White Whitfield

Williams

Wicker

Wilson

Wolf

Myers Myrick

Nadler

Nethercutt

Neal

Thomas

Thompson

Thornberry

Thornton

Thurman

Torkildsen

Tiahrt

Whole House on the state of the Union for consideration of the bill (H.R. 7) to revitalize the national security of the United States. The first reading of the bill shall be dispensed with. General debate shall be confined to the bill and the amendment in the nature of substitute made in order by this resolution and shall not exceed two hours equally divided among and controlled by the chairmen and ranking minority members of the Committee on International Relations and the Committee on National Security. After general debate the bill shall be considered for amendment under the five-minute rule for a period not to exceed ten hours. In lieu of the amendments recommended by the Committee on International Relations, the Committee on National Security, and the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence, it shall be in order to consider as an original bill for the purpose of amendment under the five-minute rule an amendment in the nature of a substitute consisting of the text of H.R. 872. The amendment in the nature of a substitute shall be considered as read. Points of order against the amendment in the nature of a substitute for failure to comply with clause (5)(a) of rule XXI are waived. During consideration of the bill for amendment, the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole may accord priority in recognition on the basis of whether the Member offering an amendment has caused it to be printed in the portion of the Congressional Record designated for that purpose in clause 6 of rule XXIII. Amendments so printed shall be considered as read. At the conclusion of consideration of the bill for amendment the Committee shall rise and report the bill to the House with such amendments as may have been adopted. Any Member may demand a separate vote in the House on any amendment adopted in the Committee of the Whole to the bill or to the amendment in the nature of a substitute made in order as original text. The previous question shall be considered as ordered on the bill and amendments thereto final passage without intervening motion except one motion to recommit with or without instruction.

When said resolution was considered. After debate,

## \$127.7\$ Call of the house

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GILLMOR, recognized Mr. HALL Ohio to move a call of the House

On motion of Mr. HALL of Ohio, a call of the House was ordered.

The call was taken by electronic device, and the following-named Members responded-

## ¶27.8[Roll No. 131]

Bishop Abercrombie Camp Canady Ackerman Bliley Allard Blute Cardin Boehlert Andrews Castle Armey Boehner Chabot Bachus Bonilla Chambliss Bonior Baesler Chapman Baker (CA) Bono Chenoweth Borski Baker (LA) Christensen Baldacci Boucher Chrysler Ballenger Brewster Clay Clayton Barcia Browder Brown (CA) Barr Clement Barrett (NE) Brown (FL) Clinger Barrett (WI) Brown (OH) Clyburn Coble Bartlett Brownback Bryant (TN) Coburn Barton Bryant (TX) Bass Coleman Collins (GA) Bateman Bunn Beilenson Bunning Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Bentsen Burr Bereuter Burton Combest Bevill Buyer Callahan Condit Bilbray Convers Cooley

Costello Hinchey Hobson Cox Hoekstra Coyne Hoke Holden Cramer Crane Crapo Horn Hostettler Cremeans Cubin Houghton Cunningham Hoyer Danner Hunter Davis Hutchinson de la Garza Hyde Inglis DeFazio Istook Jackson-Lee DeLauro DeLay Jacobs Dellums Jefferson Johnson (CT) Deutsch Diaz-Balart Johnson (SD) Dickey Johnson, E. B. Dicks Johnson, Sam Dingell Johnston Dixon Jones Kaniorski Doggett Dooley Kaptur Doolittle Kasich Dornan Kelly Dovle Kennedy (MA) Dreier Kennedy (RI) Duncan Kennelly Dunn Kildee Durbin Kim Edwards King Kingston Ehlers Ehrlich Kleczka Klink Emerson Klug Knollenberg Engel English Ensign Kolbe Eshoo LaFalce LaHood Evans Everett Largent Ewing Latham LaTourette Farr Fawell Laughlin Lazio Fazio Fields (LA) Leach Fields (TX) Levin Lewis (CA) Filner Lewis (KY) Flanagan Foglietta Lightfoot Lincoln Forbes Linder Lipinski Ford Fowler LoBiondo Fox Lofgren Franks (CT) Longley Franks (NJ) Lowey Frelinghuysen Lucas Luther Frost Maloney Funderburk Manton Furse Manzullo Gallegly Markey Martinez Ganske Gejdenson Martini Gephardt Mascara Matsui Geren Gibbons McCarthy McCollum Gilchrest Gillmor McCrery Gilman McDade Gonzalez McDermott Goodlatte McHale Goodling McHugh Gordon McInnis Goss McIntosh Graham McKeon McKinney Green Greenwood McNulty Gunderson Meehan Meek Gutierrez Menendez Gutknecht Hall (OH) Metcalf Hall (TX) Mevers Hamilton Mfume Hancock Mica Miller (CA) Hansen Miller (FL) Harman Hastert Mineta Hastings (FL) Minge Hastings (WA) Mink Moakley

