25.20

Olver Ortiz

Reed

Rush

Sabo

JOURNAL OF THE

McIntosh

McKeon

Metcalf

Meyers

Miller (FL)

Molinari

Morella

Myers Myrick

Moorhead

Nethercutt

Neumann

Norwood

Packard

Nussle

Paxon

Pombo

Porter

Pryce

Quillen

Quinn

Radanovich

Rohrabacher

Ros-Lehtinen

Ramstad

Regula

Riggs

Roberts

Rogers

Roth

Rovce

Salmon

Sanford

Schaefer

Schiff

Ford

Frost

Furse

Scarborough

Frank (MA)

Gejdenson

Gephardt Geren

Gonzalez

Gutierrez

Hall (OH) Hall (TX)

Hamilton

Hastings (FL)

Jackson-Lee

Johnson (SD)

Kennedv (MA)

Kennedy (RI)

Harman

Hayes Hilliard

Hinchey

Holden

Hover

Jacobs

Johnston

Kanjorski

Kennelly

Kildee

Klink

Levin Lewis (GA)

Kleczka

LaFalce

Lantos Laughlin

Lincoln Lipinski

Lofgren

Lowey

Luther

Maloney

Manton

Markey

Mascara

McHale

McKinney

McNulty

Meehan

Menendez

Meek

McCarthy

McDermott

Kaptur

Gordon

Green

Saxton

Roukema

Portman

Petri

Ney

Mica

Levin Lewis (GA) Lincoln Lipinski Lofgren Lowey Luther Maloney Manton Markey Mascara McCarthy McDermott McHale McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Mollohan Montgomery Moran Murtha Nadler Neal Oberstar Obey Becerra Berman

Clement

Clinger

Cox

Crapo

Dooley

Fattah

Skelton Slaughter Orton Spratt Owens Pallone Stark Stenholm Parker Stokes Pastor Studds Payne (NJ) Stupak Payne (VA) Tanner Pelosi Tauzin Peterson (FL) Tejeda Peterson (MN) Thompson Pickett Thornton Pomeroy Thurman Poshard Torres Torricelli Rahall Rangel Towns Traficant Reynolds Velazquez Richardson Vento Rivers Visclosky Roemer Volkmer Roybal-Allard Ward Waters Watt (NC) Sanders Waxman Sawyer Wise Schroeder Woolsey Schumer Wyden Scott Wvnn Serrano Yates Sisisky Skaggs NOT VOTING-22 Gibbons Rose Hefner Shuster Tucker Jefferson Leach Whitfield

Herger Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Horn Hostettler Houghton Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Jones Kasich Kelly Kim King Kingston Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Lazio Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Linder Livingston LoBiondo Longley Lucas Manzullo Martini McCollum McHugh McInnis

So the previous question on said motion was ordered.

Williams

Wilson

The question being put, viva voce,

Martinez

Matsui

Oxley

McDade

Will the House agree to said motion? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BONILLA, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. BONIOR demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said motion, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device It was decided in the Vere

vice.			
It was decided in the affirmative		Yeas 220 Nays 191	
¶25.20 [Roll No. 123]			
AYES—220			
Allard	Canady	Fawell	
Archer	Castle	Fields (TX)	
Armey	Chabot	Flanagan	
Bachus	Chambliss	Foley	
Baker (CA)	Chenoweth	Forbes	
Baker (LA)	Christensen	Fowler	
Ballenger	Chrysler	Fox	
Barr	Coble	Franks (CT)	
Barrett (NE)	Coburn	Franks (NJ)	
Bartlett	Collins (GA)	Frelinghuysen	
Barton	Combest	Frisa	
Bass	Cooley	Funderburk	
Bateman	Crane	Gallegly	
Bereuter	Cremeans	Ganske	
Bilbray	Cubin	Gekas	
Bilirakis	Cunningham	Gilchrest	
Bliley	Davis	Gillmor	
Blute	DeLay	Gilman	
Boehlert	Diaz-Balart	Goodlatte	
Boehner	Dickey	Goodling	
Bonilla	Doolittle	Goss	
Bono	Dornan	Graham	
Brownback	Dreier	Greenwood	
Bryant (TN)	Duncan	Gunderson	
Bunn	Dunn	Gutknecht	
Bunning	Ehlers	Hancock	
Burr	Ehrlich	Hansen	
Burton	Emerson	Hastert	
Buyer	English	Hastings (WA)	
Callahan	Ensign	Hayworth	
Calvert	Everett	Hefley	
Camp	Ewing	Heineman	

Johnson (CT) Johnson, Sam Abercrombie Ackerman Andrews Baesler Baldacci Barcia Barrett (WI) Beilenson Bentsen Bevill Bishop Bonior Borski Boucher Brewster Browder Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Cardin Chapman Clay Clayton Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Condit Convers Costello Covne Cramer Danner de la Garza Deal DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Deutsch Dicks Dingell Dixon Doggett Doyle Durbin Edwards Engel Eshoo Evans Farr Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta

Seastrand Shadegg Shaw Shays Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stockman Stump Talent Tate Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Upton Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weller White Wicker Wolf Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer NOES-191 Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moaklev Mollohan Moran Murtha Nadler Neal Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Pallone Parker Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Johnson, E. B. Pickett Pomeroy Poshard Rahall Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Rivers Roemer Rush Sabo Sanders Sawver Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Sisisky Skaggs Skelton Slaughter Spratt Stark Stenholm Stokes Studds Stupak Tanner

Sensenbrenner Taylor (NC) Vucanovich Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Young (AK) Montgomery Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Roybal-Allard

FEBRUARY		13	
Towns	Watt (NC)		
Traficant	Waxman		
Velazouez	Wise		

Woolsey Wyden

Wynn

Yates

Oxley

Rose

Shuster

Tucker

Whitfield

Williams

Wilson

Velazquez Vento Visclosky Thompson Thornton Volkmer Torres Torricelli Ward Waters NOT VOTING-23 Gibbons Hefner Jefferson Leach Martinez Matsui McCrery McDade

Tauzin Taylor (MS)

Tejeda

Thurman

Becerra

Berman

Clement

Clinger

Crapo

Dooley

Fattah

Cox

So the motion to permit all committees and their subcommittees to sit was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

\$25.21 PROVIDING FOR THE CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 7

Mr. SOLOMON, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 104-31) the resolution (H. Res. 83) providing for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 7) to revitalize the national security of the United States.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

\$25.22 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— MIDDLE CLASS TAX RELIEF

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BONILLA, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States:

I am pleased to transmit today for your immediate consideration and enactment the "Middle-Class Bill of Rights Tax Relief Act of 1995." I am also sending you an explanation of the revenue proposals of this legislation.

This bill is the next step in my Administration's continuing effort to raise living standards for working families and help restore the American Dream for all our people.

For 2 years, we have worked hard to strengthen our economy. We worked with the last Congress to enact legislation that will reduce the annual deficits of 1994-98 by more than \$600 billion; we created nearly 6 million new jobs; we cut taxes for 15 million low-income families and gave tax relief to small businesses; we opened export markets through global and regional trade agreements; we invested in human and physical capital to increase productivity; and we reduced the Federal Government by more than 100,000 positions.

With that strong foundation in place, I am now proposing a Middle Class Bill of Rights. Despite our progress, too many Americans are still working harder for less. The Middle Class Bill of Rights will enable working Americans to raise their families and get the education and training they need to meet the demands of a new global economy. It will let middle-income families share in our economic prosperity today and