H.R. 924: Ms. ESHOO and Ms. WOOLSEY.

H.J. Res. 14: Mr. NCNULTY.

H.J. Res. 16: Mr. CRAMER.

H. Con. Res. 12: Mr. MARTINEZ, Mr. SERRANO, and Mr. EMERSON.

H. Con. Res. 21: Ms. PELOSI, Mr. ROHR-ABACHER, Ms. MCKINNEY, Mr. ABERCROMBIE, Mr. MILLER of California, Mr. SMITH of New Jersey, Mrs. MALONEY, Ms. VELAZQUEZ, Mrs. MEYERS of Kansas, Mr. SHAYS, and Mr. POR-TER

H. Res. 80: Mrs. Chenoweth, Mr. Duncan, Mrs. MINK of Hawaii, Mr. TALENT, and Mr. Traficant.

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 15, 1995 (27)

The House was called to order by the SPEAKER.

¶27.1 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of Tuesday, February

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal was approved.

¶27.2 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, were referred as follows:

372. A letter from the Head of Each Department and Agency, transmitting a report of a violation of the Anti-Deficiency Act which occurred in the Department of the Navy, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 1517(b); to the Committee on Appropriations.

373. A letter from the Chairman, Nuclear Regulatory Commission, transmitting a report on the nondisclosure of safeguards information for quarter ending December 31, 1994, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 2167(e); to the

Committee on Commerce.

374. A letter from the Director, Defense Security Assistance Agency, transmitting the Department of the Air Force's proposed lease of defense articles to the United Nations for use in Bosnia (Transmittal No. 11-95), pursuant to 22 U.S.C. 2796a(a); to the Committee on International Relations.

375. A letter from the Auditor, District of Columbia, transmitting a copy of report entitled, "Review of the District's Emergency Assistance Services' Program," pursuant to D.C. Code, section 47-117(d); to the Committee on Government Reform and Over-

sight. 376. A letter from the Executive Director, Federal Retirement Thrift Investment Board, transmitting a report of activities under the Freedom of Information Act for calendar year 1994, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 552(d); to the Committee on Government Report and Oversight.

377. A letter from the Chairman, Railroad Retirement Board, transmitting congressional justification of budget estimates for fiscal year 1996, pursuant to 45 U.S.C. 231f; to the Committee on Transportation and Infra-

378. A letter from the Comptroller General, General Accounting Office, transmitting a report on the assignment or detail of GAO employees to congressional committees as of January 27, 1995; jointly, to the Committees on Appropriations and Government Reform and Oversight.

¶27.3 NORTH ATLANTIC ASSEMBLY APPOINTMENTS

The SPEAKER, pursuant to the provisions of 22 U.S.C. 1928a, appointed to the United States Group of the North Atlantic Assembly the following Members of the House: Messrs. BEREUTER, Chairman, SOLOMON, Vice Chairman,

REGULA, BATEMAN, BLILEY, BOEHLERT, Mmes. MEYERS of Kansas, and Rou-

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate of the foregoing appointments.

¶27.4 MOTION TO ADJOURN

Mr. WISE moved that the House do now adjourn.

The question being put,

Will the House now adjourn?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EWING, announced that the nays had

Mr. WISE objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 150 When there appeared Nays 261

