HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Vento Visclosky

Scott

Rivers

\$23.21 DELETIONS OF SPONSORS FROM PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 4 of rule XXII, sponsors were deleted from public bills and resolutions as follows:

H.R. 3: Mr. GORDON.

H.R. 76: Mr. BEREUTER.

H.J. Res. 3: Mr. RIGGS and Mr. COBURN.

FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 10, 1995 (24)

The House was called to order by the SPEAKER.

\$24.1 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of Thursday, February 9. 1995.

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal was approved.

¶24.2 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive communication, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, was referred as follows

361. A letter from the Director, Congressional Budget Office, transmitting a report entitled "The Economic and Budget Outlook: Fiscal Years 1996-2000''; jointly, to the Committees on Appropriations and the Budget.

¶24.3 VIOLENT CRIMINAL INCARCERATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. SAM JOHNSON OF TEXAS, pursuant to House Resolution 63 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 667) to control crime by incarcerating violent criminals.

Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, Acting Chairman, assumed the chair; and after some time spent therein,

\$24.4 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. WATT of North Carolina

Page 17, strike lines 16-23 and page 18, strike lines 1-3.

Page 18, line 4, strike the letter "g" and insert instead the letter "f".

It was decided in the negative		93 313	
¶24.5 [Roll No. 112]			
YEAS—93			
Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta Frank (MA) Gejdenson Gibbons Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamilton Hastings (FL) Hilliard Hoyer Jackson-Lee Johnson, E.B. Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kildee LaFalce Lantos	Levin Lewis (GA) Lowey Martinez Matsui McDermott McKinney Meehan Meek Menendez Mineta Mink Mollohan Nadler Oberstar Olver Owens Pastor Payne (NJ) Pelosi Reed Revnolds		
Lantos	Reynolds		
	[Roll No. 11: YEAS—93 Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta Frank (MA) Gejdenson Gibbons Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamilton Hastings (FL) Hilliard Hoyer Jackson-Lee Johnson, E.B. Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kildee LaFalce	[Roll No. 112] YEAS—93 Fattah Levin Fazio Lewis (GA) Fields (LA) Lowey Filner Martinez Flake Matsui Foglietta McDermott Frank (MA) McKinney Gejdenson Meehan Gutierrez Menendez Hall (OH) Mineta Hamilton Mink Hastings (FL) Mollohan Hilliard Nadler Hoyer Oberstar Jackson-Lee Olver Johnson, E.B. Owens Kennedy (RI) Payne (NJ) Kildee Pelosi LaFalce Reed	

Rivers Rose	Scott Serrano
Roybal-Allard	Skaggs
Rush	Slaughter
Sabo Sanders	Stokes Studds
Sawyer	Thompson
Schroeder Schumer	Towns Velazquez
Benginer	-
	NAYS-3
Ackerman Archer	Ensign Everett
Armey	Ewing
Bachus	Fawell
Baesler Baker (CA)	Fields (TX) Flanagan
Baker (LA)	Foley
Baldacci Ballenger	Forbes Fowler
Barcia	Fox
Barr Barratt (NE)	Franks (CT) Franks (NJ)
Barrett (NE) Barrett (WI)	Frelinghuyse
Bartlett	Frisa
Barton Bass	Funderburk Furse
Bateman	Gallegly
Bentsen Bereuter	Ganske Gekas
Bevill	Gephardt
Bilbray Bilirakis	Geren Gilchrest
Bilirakis Bliley	Gilman
Blute	Gonzalez
Boehlert Boehner	Goodlatte Goodling
Bonilla	Gordon
Bono Borski	Goss Graham
Brewster	Green
Browder	Gunderson
Brown (OH) Brownback	Gutknecht Hall (TX)
Bryant (TN)	Hancock
Bryant (TX) Bunn	Hansen Harman
Bunning	Hastert
Burr	Hastings (WA Hayworth
Burton Buyer	Hefley
Callahan	Hefner
Calvert Camp	Heineman Hilleary
Canady	Hobson
Castle Chabot	Hoekstra Hoke
Chambliss	Holden
Chenoweth Christensen	Horn Hostettler
Clement	Houghton
Clinger	Hunter
Coble Coburn	Hutchinson Hyde
Coleman	Inglis
Collins (GA) Combest	Istook Jacobs
Condit	Jefferson
Cooley Costello	Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD)
Cox	Johnson, Sar
Cramer	Jones
Crane Crapo	Kanjorski Kaptur
Cremeans	Kasich
Cubin Cunningham	Kelly Kennelly
Danner	Kim
Davis de la Garza	King Kingston
Deal	Kleczka
DeFazio	Klink
DeLauro DeLay	Klug Knollenberg
Diaz-Balart	Kolbe
Dickey Doggett	LaHood Largent
Dooley	Latham
Doolittle Dornan	LaTourette
Doyle	Laughlin Lazio
Dreier	Leach
Duncan Dunn	Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY)
Edwards	Lightfoot
Ehlers Ehrlich	Lincoln Linder
Emerson	Lipinski
Engel English	Livingston LoBiondo
	202101100

