supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the Yeas negative Nays 291

927.12[Roll No. 134]

YEAS-134

Abercrombie Gephardt Owens Pallone Ackerman Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Andrews Pastor Payne (NJ) Baldacci Barcia Hamilton Payne (VA) Berman Bishop Hastings (FL) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Hefner Bonio Hilliard Peterson (MN) Borski Hinchey Holden Pomeroy Boucher Reed Brown (CA) Reynolds Hoyer Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Jackson-Lee Jefferson Richardson Rivers Johnson (SD) Bryant (TX) Roybal-Allard Chapman Johnson, E. B. Rush Clay Kanjorski Sabo Clayton Kennedy (MA) Sanders Clement Clyburn Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Schroeder Serrano Coleman Klink Skaggs Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Levin Lofgren Skelton Slaughter Condit Lowey Spratt Conyers Coyne Maloney Stark Stokes Manton DeLauro Martinez Studds Dellums Mascara Stupak Matsui Deutsch Thompson Dingell McDermott Thurman McKinney Dixon Torres Durbin McNulty Towns Engel Meehan Tucker Eshoo Mfume Velazquez Miller (CA) Vento Visclosky Farr Mineta Fattah Volkmer Mink Moakley Ward Filner Mollohan Waters Watt (NC) Flake Moran Foglietta Nadler Waxman Ford Neal Wise Frank (MA) Oberstar Wyden Obey Wynn Frost Furse Olver Yates Gejdenson Orton

NAYS-291 Chabot Allard Ensign Archer Chambliss Everett Ewing Fawell Armey Chenoweth Christensen Baesler Chrysler Fields (LA) Fields (TX) Baker (CA) Clinger Baker (LA) Coble Flanagan Ballenger Coburn Foley Collins (GA) Barr Forbes Barrett (NE) Combest Fowler Barrett (WI) Cooley Fox Costello Bartlett Franks (CT) Barton Franks (NJ) Bass Cramer Frelinghuysen Bateman Crane Frisa Funderburk Beilenson Bentsen Cremeans Gallegly Bereuter Cubin Ganske Bevill Bilbray Cunningham Gekas Danner Geren Bilirakis Davis Gibbons de la Garza Bliley Gilchrest Blute Deal Gillmor DeFazio Boehlert Gilman DeLay Diaz-Balart Boehner Gonzalez Bonilla Goodlatte Bono Dickey Goodling Brewster Browder Dicks Gordon Doggett Goss Brownback Bryant (TN) Dooley Doolittle Graham Greenwood Gunderson Bunn Dornan Bunning Doyle Gutknecht Hall (TX) Burr Dreier Burton Duncan Hancock Dunn Edwards Hansen Callahan Harman Calvert Ehlers Hastert Canady Ehrlich Hastings (WA) Cardin Emerson Haves

English

Hayworth

Hefley Heineman McHale McHugh Schiff Schumer McInnis Scott Herger Seastrand Hilleary McIntosh Sensenbrenner McKeon Hobson Shadegg Hoekstra Menendez Hoke Metcalf Shaw Horn Meyers Shays Mica Hostettler Shuster Miller (FL) Houghton Sisisky Skeen Hunter Minge Hutchinson Molinari Smith (MI) Montgomery Moorhead Hyde Smith (NJ) Inglis Smith (TX) Istook Morella Smith (WA) Jacobs Murtha Solomon Johnson (CT) Myers Souder Johnson, Sam Myrick Spence Nethercutt Johnston Stearns Stenholm Jones Neumann Kasich Ney Stockman Norwood Kelly Stump Nussle Talent Kim Ortiz Tanner King Oxley Tate Kingston Packard Tauzin Taylor (MS) Kleczka Parker Taylor (NC) Klug Knollenberg Paxon Tejeda Kolbe Pickett Thomas Thornberry LaFalce Pombo LaHood Porter Thornton Largent Portman Tiahrt Torkildsen Latham Poshard LaTourette Pryce Quillen Torricelli Laughlin Traficant Upton Lazio Quinn Vucanovich Waldholtz Leach Řadanovich Lewis (CA) Rahall Lewis (KY) Ramstad Walker Lightfoot Regula Walsh Wamp Lincoln Riggs Roberts Watts (OK) Linder Lipinski Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Roemer Rohrabacher Livingston LoBiondo Ros-Lehtinen Weller Longley Rose White Whitfield Roth Lucas Luther Roukema Wicker Manzullo Royce Salmon Wilson Markey Wolf Martini Woolsey Sanford Young (AK) Sawyer Saxton McCarthy McCollum Young (FL) Scarborough Zeliff McCrery **Z**immer McDade Schaefer

