallone

McDermott

Matsui

Johnson, E. B.

Kennedy (MA)

Kennedy (RI)

Hoyer

under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶28 11 ORDER OF BUSINESS— CONSIDERATION OF AMENDMENTS-H.R. 7

On motion of Mr. GILMAN, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That during further consideration in the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union of the bill (H.R. 7) to revitalize the national security of the United States, the provisions of House Resolution 83 of a period not to exceed ten hours for consideration under the five-minute rule be extended for twenty-six minutes;

Ordered further, That the debate time for amendments numbered 13, 21, 24, 30 or 33, or a germane modification to one of these amendments, be extended from thirty-six minutes, heretofore agreed to by order of the House, to forty-four minutes to be equally divided and controlled by the proponent and an oppo-

Ordered further, That the debate for the Torricelli amendment numbered 48 or amendment numbered 28 or 43 be extended from thirty-six minutes, heretofore agreed to by order of the House, to forty-four minutes to be equally divided and controlled by the proponent and an opponent.

## ¶28.12 NATIONAL SECURITY REVITALIZATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BE-REUTER, pursuant to House Resolution 83 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 7) to revitalize the national security of the United States.

Mr. LINDER, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent there-

## ¶28.13 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. LEACH:

On page 28, strike line 4 and all that follows through line 12 and insert in lieu thereof the following:

INTERPRETATION.—Subject to the power of the Congress to declare war under article I, section 8, clause 11 of the Constitution of the United States, nothing in this section shall be construed to derogate or limit the authority of the President as Commander-in-Chief of the United States Armed Forces under article II, section 2, clause 1 of the Constitution of the United States.

Beginning on page 28, strike line 16 and all that follows through page 29, line 2.

ON page 29, line 3, strike "(c)" and insert in lieu thereof "(b)"

 $\begin{array}{c} \text{It was decided in the} \\ \text{negative} \\ \end{array} \begin{array}{c} \text{Yeas} \\ \text{Nays} \\ \end{array} \begin{array}{c} 158 \\ 267 \end{array}$ 

128.14	[Roll No. 142]	
	AYES—158	
Abercrombie	Barrett (WI)	Bishop
Ackerman	Beilenson	Bonior
Baesler	Bentsen	Borski
Baldacci	Berman	Boucher

Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Cardin Chapman Clayton Clement Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Conyers Costello Danner DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Deutsch Dicks Dingell Dixon Doggett Doyle Durbin Engel Eshoo Evans Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta Ford Frank (MA) Frelinghuysen Frost Furse Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Gonzalez Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamilton Hefner

Allard

Andrews

Archer

Armev

Bachus

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE)

Ballenger

Barr

Barton

Bateman

Bereuter

Bevill

Bliley

Bilbray

Bilirakis

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Brewster

Browder

Bunning

Burton

Callahan

Calvert

Camp

Canady

Chabot

Chambliss

Chenoweth

Christensen

Collins (GA)

Chrysler

Clinger Coble

Coburn

Castle

Buver

Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Bono

Bunn

Burr

Bass

Payne (NJ) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Petri Porter Poshard Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Rivers Roukema Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Skaggs Skelton Slaughter Stark Stokes Studds Stupak Thompson Torres Torricelli Towns Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Williams Wise Woolsey Wyden Wynn Yates

### NOFS-267

Condit Gordon Cooley Goss Graham Cox Coyne Greenwood Cramer Gunderson Gutknecht Crane Crapo Hall (TX) Cremeans Hancock Hansen Cunningham Harman Davis Hastert de la Garza Hastings (WA) Deal Hayes Hayworth DeLay Diaz-Balart Hefley Dickey Doolittle Heineman Herger Dornan Hilleary Dreier Hobson Duncan Hoekstra Hoke Holden Dunn Edwards Ehlers Horn Hostettler Ehrlich Emerson Hunter English Hutchinson Ensign Hyde Inglis Everett Ewing Fawell Istook Jacobs Johnson (CT) Fields (TX) Flanagan Johnson (SD) Foley Johnson, Sam Forbes Jones Fowler Kaptur Fox Kasich Kelly Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Kim King Frisa Funderburk Kingston Gallegly Klug Knollenberg Ganske Gekas Kolbe Geren LaHood Gilchrest Largent Latham Gillmor Gilman LaTourette Goodlatte

Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Lincoln Linder Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Longley Lucas Manzullo Martini McCollum McCrery McDade McHale McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon McNulty Metcalf Meyers Mica Miller (FL) Minge Molinari Montgomery Moorhead Myers Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Nev Norwood Nussle Ortiz Oxley Packard Parker

Paxon Payne (VA) Peterson (MN) Pickett Pombo Pomerov Portman Quillen Quinn Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Regula Riggs Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Royce Salmon Sanford Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Sisisky Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) NOT VOTING-9

Pastor

Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Spratt Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas Thornberry Thurman Tiahrt Torkildsen Traficant Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

Becerra Green Maloney Hastings (FL) Clay Thornton Collins (MI) Lewis (GA) Wilson

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

# ¶28.15 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. TORRIČELLI:

Page 68, line 4, strike out "shall" and insert "may.

It was decided in the ] Yeas ...... negative ..... Nays .....

### 928.16[Roll No. 143] AYES-191

Abercrombie de la Garza Hamilton Deal DeFazio Ackerman Harman Andrews Hayes Baesler DeLauro Baldacci Dellums Hinchey Barcia Deutsch Hoyer Barrett (WI) Dicks Jackson-Lee Beilenson Dingell Jacobs Jefferson Bentsen Dixon Doggett Johnson (SD) Berman Dooley Bevill Johnson, E. B. Bishop Doyle Johnston Duncan Kanjorski Bonior Borski Edwards Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Boucher Ensign Brewster Eshoo Kennedy (RI) Browder Farr Kildee Brown (CA) Fattah Kleczka Brown (FL) Fazio Klink Fields (LA) LaFalce Bryant (TX) Cardin Lantos Filner Chapman Flake Laughlin Foglietta Clayton Levin Ford Lincoln Clement Clyburn Frost Lofgren Funderburk Lowey Luther Coleman Collins (IL) Furse Collins (MI) Gejdenson Manton Gephardt Martinez Condit Conyers Mascara Cooley Costello Gibbons Matsui Gordon McCarthy Gutierrez McDermott Coyne Cramer Hall (OH) McHale

Hall (TX)

McKinney

Danner

Laughlin

Lazio