Ward Waters Watt (NC) Williams Wise Wynn Yates NAYS-313 Longley Lucas Luther Maloney Manton Manzullo Markey Martini Mascara McCarthy McCollum McCrery relinghuysen McDade McHale McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon McNulty Metcalf Meyers Mica Miller (FL) Minge Moakley Molinar Montgomery Moorhead Moran Morella Murtha Myers Myrick Neal Nethercutt Neumann Ney astings (WA) Norwood Nussle Obey Ortiz Orton Oxley Packard Pallone Parker Paxon Payne (VA) Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pombo Pomeroy Porter Portman Poshard Pryce Quillen ohnson, Sam Quinn Řadanovich Rahall Ramstad Regula Richardson Riggs Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Rovce Salmon Sanford Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Sisisky Skeen Skelton

Souder Spence Spratt Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate Allard Andrews Becerra Boucher Chapman Chrysler Collins (MI) Deutsch Ford Frost Abercrombie Ackerman Barrett (WI) Beilenson Bentsen Berman Bishop Bonior Borski Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Cardin Clay Clavton Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Convers Coyne Cramer de la Garza Deal DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Dicks Dingell Dixon Doggett Dooley Durbin Edwards Ehlers Engel Eshoo Evans Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake

Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon

Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Wolf Woolsey Wyden Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmei

NOT VOTING-28

Tauzin Taylor (MS)

Thornberry

Thornton

Thurman

Torkildsen

Torricelli Traficant

Volkmer

Vucanovich

Waldholtz

Walker

Gillmor

Hayes

Herger

Lofgren

Mfume

Rangel

Tiahrt

Upton

Teieda

Thomas

Stark Taylor (NC) Greenwood Torres Tucker Hinchey Walsh Johnston Waxman Weldon (FL) Young (AK) Miller (CA)

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

24.6 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. CARDIN:

Page 8, strike lines 7 through 11, and insert the following:

"(1) \$990,300,000 for fiscal year 1996;

"(2) \$1,322,800,000 for fiscal year 1997;

- "(3) \$2,519,800,000 for fiscal year 1998;
- "(4) \$2,652,800,000 for fiscal year 1999; and
- $((5) $2,745,900,000 \text{ for fiscal}_{f} \text{ year 2000.}$

It was decided in the Yeas 129 negative 295

[Roll No. 113]

YEAS-129 Foglietta

Frank (MA) Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Gonzalez Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hastings (FL) Hefner Hilliard Hinchev Hover Jackson-Lee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson, E.B. Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kildee Kleczka LaFalce Lantos Levin Lewis (GA) Luther Markey Matsui McCarthy McDermott McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Mink Moakley Mollohan Moran

Nadler Neal Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Owens Pastor Payne (NJ) Pelosi Pomeroy Porter Rangel Reynolds Richardson Rivers Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Scott Serrano Shavs Skaggs Slaughter Stokes Studds Tejeda Thompson Torres Towns Tucker Velazquez Vento Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Williams Woolsey Wvnn Yates