bill back to the House forthwith with the following amendment:

Page 4, after line 5, insert the following:

- "(D) Establishing the programs described in the following subtitles of title III of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994 (as such title and the amendments made by such title were in effect on the day preceding the date of the enactment of this Act):
- "(i) Assistance for Delinquent and At-Risk Youth under subtitle G.
- '(ii) Urban Recreation and At-Risk Youth subtitle O which made amendments to the Urban Park and Recreation Recovery Act of 1978
- "(iii) Gang Resistance and Education Training under subtitle X.'

Page 6, after line 24, insert the following (and redesignate any subsequent subsections accordingly):

"(C) PREVENTION SET-ASIDE FOR YOUTH.-Of the amounts to be appropriated under subsection (a), the Attorney General shall allocate \$100,000,000 of such funds for each of fiscal years 1996 through 2000 to carry out the purposes of subparagraph (D) of section

Page 9, after line 2, insert the following (and redesignate any subsequent subsections accordingly):

"(b) RESERVATION FOR BYRNE PROGRAMS.— The Attorney General shall reserve such sums as may be necessary of the amounts authorized under this section in each fiscal year to ensure that not less than \$450,000,000 is available to carry out the programs under subpart 1 of part E of title I of the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1986.

After debate,

On motion of Mr. McCOLLUM, the previous question was ordered on the motion to recommit with instructions.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House recommit said bill with instructions?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GOODLATTE, announced that the nays had it.

Mr. CONYERS demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said motion, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the negative 184 Nays 247

926.15[Roll No. 128] AYES-184

Abercrombie	Coleman	Fazio
Ackerman	Collins (IL)	Fields (LA)
Andrews	Collins (MI)	Filner
Baesler	Condit	Flake
Baldacci	Conyers	Foglietta
Barcia	Costello	Ford
Barrett (WI)	Coyne	Frank (MA)
Beilenson	Cramer	Frost
Bentsen	de la Garza	Furse
Berman	DeFazio	Gejdenson
Bevill	DeLauro	Gephardt
Bishop	Dellums	Geren
Bonior	Deutsch	Gibbons
Borski	Dicks	Gonzalez
Brewster	Dingell	Gordon
Browder	Dixon	Green
Brown (CA)	Doggett	Gutierrez
Brown (FL)	Dooley	Hall (OH)
Brown (OH)	Doyle	Harman
Bryant (TX)	Durbin	Hastings (FL)
Cardin	Edwards	Hayes
Chapman	Engel	Hefner
Clay	Eshoo	Hilliard
Clayton	Evans	Hinchey
Clement	Farr	Holden
Clyburn	Fattah	Hoyer

Jackson-Lee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klink LaFalce Lantos Levin Lewis (GA) Lincoln Lofgren Lowey Luther Maloney Manton Markey Martinez Mascara McCarthy McDermott McHale McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Miller (CA)

Allard

Archer

Armey Bachus

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE)

Ballenger

Bartlett

Barton

Bateman

Bereuter

Bilbray Bilirakis

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Boucher

Bunning

Burton

Buyer

Callahan

Calvert

Camp

Castle

Chabot

Chambliss

Chenoweth

Christensen

Collins (GA)

Chrysler

Clinger

Coburn

Combest

Cooley

Crane

Cubin

Danner

Davis

DeLay

Cremeans

Cunningham

Diaz-Balart

Dickey Doolittle

Dornan

Dreier

Duncan

Dunn

Cox

Coble

Canady

Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Bono

Bunn

Bliley

Blute

Bass

Barr

Mineta Minge Scott Serrano Skaggs Moakley Mollohan Skelton Slaughter Moran Spratt Murtha Stark Nadler Stenholm Neal Stokes Oberstan Studds Obey Stupak Olver Tanner Tejeda Thompson Orton Owens Pallone Thornton Pastor Thurman Payne (NJ) Torres Pelosi Torricelli Peterson (FL) Towns Pomeroy Tucker Poshard Velazquez Rahall Vento Visclosky Rangel Reed Volkmer Reynolds Ward Richardson Watt (NC) Rivers Roemer Waxman Wilson Roybal-Allard Wise Woolsey Rush Wyden Sabo Sanders Wynn Sawyer Yates Schroeder Schumer

