¶23.21 DELETIONS OF SPONSORS FROM PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 4 of rule XXII, sponsors were deleted from public bills and resolutions as follows:

H.R. 3: Mr. GORDON. H.R. 76: Mr. BEREUTER.

H.J. Res. 3: Mr. RIGGS and Mr. COBURN.

FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 10, 1995 (24)

The House was called to order by the SPEAKER.

¶24.1 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of Thursday, February

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal was approved.

¶24.2 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive communication, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, was referred as

361. A letter from the Director, Congressional Budget Office, transmitting a report entitled "The Economic and Budget Outlook: Fiscal Years 1996-2000"; jointly, to the Committees on Appropriations and the Budget.

¶24.3 VIOLENT CRIMINAL INCARCERATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. SAM JOHNSON OF TEXAS, pursuant to House Resolution 63 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 667) to control crime by incarcerating violent criminals.

Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, Acting Chairman, assumed the chair; and after some time spent therein,

¶24.4 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. WATT of North Caro-

Page 17, strike lines 16-23 and page 18, strike lines 1-3.

Page 18, line 4, strike the letter "g" and insert instead the letter "f".

It was decided in the Yeas negative Nays 313

¶24.5 [Roll No. 112] YEAS—93		
Abercrombie	Fattah	Levin
Beilenson	Fazio	Lewis (GA)
Berman	Fields (LA)	Lowey
Bishop	Filner	Martinez
Bonior	Flake	Matsui
Brown (CA)	Foglietta	McDermott
Brown (FL)	Frank (MA)	McKinney
Cardin	Gejdenson	Meehan
Clay	Gibbons	Meek
Clayton	Gutierrez	Menendez
Clyburn	Hall (OH)	Mineta
Collins (IL)	Hamilton	Mink

Hastings (FL) Mollohan Conyers Hilliard Coyne Dellums Nadler Oberstar Hover Dicks Jackson-Lee Olver Dingell Johnson, E.B. Kennedy (MA) Owens Dixon Pastor Kennedy (RI) Durbin Payne (NJ) Kildee LaFalce Eshoo Evans Reed Lantos Reynolds

Rivers Rose Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer

Ackerman

Archer

Armey

Bachus

Baesler

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Baldacci

Ballenger

Barrett (NE)

Barrett (WI)

Bartlett

Bateman

Bentsen

Bereuter

Bilbray

Bliley

Blute

Bilirakis

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Bono

Borski

Brewster

Browder

Bunn

Burr

Bunning

Burton

Calvert

Canady

Camp

Castle

Chabot

Chambliss

Clement

Clinger

Coburn

Coleman

Combest

Condit

Cooley

Cox

Costello

Cramer

Crane

Crapo

Cubin

Danner

Davis

Deal

DeFazio

DeLauro

Dickey

Doggett Dooley

Doolittle

Dornan

Duncan

Edwards

Ehlers

Ehrlich

Emerson

English

Engel

Dunn

Doyle

DeLay Diaz-Balart

Cremeans

Cunningham

de la Garza

Collins (GA)

Coble

Chenoweth

Buyer Callahan

Brown (OH)

Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Bryant (TX)

Barton

Bass

Barcia

Barr

Scott Serrano Skaggs Slaughter Stokes Studds Thompson Towns Velazquez

Vento Visclosky

Ward

Wise

Wynn

Yates

Longley

Waters

Watt (NC)

Williams

NAYS-313

Ensign Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Flanagan Foley Forbes Fowler Fox Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Funderburk Furse Gallegly Ganske Gekas Gephardt Geren Gilchrest Gilman Gonzalez Goodlatte Goodling Gordon Goss Graham Green Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hancock Hansen Harman Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayworth Hefley Hefner Heineman Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Holden Horn Hostettler Houghton Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, Sam Jones Kaniorski Kaptur Kasich Kellv Kennelly Kim King Kingston Kleczka Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot

Lucas Luther Maloney Manton Manzullo Markey Martini Mascara McCarthy McCollum McCrery McDade McHale McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon McNulty Metcalf Meyers Mica Miller (FL) Minge Moakley Molinar Montgomery Moorhead Morella Murtha Myers Myrick Neal Nethercutt Neumann Ney Norwood Nussle Obey Ortiz Orton Oxley Packard Pallone Parker Paxon Payne (VA) Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pombo Pomeroy Portman Poshard Quillen Quinn Řadanovich Rahall Ramstad Regula Richardson Riggs Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth

Roukema

Rovce

Salmon

Sanford

Saxton

Schaefer

Seastrand

Shadegg

Shaw

Shavs

Shuster

Sisisky

Skelton

Skeen

Sensenbrenner

Evans

Fazio

Filner

Fattah

Fields (LA)

Schiff

Scarborough

Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Spratt Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate

Tauzin Taylor (MS) Teieda Thomas Thornberry Thornton Thurman Tiahrt Torkildsen Torricelli Traficant Volkmer Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker

Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Wolf Woolsey Wyden Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

NOT VOTING-28

Gillmor Allard Stark Taylor (NC) Andrews Greenwood Becerra Hayes Torres Boucher Herger Tucker Chapman Hinchey Walsh Chrysler Collins (MI) Johnston Waxman Weldon (FL) Lofgren Deutsch Mfume Young (AK) Miller (CA) Frost Rangel

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

¶24.6 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. CARDIN:

Page 8, strike lines 7 through 11, and insert the following:

"(1) \$990,300,000 for fiscal year 1996;

"(2) \$1,322,800,000 for fiscal year 1997;

"(3) \$2,519,800,000 for fiscal year 1998;

"(4) \$2,652,800,000 for fiscal year 1999; and

(5) \$2,745,900,000 for fiscal year 2000.

It was decided in the Yeas negative Nays 295

924.7[Roll No. 113]

YEAS-129 Foglietta Abercrombie Frank (MA) Ackerman Barrett (WI) Gejdenson Beilenson Gephardt Gibbons Bentsen Berman Gonzalez Bishop Green Gutierrez Bonior Borski Hall (OH) Hastings (FL) Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Hefner Hilliard Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Hinchev Cardin Hover Jackson-Lee Clay Clayton Jacobs Jefferson Clyburn Coleman Johnson (CT) Collins (IL) Johnson, E.B. Convers Kennedy (MA) Coyne Kennedy (RI) Kildee Cramer Kleczka de la Garza Deal LaFalce DeFazio Lantos DeLauro Levin Lewis (GA) Dellums Dicks Luther Dingell Markey Dixon Matsui Doggett McCarthy McDermott Durbin McKinney McNulty Edwards Ehlers Meehan Engel Meek Eshoo Mfume

Miller (CA)

Mineta

Moakley

Mollohan

Moran

Mink

Obey Olver Owens Pastor Payne (NJ) Pelosi Pomeroy Porter Rangel Reynolds Richardson Rivers Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Scott Serrano Shavs Skaggs Slaughter Stokes Studds Tejeda Thompson Torres Towns

Tucker

Vento

Waters

Velazquez

Watt (NC)

Waxman

Williams

Woolsey

Wvnn

Nadler

Oberstar

Neal

Lincoln

Lipinski

Livingston

LoBiondo

Linder