HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

¶26.5 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, were referred as follows:

367. A letter from the Secretary of Commerce, transmitting a report of a violation of the Antideficiency Act, in the National Telecommunications and Information Administration [NTIA], pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 1351; to the Committee on Appropriations.

368. A letter from the Copyright Office, Library of Congress, transmitting a report of activities under the Freedom of Information Act for calendar year 1994, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 552(a); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

369. A letter from the Chairman, Merit Systems Protection Board, transmitting the Board's report for fiscal year 1994 listing the number of appeals submitted, the number processed to completion, and the number not completed by the originally announced date, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 7701(i)(2); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

370. A letter from the Chairman, Physician Payment Review Commission, transmitting the Secretary's report to Congress on utilization and access; jointly, to the Committees on Commerce and Ways and Means.

371. A communication from the President of the United States, transmitting a letter in writing expressing his deep concern about H.R. 872, the National Security Revitalization Act (H. Doc. No. 104-35); jointly, to the Committees on International Relations, National Security, and Intelligence (Permanent Select) and ordered to be printed.

\$26.6 LAW ENFORCEMENT BLOCK GRANTS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BE-REUTER, pursuant to House Resolution 79 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 728) to control crime by enforcement providing law block grants.

Mr. GUNDERSON, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein.

\$26.7 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. SCHUMER:

Page 2, line 6, insert after "amended" the following:

"by redesignating that title as title XXXIV and a new title I is inserted in that Act'

Page 8, strike line 23 and all that follows through page 9, line 2, and insert the following:

"(1) \$150,000,000 for fiscal year 1996;

"(2) \$50,000,000 for fiscal year 1997;

"(3) \$300,000,000 for fiscal year 1998;

"(4) \$300,000,000 for fiscal year 1999; and

"(5) \$1,732,000,000 for fiscal year 2000." Page 21, strike line 17 and all that follows

through page 22, line 7. Page 26, strike line 9 and all that follows

through line 11.

It was decided in the	Yeas	196
negative	Nays	235

[Roll No. 124]

126.8

Abercrombie

Ackerman

Andrews

Baesler

Baldacci

Barrett (WI)

Beilenson

Bentsen

Berman

Bevill

Bishop

Blute

Bonior

Borski

Boucher

Browder

Cardin

Clay

Chapman

Clayton

Clement

Clyburn

Coleman

Condit

Convers

Costello

Coyne

Cramer

Danner

DeFazio

DeLauro

Dellums

Deutsch

Dingell

Doggett

Dooley

Doyle

Durbin

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Farr

Fattah

Fields (LA)

Fazio

Filner

Flake

Ford

Frost

Furse

Foglietta

Frank (MA)

Gejdenson

Gephardt

Allard

Archer

Armey

Bachus

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE)

Ballenger

Bartlett

Bateman

Bereuter

Bilirakis

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Brewster

Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Bono

Bunn

Bunning

Bilbray

Bliley

Barton

Bass

Barr

Edwards

Dicks

Dixon

Deal

de la Garza

Collins (IL)

Collins (MI)

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL) Brown (OH)

Bryant (TX)

Barcia

AYES-196

Gibbons Gonzalez Gordon Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamilton Harman Hastings (FL) Hayes Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Holden Hoyer Jackson-Lee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klink LaFalce Lantos Laughlin Levin Lewis (GA) Lincoln Lipinski Lowey Luther Maloney Manton Markey Martinez Mascara McCarthy McDermott McHale McKinney Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moaklev Mollohan Montgomery Moran Morella Murtha Nadler Neal Oberstar Obey NOES-235 Burr Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Chabot Chambliss Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clinger Coble Coburn Collins (GA) Combest Cooley Cox Crane Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Davis DeLay Funderburk

Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Pickett Pomeroy Poshard Quinn Rahall Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Rivers Roemer Rose Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer Serrano Sisisky Skaggs Skelton Slaughter Spratt Stark Stokes Studds Stupak Tanner Tejeda Thompson Thornton Thurman Torkildsen Torres Torricelli Towns Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Waxman Williams Wilson Wise Woolsey Wyden Wvnn Yates Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson English Ensign Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Flanagan Foley Forbes Fowler Fox Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa

Gallegly Ganske Gekas Geren Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Goodlatte Goodling Goss Graham Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hancock Hansen Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayworth Hefley Heineman Herger Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Horn Hostettler Houghton Hunter Hutchinson Hvde Inglis Istook Johnson, Sam Jones Kasich Kellv Kim King Kingston Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Lazio Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY)

Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Scott Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Talent Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Traficant Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watt (NC) Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer NOT VOTING-3 Matsui

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

\$26.9 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mrs. SCHROEDER:

Page 4, after line 5, insert the following: (D) Enhancing health care clinic security measures to protect against violence directed against the free exercise of constitu-

tional rights, including-"(i) overtime pay for law enforcement offi-

cers;

Becerra

"(ii) security assessments by law enforcement officers;

(iii) when recommended by law enforcement officials, purchases of materials to enhance the physical safety of clinics, including, bulletproof glass and security cameras.'

It was decided in the Yeas 164 negative Nays 266

¶26.10 Abercrombie Ackerman Allard Andrews Baesler Baldacci Barrett (WI) Beilenson Bentsen Berman

Bishop

Blute

[Roll No. 125] AYES-164 Boehlert Coleman Collins (IL) Bonior Boucher Collins (MI) Brown (CA) Condit Conyers Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Coyne Bryant (TX) Danner Cardin DeFazio Chapman DeLauro Dellums Clav Clayton Deutsch Clyburn Dicks

§26.10

Lightfoot Linder

LoBiondo Lofgren

Longley

Lucas Manzullo

Martini

McCrery

McDade

McHugh

McInnis

McKeon

McNulty

Metcalf

Meyers Mica

Miller (FL)

Molinari

Myers

Nev

Myrick

Moorhead

Nethercutt

Neumann

Norwood

Packard

Parker

Paxon

Pombo

Porter

Prvce

Quillen

Ramstad

Regula

Roberts

Rogers

Roth

Rovce

Saľmon

Sanford

Crapo

Roukema

Rohrabacher

Ros-Lehtinen

Riggs

Radanovich

Portman

Petri

Nussle

Oxley

McIntosh

McCollum

Livingston