NOES-247

Ehlers Kingston Ehrlich Knollenberg Kolbe Emerson English LaHood Ensign Everett Largent Latham Ewing Fawell LaTourette Fields (TX) Laughlin Flanagan Lazio Foley Leach Forbes Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Fowler Fox Lightfoot Franks (CT) Linder Franks (NJ) Lipinski Frelinghuysen Livingston Frisa LoBiondo Funderburk Longley Gallegly Lucas Manzullo Ganske Gekas Martini Gilchrest McCollum Gillmor McCrery Gilman McDade Goodlatte McHugh Goodling McInnis McIntosh Graham McKeon Greenwood Metcalf Gunderson Meyers Gutknecht Mica Miller (FL) Hall (TX) Hamilton Molinari Montgomery Hancock Hansen Moorhead Hastert Morella Hastings (WA) Mvers Myrick Hayworth Hefley Nethercutt Heineman Neumann Herger Nev Norwood Hilleary Hobson Nussle Hoekstra Ortiz Hoke Oxley Packard Horn Hostettler Parker Houghton Paxon Payne (VA) Hunter Hutchinson Peterson (MN) Hyde Petri Inglis Pickett Istook Pombo Johnson (CT) Porter Johnson (SD) Portman Johnson, Sam Quillen Jones Kasich Quinn Kelly Radanovich

Riggs Roberts Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Rogers Rohrabacher Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Ros-Lehtinen Roth Solomon Roukema Souder Spence Royce Saľmon Stearns Sanford Stockman Stump Saxton Scarborough Talent Schaefer Tate Tauzin Schiff Seastrand Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Thornberry Shavs Tiahrt. Torkildsen Shuster Sisisky Traficant Becerra Crapo

Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Williams Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

NOT VOTING-3

So the motion to recommit with instructions was not agreed to.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GOODLATTE, announced that the yeas

Mr. CONYERS demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

926.16[Roll No. 129] AYES-238

Allard Danner Heineman Herger Hilleary Archer Davis Armey Deal Bachus DeLay Hobson Diaz-Balart Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Hoekstra Dickey Hoke Doolittle Ballenger Horn Barr Dornan Hostettler Barrett (NE) Dreier Houghton Bartlett Duncan Hunter Barton Dunn Hutchinson Bass Ehlers Hyde Bateman Ehrlich Inglis Bereuter Emerson Istook English Bilbray Johnson, Sam Bilirakis Ensign Jones Kasich Bliley Everett Boehlert Kelly Ewing Fawell Boehner Kim Fields (TX) Bonilla King Bono Flanagan Kingston Brewster Foley Klug Knollenberg Brownback Forbes Fowler Bryant (TN) LaHood Bunn Fox Franks (CT) Bunning Largent Franks (NJ) Latham Burton Frelinghuysen LaTourette Laughlin Frisa Buyer Callahan Funderburk Lazio Gallegly Ganske Leach Calvert Lewis (CA) Camp Canady Gekas Lewis (KY) Castle Geren Lightfoot Chabot Gilchrest Lincoln Chambliss Gillmor Linder Gilman Livingston Chenoweth LoBiondo Christensen Gingrich Chrysler Goodlatte Longley Goodling Clinger Lucas Manzullo Coble Goss Coburn Graham Martini Collins (GA) Greenwood McCollum Combest Gunderson McCrery Condit Gutknecht McDade Hall (TX) McHugh Coolev Cox Hancock McInnis Crane Hansen McIntosh Cremeans Hastert McKeon

Hastings (WA)

Hayworth

Cunningham

McNulty

Metcalf

Ramstad

Regula

Kim

King