NOT VOTING-9

Becerra	Lantos	Rangel
Camp	Lewis (GA)	Rogers
Kaptur	Meek	Williams

So the motion to adjourn was not agreed to.

¶27.13 ORDER OF BUSINESS— REREFERRAL OF H.R. 10

On motion of Mr. BLILEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered. That title 1, section 103 of the bill (H.R. 10) to reform the Federal civil justice system; to reform product liability law; was rereferred additionally to the Committee on Commerce, for a period to be subsequently determined by the Speaker.

¶27.14 NATIONAL SECURITY REVITALIZATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GILLMOR, pursuant to House Resolution 83 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 7) to revitalize the national security of the United States.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GILLMOR, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. LINDER as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole; and after some time spent therein,

¶27.15 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. SPENCE:

At the end of title II (page 12, after line 25), add the following new section.

SEC. 204. SENSE OF CONGRESS ON THEATER MIS-SILE DEFENSE AND THE ANTI-BAL-LISTIC MISSILE (ARM) TREATY.

(a) FINDINGS.—The Congress makes the following findings:

(1) The United States and its allies face existing and expanding threats from ballistic missiles capable of being used as theater weapon systems that are presently possessed by, being developed by, or being acquired by a number of countries, including Iran, Iraq, Syria, Libya, and North Korea.

(2) Some theater ballistic missiles that are currently deployed or are being developed (such as the Chinese CSS-2 missile and the North Korean Taepo Dong-2 missile) have capabilities equal to or greater than the capabilities of missiles that were determined to be strategic missiles more than 20 years ago under the Strategic Arms Limitation Agreement I (SALT I) Interim Agreement of 1972 entered into between the United States and the Soviet Union.

(3) The Anti-Ballistic Missile (ABM) Treaty was not intended to, and does not, apply to or limit research, development, testing or deployment of missile defense systems, system upgrades, or system components that are designed to counter modern theater ballistic missiles, regardless of the capabilities of such missiles, unless those systems, system upgrades, or system components are tested against or have demonstrated capabilities to counter modern strategic ballistic missiles.

(4) It is a national security priority of the United States to develop and deploy highly effective theater missile defense systems capable of countering the existing and expanding threats posed by modern theater ballistic missiles at the earliest practical date.

(5) Current United States proposal in the Standing Consultative Commission (SCC) would multilateralize the ABM Treaty, making future amendments or changes to the Treaty more difficult, and would impose specific design limitations on United States theater missile defense (TMD) systems that would significantly compromise the United States TMD capability.

(b) SENSE OF CONGRESS.—It is the sense of the Congress that further formal negotiations in the Standing Consultative Commission (SCC) and any informal discussions or negotiations on either the demarcation between theater missile defense (TMD) systems and anti-ballistic missile (ABM) systems, or any other effort that bears on the viability including the ABM Treaty, multilateralization of the treaty, should be suspended until the One Hundred Fourth Congress has had the opportunity to review

It was decided in the Yeas affirmative Nays 110

927.16[Roll No. 135] AYES-320

Allard	Barrett (NE)	Blute
Andrews	Bartlett	Boehlert
Archer	Barton	Boehner
Armey	Bass	Bonilla
Bachus	Bateman	Bono
Baesler	Bereuter	Borski
Baker (CA)	Berman	Boucher
Baker (LA)	Bevill	Brewster
Baldacci	Bilbray	Browder
Ballenger	Bilirakis	Brownback
Barcia	Bishop	Bryant (TN)
Barr	Bliley	Bunn