Weldon (FL)

Weldon (PA)

Weller White

Wicker Wilson

Wyden

Young (AK)

Young (FL)

Wolf

Zeliff

Zimmer

Whitfield

Mr. CONYERS demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device.

It was decided in the Yeas 297 affirmative Nays 132

¶22.23[Roll No. 109]

AYES-297 English LoBiondo Allard Archer Ensign Longley Armey Everett Lucas Bachus Manton Ewing Fawell Baesler Manzullo Baker (CA) Fields (TX) Martini Baker (LA) Flanagan Mascara McCollum Ballenger McCrery Barcia Forbes McDade Barr Fowler Barrett (NE) Fox McHale Franks (CT) Bartlett. McHugh Barton Franks (NJ) McInnis Bass Frelinghuysen McIntosh Bateman Frisa McKeon Bentsen Frost Menendez Funderburk Bereuter Metcalf Bevill Gallegly Meyers Mica Bilbray Ganske Bilirakis Gekas Miller (FL) Bliley Geren Molinari Blute Gilchrest Montgomery Boehlert Gillmor Moorhead Gilman Boehner Moran Goodlatte Morella Bonilla Bono Borski Goodling Murtha Gordon Myers Myrick Boucher Goss Brewster Graham Nethercutt Neumann Browder Green Brownback Greenwood Ney Norwood Bryant (TN) Gunderson Bunn Gutknecht Nussle Bunning Hall (TX) Ortiz Burr Hamilton Orton Oxley Burton Hancock Buyer Hansen Packard Callahan Harman Parker Paxon Calvert Hastert Camp Hastings (WA) Payne (VA) Peterson (FL) Canady Hayes Cardin Hayworth Peterson (MN) Castle Hefley Petri Heineman Pickett Chabot Chambliss Herger Pombo Chapman Hilleary Porter Chenoweth Hobson Portman Christensen Hoekstra Poshard Chrysler Hoke Pryce Quillen Holden Clement Coble Hostettler Coburn Radanovich Coleman Hunter Ramstad Collins (GA) Hutchinson Regula Richardson Combest Hvde Condit Inglis Riggs Cooley Istook Roberts Johnson (CT) Costello Roemer Johnson (SD) Cox Rogers Rohrabacher Cramer Johnson, Sam Crane Jones Ros-Lehtinen Crapo Kanjorski Roth Cremeans Kasich Roukema Cubin Kellv Rovce Cunningham Kim Salmon King Danner Sanford Davis Saxton Kingston de la Garza Klink Scarborough Klug Knollenberg Deal Schaefer DeLay Schiff Deutsch Kolbe Schumer Diaz-Balart LaHood Seastrand Dickey Sensenbrenner Largent Dicks Latham Shadegg Dingell Dooley LaTourette Shaw Shays Laughlin Doolittle Lazio Shuster Dornan Leach Sisisky Lewis (CA) Skeen Doyle Dreier Lewis (KY) Skelton Smith (MI) Duncan Lightfoot Lincoln Smith (NJ) Dunn Smith (TX) Edwards Linder Lipinski Ehrlich Smith (WA)

Solomon

Livingston

Souder Spence Spratt Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC)

Abercrombie

Barrett (WI)

Ackerman

Baldacci

Becerra

Berman

Bishop

Bonior

Clay

Clayton Clyburn

Conyers

DeFazio

DeLauro

Dellums

Doggett Durbin

Ehlers

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Fattah

Fields (LA)

Fazio

Filner

Flake

Ford

Furse

Foglietta

Frank (MA)

Gejdenson

Gephardt

Gibbons

Gonzalez

Gutierrez

Farr

Dixon

Coyne

Beilenson

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL)

Brown (OH)

Bryant (TX)

Collins (IL)

Tejeda Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Torricelli Traficant Upton Volkmer Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp

NOES-132

Hall (OH) Obey Hastings (FL) Olver Hefner Owens Hilliard Pallone Hinchey Pastor Payne (NJ) HoyerJackson-Lee Pelosi Jacobs Pomeroy Jefferson Rahall Johnson, E. B. Rangel Johnston Reed Reynolds Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Rivers Kennedy (RI) Rose Roybal-Allard Kennelly Kildee Rush Kleczka Sabo LaFalce Sanders Lantos Sawyer Schroeder Levin Lewis (GA) Scott Lofgren Serrano Lowey Skaggs Slaughter Luther Maloney Stark Markey Stokes Martinez Studds Matsui Thompson McCarthy Thornton McDermott Thurman McKinney Torres McNulty Towns Meehan Tucker Meek Velazquez Mfume Vento Miller (CA) Visclosky Ward Mineta Minge Waters Mink Watt (NC) Moakley Waxman Mollohan Williams Nadler Wise Neal Woolsey

NOT VOTING-5

Wynn

Andrews Collins (MI) Yates Clinger Houghton

Oberstar

So the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

¶22.24 CLERK TO CORRECT ENGROSSMENTS

On motion of Mr. McCOLLUM, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That in the engrossments of the bill (H.R. 665) to control crime by mandatory victim restitution, (H.R. 666) to control crime by exclusionary rule reform, and of the bill (H.R. 729) to control crime by a more effective death penalty, the Clerk be authorized to correct section numbers, punctuation, cross references, and to make other technical corrections.

¶22.25 PROVIDING FOR THE CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 667

Mr. SOLOMON, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 104-25) the resolution (H. Res. 63) providing for the consideration of the

bill (H.R. 667) entitled the "Violent Criminal Incarceration Act"

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

¶22.26 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— NATIONAL EMERGENCY WITH RESPECT TO IRAQ

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. QUINN, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States:

I hereby report to the Congress on the developments since my last report of August 2, 1994, concerning the national emergency with respect to Iraq that was declared in Executive Order No. 12722 of August 2, 1990. This report is submitted pursuant to section 401(c) of the National Emergencies Act, 50 U.S.C. 1641(c), and section 204(c) of the International Emergency Economic Powers Act, 50 U.S.C. 1703(c).

Executive Order No. 12722 ordered the immediate blocking of all property and interests in property of the Government of Iraq (including the Central Bank of Iraq), then or thereafter located in the United States or within the possession or control of a United States person. That order also prohibited the importation into the United States of goods and services of Iraqi origin, as well as the exportation of goods, services, and technology from the United States to Iraq. The order prohibited travel-related transactions to or from Iraq and the performance of any contract in support of any industrial, commercial, or governmental project in Iraq. United States persons were also prohibited from granting or extending credit or loans to the Government of Iraq.

The foregoing prohibitions (as well as the blocking of Government of Iraq property) were continued and augmented on August 9, 1990, by Executive Order No. 12724, which was issued in order to align the sanctions imposed by the United States with United Nations Security Council Resolution 661 of August 6, 1990.

Executive Order No. 12817 was issued on October 21, 1992, to implement in the United States measures adopted in United Nations Security Council Resolution 778 of October 2, 1992. Resolution No. 778 requires U.N. Member States temporarily to transfer to a U.N. escrow account up to \$200 million apiece in Iraqi oil sale proceeds paid by purchasers after the imposition of U.N. sanctions in Iraq, to finance Iraqi's obligations for U.N. activities with respect to Iraq, such as expenses to verify Iraqi weapons destruction, and to provide humanitarian assistance in Iraq on a nonpartisan basis. A portion of the escrowed funds will also fund the activities of the U.N. Compensation Commission in Geneva, which will handle claims from victims of the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait. Member States also may make voluntary contributions to the account. The funds placed in the