It was decided in the Yeas 196

¶26.5 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, were referred as follows:

367. A letter from the Secretary of Commerce, transmitting a report of a violation of the Antideficiency Act, in the National Telecommunications and Information Administration [NTIA], pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 1351; to the Committee on Appropriations.

368. A letter from the Copyright Office, Library of Congress, transmitting a report of activities under the Freedom of Information Act for calendar year 1994, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 552(a); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

369. A letter from the Chairman, Merit Systems Protection Board, transmitting the Board's report for fiscal year 1994 listing the number of appeals submitted, the number processed to completion, and the number not completed by the originally announced date, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 7701(i)(2); to the Committee on Government Reform and Over-

370. A letter from the Chairman, Physician Payment Review Commission, transmitting the Secretary's report to Congress on utilization and access; jointly, to the Committees on Commerce and Ways and Means.

371. A communication from the President of the United States, transmitting a letter in writing expressing his deep concern about H.R. 872, the National Security Revitalization Act (H. Doc. No. 104-35); jointly, to the Committees on International Relations, National Security, and Intelligence (Permanent Select) and ordered to be printed.

¶26.6 LAW ENFORCEMENT BLOCK GRANTS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BE-REUTER, pursuant to House Resolution 79 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 728) to control crime by enforcement providing law grants.

Mr. GUNDERSON, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent there-

¶26.7 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. SCHUMER:

Page 2, line 6, insert after "amended" the following:

"by redesignating that title as title XXXIV and a new title I is inserted in that Act'

Page 8, strike line 23 and all that follows through page 9, line 2, and insert the following:

- "(1) \$150,000,000 for fiscal year 1996;
- "(2) \$50,000,000 for fiscal year 1997;
- "(3) \$300,000,000 for fiscal year 1998;
- "(4) \$300,000,000 for fiscal year 1999; and
- "(5) \$1,732,000,000 for fiscal year 2000."

Page 21, strike line 17 and all that follows through page 22, line 7.

Page 26, strike line 9 and all that follows through line 11.

negative Nays 235 926.8[Roll No. 124]

AYES-196 Gibbons Abercrombie Ackerman Gonzalez Andrews Gordon Green Baldacci Gutierrez Hall (OH) Barcia Barrett (WI) Hamilton Beilenson Harman Hastings (FL) Bentsen Berman Hayes Bevill Hefner Bishop Hilliard Blute Hinchey Bonior Holden Borski Hoyer Boucher Jackson-Lee Browder .Jacobs Jefferson Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Bryant (TX) Johnson, E. B. Cardin Johnston Kanjorski Chapman Clay Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Clayton Clement Clyburn Kennelly Coleman Kildee Kleczka Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Klink Condit. LaFalce Convers Lantos Costello Laughlin Coyne Levin Lewis (GA) Cramer Danner Lincoln de la Garza Lipinski Deal Lowey DeFazio Luther DeLauro Maloney Dellums Manton Deutsch Markey Dicks Martinez Dingell Mascara Dixon McCarthy McDermott Doggett McHale Doyle McKinney Durbin Meehan Edwards Meek Menendez Engel Mfume Eshoo Miller (CA) Evans Farr Mineta Fattah Minge Mink Fields (LA) Moaklev Filner Mollohan Montgomery Flake Foglietta Moran Morella Ford Frank (MA) Murtha Frost Nadler Furse Neal Gejdenson Oberstar Gephardt Obey

Gillmor Gilman Olver Ortiz Goodling Orton Goss Owens Graham Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Hall (TX) Hancock Peterson (FL) Hansen Peterson (MN) Hastert Pickett Pomeroy Poshard Hefley Quinn Rahall Herger Rangel Hilleary Reed Hobson Reynolds Hoekstra Richardson Hoke Rivers Horn Roemer Rose Roybal-Allard Hunter Rush Sabo Hvde Sanders Inglis Sawyer Schroeder Istook Schumer Jones Serrano Kasich Sisisky Kelly Skaggs Kim Skelton King Slaughter Kingston Spratt Stark Stokes Studds LaHood Stupak Largent Tanner Tejeda Thompson Lazio Thornton Leach Thurman Torkildsen Torres

Latham LaTourette Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Torricelli Towns Becerra Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Waxman Williams Wilson Woolsey

NOES-235

Wise

Wyden

Wvnn

Yates

Allard Burr Diaz-Balart Archer Burton Dickey Doolittle Armey Buyer Bachus Callahan Dornan Baker (CA) Calvert Dreier Baker (LA) Camp Duncan Canady Ballenger Dunn Castle Ehlers Barr Barrett (NE) Chabot Ehrlich Bartlett. Chambliss Emerson English Barton Chenoweth Bass Christensen Ensign Bateman Chrysler Everett Ewing Clinger Bereuter Bilbray Coble Fields (TX) Bilirakis Coburn Collins (GA) Flanagan Bliley Boehlert Combest Foley Boehner Cooley Forbes Bonilla Cox Fowler Bono Crane Fox Brewster Franks (CT) Cremeans Franks (NJ) Brownback Cubin Bryant (TN) Cunningham Frelinghuysen Bunn Davis Frisa Bunning DeLay Funderburk

Gallegly Ganske Lightfoot Linder Saxton Scarborough Livingston Schaefer Geren Gilchrest LoBiondo Lofgren Schiff Scott Longley Seastrand Lucas Manzullo Sensenbrenner Goodlatte Shadegg Martini Shaw McCollum Shays Shuster McCrery Greenwood McDade Skeen Smith (MI) Gunderson McHugh McInnis Gutknecht McIntosh McKeon McNulty Metcalf Hastings (WA) Meyers Mica Hayworth Miller (FL) Heineman Molinari Moorhead Myers Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Nev Hostettler Norwood Houghton Nussle Oxley Hutchinson Packard Parker Paxon Petri Johnson, Sam Pombo Porter Portman Prvce Quillen Radanovich Ramstad Klug Knollenberg Kolbe Regula Riggs Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Rovce Salmon Sanford

Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Talent Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Traficant Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watt (NC) Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff NOT VOTING-3 Matsui

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

Crapo

¶26.9 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mrs. SCHROEDER:

Page 4, after line 5, insert the following:

(D) Enhancing health care clinic security measures to protect against violence directed against the free exercise of constitutional rights, including-

"(i) overtime pay for law enforcement officers:

"(ii) security assessments by law enforcement officers;

'(iii) when recommended by law enforcement officials, purchases of materials to enhance the physical safety of clinics, including, bulletproof glass and security cameras.'

It was decided in the Yeas 164 negative Nays

926.10[Roll No. 125] AYES-164

Abercrombie	Boehlert	Coleman
Ackerman	Bonior	Collins (IL)
Allard	Boucher	Collins (MI)
Andrews	Brown (CA)	Condit
Baesler	Brown (FL)	Conyers
Baldacci	Brown (OH)	Coyne
Barrett (WI)	Bryant (TX)	Danner
Beilenson	Cardin	DeFazio
Bentsen	Chapman	DeLauro
Berman	Clay	Dellums
Bishop	Clayton	Deutsch
Blute	Clyburn	Dicks