Inglis	Norwood		
	Nussle		
Johnson (SD)	Owens		
	Oxley		
Jones	Packard		
Kaptur	Pallone		
Kasich	Paxon		
Kennelly	Porter		
Kim	Portman		
King	Pryce		
Kingston	Quinn		
Kleczka	Radanovich		
Knollenberg	Ramstad		
Kolbe	Regula		
LaFalce	Rivers		
Lantos	Rohrabacher		
Largent	Ros-Lehtinen		
Latham	Roukema		
LaTourette	Royce		
Lazio	Sanford		
Leach	Sawyer		
Lewis (CA)	Saxton		
Lewis (KY)	Schiff		
Lightfoot	Schumer		
Linder	Sensenbrenner		
Livingston	Shadegg		
LoBiondo	Shaw		
Longley	Shays		
Lowey	Skeen		
Lucas	Smith (MI)		
Luther	Smith (NJ)		
	Smith (TX)		
Manton	Talent		
Manzullo	Taylor (NC)		
	Thomas		
Martini	Torkildsen		
McCollum	Torricelli		
	Upton		
McDade	Waldholtz		
McHale	Walker		
McKeon	Wamp		
	Ward		
	Watts (OK)		
Mfume	Weldon (FL)		
Mica	Weldon (PA)		
	Weller		
Molinari	White		
	Wolf		
	Wyden		
	Yates		
	Young (FL)		
	Zeliff		
	Zimmer		
ANSWERED "PRESENT"—3			
	Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnston John		

Collins (IL) Reynolds

# NOT VOTING-5

Rush

Brown (FL) Frost Solomon Flake Hastings (WA)

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

## ¶22.7 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. SERRANO:

Page 3, line 14, strike the close quotation mark and the period which follows.  $\,$ 

Page 3, after line 14, insert the following: "(e) LIMITATION.—This section shall not apply with respect to a search or seizure carried out by, or under the authority of, the

$\P{22.8}$	[Roll No. 102]
	AYES-103

	AYES—103	
Barrett (WI)	Collins (MI)	Foglietta
Becerra	Conyers	Ford
Berman	Coyne	Furse
Bishop	DeFazio	Gejdenson
Bonior	Dellums	Gephardt
Boucher	Dingell	Green
Brown (CA)	Durbin	Gutierrez
Brown (FL)	Engel	Hastings (FL)
Bryant (TX)	Evans	Hefner
Clay	Farr	Hilliard
Clayton	Fattah	Hinchey
Clyburn	Fields (LA)	Jackson-Lee
Coleman	Filner	Jefferson
Collins (IL)	Flake	Johnson, E. B.

Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kildee Levin Lewis (GA) Lofgren Martinez Matsui McDermott McKinney Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Mink Moakley Mollohan Nadler Oberstar

Abercrombie

Ackerman

Allard

Archer

Bachus

Baesler

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Baldacci

Ballenger

Bartlett

Bass Bateman

Beilenson

Bentsen

Bereuter

Bilbray Bilirakis

Bevill

Bliley

Blute

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Brewster

Browder

Bunn

Bunning

Burton

Buyer Callahan

Calvert

Camp

Canady

Cardin

Castle

Chabot

Chambliss

Chapman

Chrysler

Clement

Clinger

Coburn

Combest

Condit Cooley

Costello

Cramer

Crane

Crapo

Cubin

Danner

Deal

DeLay Deutsch

DeLauro

Cremeans

Cunningham

Davis de la Garza

Cox

Collins (GA)

Coble

Chenoweth

Christensen

Brown (OH)

Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Bono Borski

Barton

Barrett (NE)

Barcia

Barr

Andrews

Obey Olver Owens Pastor Payne (NJ) Rangel Reynolds Richardson Rose Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Schroeder Scott Serrano Skaggs Stark Stokes Studds

### Thompson Thornton Torricelli Towns Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Williams Wise Woolsey Wynn Yates

