1995

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Regula

Roberts

Rogers

Roth

Royce

Salmon

Sanford

Saxton

Schaefer

Schiff

Roukema

Riggs

McIntosh

McKeon

McNulty

Metcalf

Mevers

Miller (FL)

Montgomery

Molinari

Moorhead

Nethercutt

Neumann

Norwood

Nussle

Ney

Myers

Myrick

Mica

Mollohan	Roberts	Stump	
Montgomery	Roemer	Stupak	
Moorhead	Rogers	Talent	
Murtha	Rohrabacher	Tanner	
Myers	Ros-Lehtinen	Tate	
Myrick	Roth	Tauzin	
Neal	Royce	Taylor (MS)	
Nethercutt	Salmon	Taylor (NC)	
Neumann	Sanford	Tejeda	
Ney	Saxton	Thomas	
Norwood	Scarborough	Thornberry	
Nussle	Schaefer	Thornton	
Oberstar	Schiff	Tiahrt	
Ortiz	Seastrand	Tucker	
Orton	Sensenbrenner	Volkmer	
Oxley	Shadegg	Vucanovich	
Packard	Shuster	Waldholtz	
Parker	Sisisky	Walker	
Paxon	Skeen	Walsh	
Peterson (MN)	Skelton	Wamp	
Petri	Smith (MI)	Watts (OK)	
Pickett	Smith (NJ)	Weldon (FL)	
Pombo	Smith (TX)	Weldon (PA)	
Portman	Smith (WA)	White	
Poshard	Solomon	Whitfield	
Quillen	Souder	Wicker	
Quinn	Spence	Wolf	
Radanovich	Stearns	Young (AK)	
Rahall	Stenholm	Young (FL)	
Regula	Stockman	Zeliff	
NOT VOTING—3			
Becerra	Crapo	Matsui	

So the amendment was not agreed to.

\$26.13 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the amendment in the nature of a substitute, as amended, as reported by the Committee on the Judiciary.

	ary.	(.	_	
It was decided in the Yeas				
affirmative Nays				
	¶26.14	[Roll No. 127]		
		AYES-237		
		ATES-237		
	Allard	Cubin	Hastings (WA	
	Archer	Cunningham	Hayworth	
	Armey	Danner	Heineman	
	Bachus	Davis	Herger	
	Baker (CA)	Deal	Hilleary	
	Baker (LA)	DeLay	Hobson	
	Ballenger	Diaz-Balart	Hoekstra	
	Barr	Dickey	Hoke	
	Barrett (NE)	Doolittle	Horn	
	Bartlett	Dornan	Hostettler	
	Barton	Dreier	Houghton	
	Bass	Duncan	Hunter	
	Bateman	Dunn	Hutchinson	
	Bereuter	Ehlers Ehrlich	Hyde	
	Bilbray Bilirakis	Emerson	Inglis Istook	
	Bliley	English	Johnson (CT)	
	Boehlert	Everett	Johnson, San	
	Boehner	Ewing	Jones	
	Bonilla	Fawell	Kasich	
	Bono	Fields (TX)	Kelly	
	Brewster	Flanagan	Kim	
	Brownback	Foley	King	
	Bryant (TN)	Forbes	Kingston	
	Bunn	Fowler	Klug	
	Bunning	Fox	Knollenberg	
	Burr	Franks (CT)	Kolbe	
	Burton	Franks (NJ)	LaHood	
	Buyer	Frelinghuysen	Largent	
	Callahan	Frisa	Latham	
	Calvert	Funderburk	LaTourette	
	Camp	Gallegly	Laughlin	
	Canady	Ganske	Lazio	
	Castle	Gekas	Leach	
	Chabot	Geren	Lewis (CA)	
	Chambliss	Gilchrest	Lewis (KY)	
	Chenoweth Christensen	Gillmor Gilman	Lightfoot	
		Goodlatte	Linder Livingston	
	Chrysler Clinger	Goodling	LoBiondo	
	Coble	Goss	Longley	
	Coburn	Graham	Lucas	
	Collins (GA)	Greenwood	Manzullo	
	Combest	Gunderson	Martini	
	Condit	Gutknecht	McCollum	
	Cooley	Hall (TX)	McCrery	
	Cox	Hancock	McDade	
	Crane	Hansen	McHugh	
	-			

