Smith (MI)

Stenholm

Spratt

Stark

Stokes

Studds

Stupak

Tanner

Taylor (MS)

Tejeda Thompson

Thornton

Thurman

Torres

Towns

Tucker

Vento

Ward

Waters

Watt (NC)

Waxman

Williams

Wilson

Woolsey

Wyden

Wynn

Yates

Latham

Wise

Torkildsen

Torricelli

Traficant

Velazquez

Visclosky

Volkmer

McCollum Riggs Roberts McCrery McDade Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen McHugh McInnis McIntosh Roth McKeon Metcalf Royce Salmon Mica Sanford Miller (FL) Saxton Molinari Scarborough Moorhead Schaefer Myers Myrick Schiff Schroeder Nethercutt Seastrand Neumann Sensenbrenner Shadegg Ney Norwood Shaw Shuster Nussle Oxley Skeen Smith (MI) Packard Smith (NJ) Paxon Pombo Portman Smith (WA) Solomon Quillen Souder

Stockman Stump Talent Tate Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Velazquez Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Williams Young (AK)

Maloney Manton Markey Martinez Mascara Matsui McCarthy McDermott McHale McKinney Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Mollohan Young (FL) Zeliff Montgomery Zimmer Morella Murtha Nadler Neal Nev Oberstar

Obev

Olver

Ortiz

Lipinski Lofgren Lowey

Luther

Orton Owens Pallone Parker Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Pomeroy Poshard Rahall Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Rivers Roemer Rose Roukema Roybal-Allard Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer Serrano Shays Sisisky Skaggs Skelton

Slaughter

Everett

NOES-223

Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stockman Stump Talent Tate Tauzin Becerra

Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt. Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL)

Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

Pickett

NOT VOTING-5

Lewis (GA) McCollum Lantos

So the amendment, as modified, was not agreed to.

After some further time,

## ¶27.21 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following perfecting amendment submitted by Mr. SPENCE to the amendment submitted by Mr. SKELTON:

Perfecting amendment submitted by Mr. SPENCE:

Strike out all after "SEC." in the matter proposed to be inserted by the amendment and insert the following:

### 204. BALLISTIC MISSILE DEFENSE AS A COMPO-NENT OF MILITARY READINESS.

(a) USE OF FISCAL YEAR 1996 FUNDS.—Of the total amount of funds appropriated or otherwise made available for the Department of Defense for fiscal year 1996, the amount obligated for national missile defense programs may exceed the amount made available for national missile programs for fiscal year

(b) FINDINGS.—In carrying out program execution of national missile defense programs using funds appropriated for fiscal year 1996, the Secretary of Defense shall consider the following findings by Congress:

(1) A critical component of military readiness is whether the Armed Forces are properly sized, equipped, structured, and ready to carry out assigned missions as required by the national military strategy.

(2) In testimony before the Committee on Armed Services of the House of Representatives on February 22, 1994, the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff testified that "modernization is the key to future readiness and it is the only way to provide our next generation with an adequate defense''.

(3) Given the growing ballistic missile threat, the deployment of affordable, highly effective national and theater missile defense systems is an essential objective of a defense modernization program that adequately supports the requirements of the na-

tional military strategy.

(c) SENSE OF CONGRESS.—In light of the findings in subsection (b), it is the sense of Congress that an effective national and theater missile defense capability is essential to ensuring that United States Armed Forces are ready to meet current and expected

threats to United States national security Amendment submitted by Mr. SKEL-

At the end of title II (page 12, after line 25), insert the following new section:

# SEC. 204. READINESS CERTIFICATION.

Of the total amount of funds appropriated or otherwise made available for the Department of Defense for fiscal year 1996, the amount obligated for national missile defense programs may not exceed the amount made available for national missile programs for fiscal year 1995 until the Secretary of Defense certifies to the Congress that the Armed Forces are properly sized, equipped,

# NOT VOTING-4

Lewis (GA) Wilson Becerra Lantos

Quinn

Radanovich

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

Spence

Stearns

#### ¶27.19 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment, as modified, submitted by Mr. EDWARDS:

Page 11, line 18, after "missile attacks" insert the following: "and that is deployed without the inclusion of any space-based interceptors'

Page 12, line 6, after "missile attacks" insert the following: "without the inclusion of any space-based interceptors'

At the end of title II, add the following: SEC. 203. DEPLOYMENT WITHOUT SPACE-BASED INTERCEPTORS

The national missile defense system developed for deployment shall be developed and deployed without the inclusion of any spacebased interceptors.

It was decided in the Yeas ...... 206 negative ...... Nays ..... 223

#### ¶27.20[Roll No. 137] AYES-206

Abercrombie

Coyne Ackerman Cramer Baesler Danner Baldacci de la Garza Barcia Deal Barrett (WI) DeFazio Beilenson DeLauro Bentsen Dellums Berman Deutsch Bevill Dicks Dingell Bishop Blute Dixon Boehlert Doggett Bonior Dooley Borski Doyle Boucher Duncan Brewster Durbin Browder Edwards Brown (CA) Engel Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Evans Bryant (TX) Farr Cardin Fattah Chapman Fazio Fields (LA) Clay Clayton Filner Clement Flake Clyburn Foglietta Coleman Frank (MA) Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Frost Condit Furse Geidenson Convers Costello Gephardt

Gibbons Gonzalez Goodling Gordon Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamilton Hastings (FL) Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Holden Hoyer Jackson-Lee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klink LaFalce LaTourette Laughlin Leach

Levin

Lincoln

Allard Andrews Archer Armey Bachus Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Ballenger Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton Bass Bateman Bereuter Bilbray Bilirakis Bliley Boehner Bonilla Bono Brownback Bryant (TN) Bunn Bunning Burton Buyer CaĬlahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Chabot Chambliss Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clinger Coble Coburn Collins (GA) Combest Cooley Cox Crane Crapo Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Davis DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle

Dornan

Dreier

Dunn

Ehlers

Ehrlich

Emerson

English

Ensign

Ewing Lazio Fawell Lewis (CA) Fields (TX) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Flanagan Forbes Fowler Livingston LoBiondo Longley Franks (CT) Lucas Franks (NJ) Manzullo Frelinghuysen Martini Frisa Funderburk McCrery McDade Gallegly McHugh Ganske McInnis Gekas McIntosh Geren McKeon Gilchrest McNulty Metcalf Gillmor Gilman Meyers Goodlatte Mica Miller (FL) Goss Graham Molinari Greenwood Moorhead Gunderson Myers Gutknecht Myrick Hall (TX) Nethercutt Hancock Neumann Hansen Norwood Harman Nussle Oxley Hastert Hastings (WA) Packard Paxon Hayes Hayworth Petri Hefley Pombo Heineman Porter Herger Portman Hilleary Prvce Hobson Quillen Hoekstra Quinn Hoke . Radanovich Horn Ramstad Hostettler Regula Houghton Riggs Roberts Hunter Hutchinson Rogers Rohrabacher Hvde Inglis Istook Roth Johnson (CT) Royce Johnson, Sam Salmon Jones Sanford Kasich Saxton Scarborough Kelly Kim Schaefer King

Ros-Lehtinen Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner

Shadegg

Shuster

Shaw

Skeen

235

Kingston

Kolbe LaHood

Largent

Klug Knollenberg