#### NOES-330

Diaz-Balart Inglis Istook Dickey Dicks Jacobs Johnson (CT) Dixon Johnson (SD) Doggett Doolittle Johnson, Sam Dornan .Johnston Doyle Jones Dreier Kanjorski Duncan Kaptur Dunn Kasich Edwards Kelly Kennelly Ehlers Ehrlich Kim King Kingston Emerson English Ensign Eshoo Everett Klink Klug Knollenberg Ewing Fawell Kolbe LaFalce Fazio Fields (TX) LaHood Flanagan Lantos Foley Largent Forbes Latham Fowler LaTourette Laughlin Fox Frank (MA) Lazio Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Leach Lewis (CA) Frelinghuysen Lewis (KY) Frisa Lightfoot Lincoln Frost Funderburk Linder Gallegly Ganske Lipinski Livingston Gekas LoBiondo Geren Longley Gibbons Lowey Gilchrest Lucas Gillmor Luther Gilman Maloney Gonzalez Manton Manzullo Goodlatte Goodling Markey Gordon Martini Goss Mascara Graham McCarthy Greenwood McCollum Gunderson McCrery McDade Gutknecht Hall (OH) McHale Hall (TX) McHugh Hamilton McInnis McIntosh Hancock Hansen McKeon Harman McNulty Metcalf Hastert Hastings (WA) Meyers Mica Miller (FL) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Minge Molinari Heineman Montgomery Herger Hilleary Moorhead Hobson Moran Morella Hoekstra Hoke Holden Murtha Myers Myrick Horn Hostettler Nethercutt Houghton Hoyer Neumann Hunter Hutchinson Norwood Hvde Nussle

Ortiz Orton Roukema Talent Tanner Royce Oxley Salmon Tate Packard Pallone Sanford Tauzin Taylor (MS) Sawyer Taylor (NC) Saxton Parker Paxon Scarborough Schaefer Tejeda Payne (VA) Thomas Peterson (FL) Schiff Thornberry Peterson (MN) Schumer Thurman Petri Seastrand Tiahrt Pickett Sensenbrenner Torkildsen Pombo Shadegg Traficant Pomeroy Shaw Upton Porter Shays Vucanovich Portman Shuster Waldholtz Poshard Sisisky Walker Pryce Skeen Walsh Quillen Skelton Wamp Watts (OK) Quinn Slaughter Radanovich Smith (MI) Weldon (FL) Rahall Smith (N.J) Weldon (PA) Smith (TX) Ramstad Weller Reed Smith (WA) White Whitfield Regula Solomon Riggs Souder Wicker Rivers Spence Wilson Roberts Wolf Spratt Roemer Wyden Young (AK) Young (FL) Rogers Stenholm Rohrabacher Stockman Ros-Lehtinen Stump Zeliff Stupak Roth Zimmer

# NOT VOTING—1 Dooley

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HOBSON, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. RIGGS, Chairman, pursuant to House Resolution 61, reported the bill back to the House with sundry amendments adopted by the Committee

The previous question having been ordered by said resolution.

The following amendments, reported from the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union, were agreed to:

Page 3, line 14, strike the close quotation mark and the period which follows.

Page 3, after line 14, insert the following: "(d) LIMITATION.—This section shall not apply with respect to a search or seizure carried out by, or under the authority of, the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.".

Page 3, line 14, strike the close quotation mark and the period which follows.

Page 3, after line 14, insert the following: "(d) LIMITATION.—This section shall not apply with respect to a search or seizure carried out by, or under the authority of, the Internal Revenue Service."

Page 3, line 12, strike "Rule" and insert "Rules".

Page 3, line 14, after "proceeding." insert "Nothing in this section shall be construed so as to violate the fourth article of amendments to the Constitution of the United

The bill, as amended, was ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HOBSON, announced that the yeas had it

Mr. CONYERS demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-