Neumann Ney Norwood Nussle Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Oxley Packard Pallone Parker Pastor Paxon Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pombo Pomerov Porter Portman Poshard Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Rangel Reed Regula Reynolds Richardson Rivers Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Roybal-Allard Royce Rush Sabo Salmon Sanders Sanford Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Schroeder Scott Seastrand Sensenbrenner Serrano Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Sisisky Skaggs Skeen Skelton Slaughter Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Spratt Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stokes Studds Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC)

Wamp Ward Woolsey Wyden Torres Torricelli Waters Wynn Watt (NC) Towns Yates Traficant Watts (OK) Young (AK) Waxman Weldon (FL) Tucker Young (FL) Upton Zeliff Velazquez Weldon (PA) Zimmei Vento Weller Thereupon, the SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GILLMOR, announced that 419 Members had been recorded, a quorum. Further proceedings under the call were dispensed with. After further debate, Ms. PRYCE moved the previous guestion on the resolution to its adoption or rejection. Will the House now order the previous question? Mr. HALL of Ohio demanded that the yeas and nays were ordered. It was decided in the ¶27.9[Roll No. 132] YEAS-229 Cubin Allard Heineman Archer Cunningham Herger Armey Davis Hilleary Bachus DeLay Hobson Diaz-Balart Baker (CA) Hoekstra Baker (LA) Ballenger Dickey Doolittle Hoke Horn Hostettler Barrett (NE) Dreier Houghton Bartlett Duncan Hunter Barton Hutchinson Bass Ehlers Hyde Bateman Ehrlich Inglis Johnson (CT) Bereuter Emerson Bilbray Bilirakis English Johnson, Sam Ensign Jones Bliley Everett Kasich Ewing Fawell Blute Kelly Boehlert Kim Boehner Fields (TX) King Bonilla Flanagan Kingston Klug Bono Foley Brownback Forbes Knollenberg Bryant (TN) Fowler Kolbe Bunn Fox LaHood Bunning Franks (CT) Largent Burr Franks (N.J) Latham Burton Frelinghuysen LaTourette Frisa Buver Lazio Funderburk Callahan Leach Gallegly Lewis (CA) Calvert Camp Canady Ganske Lewis (KY) Gekas Lightfoot Castle Gilchrest Linder Chahot Gillmor Livingston Chambliss Gilman LoBiondo Chenoweth Goodlatte Longley Christensen Goodling Lucas Manzullo Chrysler Goss Clinger Graham Martini Greenwood Coble McCollum Coburn Gunderson McCrery McDade Collins (GA) Gutknecht McHugh Combest Hancock Cooley Hansen McInnis Cox Hastert McIntosh Hastings (WA) McKeon Crane Metcalf Crapo Hayworth Tejeda Cremeans Hefley Meyers

The question being put, viva voce,

Visclosky

Waldholtz Walker

Walsh

Vucanovich

Volkmer

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr.

GILLMOR, announced that the yeas

vote be taken by the yeas and nays, which demand was supported by onefifth of the Members present, so the

The vote was taken by electronic de-

affirmative ...... Nays .....

Molinari

Mollohan

Moorhead

Moran

Morella

Montgomery

Hayes Hayworth

Heineman

Hilleary

Hefley

Hefner