Hastert

McInnis

Cremeans

Abercrombie Ackerman Andrews Baesler Baldacci Barcia Barrett (WI) Beilenson Bentsen Berman 237 Bevill 193 Bishop Blute Bonior Borski Boucher 4) Browder Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Cardin Chapman Clav Clayton Clement Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Conyers Costello Coyne Cramer m de la Garza DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Deutsch Dicks Dingell Dixon Doggett Doolev Doyle Durbin Edwards Engel Eshoo Evans Farr Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta Ford Frank (MA) Frost Furse Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Gonzalez

Oxley Shadegg Packard Shaw Parker Shuster Paxon Skeen Petri Skelton Pombo Porter Portman Pryce Quillen Solomon Quinn Souder Radanovich Spence Ramstad Stearns Gordon Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamilton Harman Hastings (FL) Hayes Hefley Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Holden Hoyer Jackson-Lee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kaniorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klink LaFalce Lantos Levin Lewis (GA) Lincoln Lipinski Lofgren Lowey Luther Malonev Manton Markey Martinez Mascara McCarthy McDermott McHale McKinney Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Mollohan Moran Morella Murtha Nadler Neal Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz

Talent Tate Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Scarborough Walsh Seastrand Wamp Sensenbrenner Weller White Smith (MI) Wolf Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA)

NOES-193

Orton Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Pomeroy Poshard Rahall Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Rivers Roemer Rose Rush Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Shays Sisisky Skaggs Slaughter Spratt Stark Stokes Studds Stupak Tanner Tejeda Thompson Thornton Thurman Torkildsen Torres Torricelli Towns Tucker Velazguez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Williams Wilson Wise Woolsey Wyden Wynn Yates

Stenholm Stockman Stump Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Traficant Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Whitfield Wicker Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Pickett Roybal-Allard

NOT VOTING-4 Becerra Ensign Crapo Matsui

So the Committee amendment in the nature of a substitute, as amended, was agreed to.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GOODLATTE, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. GUNDERSON, Chairman, pursuant to House Resolution 79, reported the bill back to the House with an amendment adopted by the Committee.

The previous question having been ordered by said resolution.

The following amendment, reported from the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union, was agreed to:

Strike out all after the enacting clause and insert

SECTION 1. SHORT TITLE.

This Act may be cited as the "Local Government Law Enforcement Block Grants Act of 1995'

SEC. 2. BLOCK GRANT PROGRAM.

(a) IN GENERAL.-Title I of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994 is amended to read as follows

"TITLE I—LAW ENFORCEMENT BLOCK GRANTS

"SEC. 101. PAYMENTS TO LOCAL GOVERNMENTS. "(a) PAYMENT AND USE.

"(1) PAYMENT.—The Director of the Bureau of Justice Assistance shall pay to each unit of local government which qualifies for a payment under this title an amount equal to the sum of any amounts allocated to such unit under this title for each payment period. The Director shall pay such amount from amounts appropriated to carry out this title.

(2) USE.—Amounts paid to a unit of local government under this section shall be used by the unit for reducing crime and improving public safety, including but not limited to, 1 or more of the following purposes:

(A)(i) Hiring, training, and employing on a continuing basis new, additional law enforcement officers and necessary support personnel

(ii) Paying overtime to presently employed law enforcement officers and necessary support personnel for the purpose of increasing the number of hours worked by such personnel.

(iii) Procuring equipment, technology, and other material directly related to basic law enforcement functions.

(B) Enhancing security measures-

"(i) in and around schools; and

"(ii) in and around any other facility or location which is considered by the unit of local government to have a special risk for incidents of crime.

(C) Establishing crime prevention programs that may, though not exclusively, involve law enforcement officials and that are intended to discourage, disrupt, or interfere with the commission of criminal activity, in-cluding neighborhood watch and citizen patrol programs, sexual assault and domestic violence programs, and programs intended to prevent juvenile crime. "(D) Establishing or supporting drug

courts.

"(E) Establishing early intervention and prevention programs for juveniles to reduce or eliminate crime.

(F) Enhancing the adjudication process of cases involving violent offenders, including the adjudication process of cases involving violent juvenile offenders.

(G) Enhancing programs under subpart 1 of part E of the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968.