¶27.5[Roll No. 130] YEAS-150

Abercrombie Gejdenson Obev Gibbons Ackerman Olver Andrews Green Ortiz Gutierrez Baldacci Orton Barcia Hall (OH) Owens Berman Hamilton Pallone Bevill Harman Pastor Hastings (FL) Payne (VA) Bishop Bonior Haves Pelosi Hefner Peterson (FL) Borski Boucher Hinchey Peterson (MN) Brewster Holden Pomerov Browder Hoyer Rangel Brown (CA) Jefferson Reed Johnson (SD) Reynolds Richardson Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Johnson, E. B. Bryant (TX) Kanjorski Rivers Roybal-Allard Cardin Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Rush Chapman Clay Kennedy (RI) Sabo Clayton Kennelly Sanders Klink Sawyer Clyburn LaFalce Schroeder Laughlin Coleman Serrano Collins (IL) Sisisky Levin Collins (MI) Lincoln Skaggs Skelton Condit Lofgren Slaughter Conyers Lowey Coyne Maloney Spratt Cramer Manton Stark Markey Danner Stenholm DeFazio Martinez Stokes Studds DeLauro Mascara Deutsch Matsui Stupak McCarthy Dicks Thompson Dingell McDermott Thurman Dixon McKinney Torres McNulty Tucker Durbin Engel Meehan Velazquez Eshoo Meek Vento Visclosky Evans Mfume Miller (CA) Volkmer Farr Fattah Mineta Ward Mink Waters Fazio Moakley Watt (NC) Filner Foglietta Mollohan Waxman Wise Ford Montgomery Frank (MA) Wyden Frost Neal Wvnn

Oberstar

Furse

Allard

Archer

Armey

Bachus

Baesler

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE)

Barrett (WI)

Ballenger

Bartlett

Bateman

Barton

Bass

Barr

NAYS-261 Bentsen Callahan Bereuter Calvert Bilbray Bilirakis Camp Canady Bliley Boehlert Castle Chabot Boehner Chambliss Bonilla Chenoweth Bono Christensen Brownback Chrysler Bryant (TN) Coble Coburn Bunn Collins (GA) Bunning Combest Burr Burton Cooley Buyer Costello

Yates

Hunter Cox Hutchinson Crane Crapo Hyde Inglis Cremeans Cubin Istook Cunningham Jackson-Lee Davis Jacobs de la Garza Johnson (CT) Deal Johnson, Sam DeLay Johnston Diaz-Balart Jones Dickey Kelly Doggett Kildee Dooley Kim King Doolittle Doyle Kingston Dreier Kleczka Duncan Klug Knollenberg Dunn Edwards Kolbe LaHood Ehlers Ehrlich Largent Emerson Latham English LaTourette Ensign Lazio Everett Leach Ewing Fawell Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Fields (LA) Fields (TX) Linder Lipinski Flanagan Foley Livingston LoBiondo Forbes Fowler Longley Fox Lucas Franks (CT) Luther Franks (NJ) Manzullo Frelinghuysen Martini McCollum Frisa Funderburk McCrery Gallegly McDade Ganske McHale Gekas McHugh McInnis Geren Gilchrest McIntosh Gillmor McKeon Gilman Menendez Metcalf Gonzalez Goodlatte Meyers Goodling Mica Gordon Miller (FL) Goss Minge Molinari Graham Moorhead Greenwood Gunderson Morella Gutknecht Murtha Hall (TX) Myers Myrick Hancock Hansen Nethercutt Neumann Hastert Hastings (WA) Ney Norwood Hayworth Hefley Nussle Heineman Oxley Herger Packard Hilleary Parker Hobson Paxon

Portman Poshard Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Regula Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Royce Saľmon Sanford Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Scott Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stockman Stump Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas Thornberry Thornton Tiahrt Torkildsen Traficant Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Williams Wolf Woolsey Young (FL) Zeliff

NOT VOTING-23

Zimmer

Horn Schumer Becerra Blute Kasich Shuster Clinger Lantos Tate Lewis (GA) Torricelli Dellums Dornan Moran Towns Payne (NJ) Flake Wilson Gephardt Young (AK) Riggs

Petri

Pickett

Pombo

Porte

So the motion to adjourn was not agreed to.

¶27.6 PROVIDING FOR THE CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 7

Hoekstra

Hostettler

Houghton

Hoke

Mr. SOLOMON, by direction of the Committee on Rules, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 83):

Resolved, That at any time after the adoption of this resolution the Speaker may, pursuant to clause 1(b) of rule XXIII, declare the House resolved into the Committee of the