Skeen Skelton

Smith (MI)

Smith (NJ) Smith (TX)

Hilleary Hobson McKeon Schiff Metcalf Seastrand Hoekstra Meyers Sensenbrenner Hoke Holden Mica Miller (FL) Shadegg Shaw Molinari Horn Shays Hostettler Montgomery Moorhead Shuster Skeen Houghton Hunter Moran Skelton Smith (MI) Hutchinson Morella Hyde Murtha Smith (NJ) Inglis Smith (TX) Myers Myrick Istook Smith (WA) Johnson (CT) Solomon Nethercutt Johnson (SD) Neumann Souder Ney Norwood Johnson, Sam Spence Jones Stearns Kasich Nussle Stenholm Kelly Orton Stockman Kim Oxley Stump King Packard Tate Tauzin Kingston Klink Parker Paxon Taylor (MS) Payne (VA) Klug Knollenberg Taylor (NC) Peterson (FL) Thomas Kolbe Peterson (MN) Thornberry LaHood Petri Tiahrt Torkildsen Pickett Largent Latham Pombo Torricelli LaTourette Porter Traficant Laughlin Portman Upton Lazio Poshard Volkmer Vucanovich Leach Prvce Lewis (CA) Quillen Waldholtz Lewis (KY) Walker Quinn Lightfoot Radanovich Walsh Ramstad Lincoln Wamp Linder Watts (OK) Regula Lipinski Richardson Weldon (FL) Livingston Riggs Weldon (PA) LoBiondo Roberts Weller White Longley Roemer Whitfield Lucas Rogers Manzullo Rohrabacher Wicker Wilson Martini Ros-Lehtinen Mascara Roth Wolf McCollum Roukema Wyden McCrery Young (AK) Rovce Salmon McDade Young (FL) McHale Sanford Zeliff McHugh Zimmer Saxton Scarborough McIntosh Schaefer

NOT VOTING-3

Andrews

Sisisky Talent

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time.

The Committee rose informally to receive a message from the President.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. LIGHTFOOT, assumed the Chair.

¶22.16 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated to the House by Mr. Edwin Thomas, one of his secretaries.

The Committee resumed its sitting; and after some further time spent therein,

¶22.17 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. COX:

Strike section 104 and insert the following: SEC. 104. EFFECT OF PRIOR STATE CONSIDER-ATION.

- (a) EXHAUSTION of Remedies.—Section 2254(b) of title 28, United States Code, is amended to read as follows:
- (b) An application for a writ of habeas corpus in behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a State court shall not be granted unless it appears that the applicant has exhausted the remedies available in the courts of the State, or that there is either an absence of available State corrective process or the existence of circumstances rendering such process ineffective to protect

the rights of the applicant. An application be denied on the merits notwithstanding the failure of the applicant to exhaust the remedies available in the courts of the State. A State shall not be deemed to have waived the exhaustion requirement or be estopped from reliance upon the requirement unless through its counsel it waives the requirement expressly.

- (b) STANDARD OF DEFERENCE TO STATE JU-DICIAL DECISIONS.—Section 2254 of title 28, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the following:
- (g) An application for a writ of habeas corpus on behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a State court shall not be granted with respect to any claim that was decided on the merits in State proceedings unless the adjudication of
- "(1) resulted in a decision that was based on an arbitrary or unreasonable interpretation of clearly established Federal law as articulated in the decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States:
- '(2) resulted in a decision that was based on an arbitrary or unreasonable application to the facts of clearly established Federal law as articulated in the decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States; or

'(3) resulted in a decision that was based on an arbitrary or unreasonable determination of the facts in light of the evidence presented in the State proceeding.

In the proposed new section 2259(b) of title 28, United States Code, added by section 111, strike "section 2254(d)" and insert "subsections (d) and (g) of section 2254"

It was decided in the Yeas affirmative Nays 140

¶22.18[Roll No. 106]

AYES-291

Allard Coburn Ganske Archer Coleman Gekas Collins (GA) Armey Geren Gilchrest Bachus Combest Baesler Condit Gillmor Baker (CA) Cooley Costello Gilman Baker (LA) Goodlatte Ballenger Goodling Cox Cramer Barcia Gordon Crane Goss Barrett (NE) Crapo Graham Cremeans Bartlett Green Greenwood Barton Cubin Cunningham Gunderson Bass Bateman Gutknecht Danner Bereuter Davis Hall (OH) Bevill Deal Hall (TX) Bilbray Hancock DeLay Bilirakis Deutsch Hansen Diaz-Balart Blilev Harman Blute Dickey Hastert Hastings (WA) Boehlert Dooley Boehner Doolittle Hayes Bonilla Hayworth Dornan Doyle Hefley Bono Borski Dreier Heineman Boucher Duncan Herger Brewster Dunn Hilleary Edwards Browder Hobson Ehlers Brownback Hoekstra Bryant (TN) Ehrlich Hoke Holden Bunn Emerson Bunning English Horn Hostettler Burr Ensign Burton Everett Hunter Ewing Fawell Hutchinson Callahan Hyde Fields (TX) Inglis Calvert Camp Flanagan Istook Folley Canady Jefferson Castle Johnson (SD) Chabot Fowler Johnson, Sam Chambliss Fox Jones Franks (CT) Chapman Kanjorski Chenoweth Franks (NJ) Kaptur Frelinghuysen Christensen Kasich Kelly Chrysler Frisa Clement Frost Kim Funderburk Clinger King

Klink Neumann Klug Nev Knollenberg Norwood Kolbe Nussle LaHood Ortiz Lantos Orton Largent Latham Oxley Packard LaTourette Parker Laughlin Paxon Payne (VA) Lazio Leach Peterson (FL) Lewis (CA) Peterson (MN) Lewis (KY) Petri Lightfoot Pickett Lincoln Pombo Linder Porter Lipinski Portman Livingston Poshard LoBiondo Pryce Longley Quillen Lucas Quinn Manzullo Radanovich Martini Ramstad Mascara Regula McCollum Richardson McCrery Riggs Roberts McDade McHale Roemer McHugh Rogers Rohrabacher McInnis McIntosh Ros-Lehtinen McKeon Roth Roukema Menendez Meyers Royce Mica Salmon Miller (FL) Sanford Minge Saxton Molinari Scarborough Montgomery Schaefer Moorhead Seastrand Sensenbrenner Moran Morella Shadegg Murtha Shaw Shavs Mvers Shuster Nethercutt Sisisky

Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Torricelli Traficant Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Wolf Wyden Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer Pallone

NOES-140

Abercrombie Gutierrez Ackerman Hamilton Pastor Baldacci Hastings (FL) Payne (NJ) Barrett (WI) Hefner Pelosi Hilliard Pomeroy Becerra Beilenson Hinchey Rahall Bentsen Houghton Rangel Berman Hover Reed Reynolds Bishop Jackson-Lee Bonior Jacobs Rivers Brown (CA) Johnson (CT) Rose Brown (FL) Johnson, E. B. Roybal-Allard Brown (OH) Johnston Rush Kennedy (MA) Sabo Bryant (TX) Cardin Kennedy (RI) Sanders Kennelly Sawver Clayton Kildee Schiff Clyburn Kleczka Schroeder Collins (IL) LaFalce Schumer Conyers Levin Scott Lewis (GA) Coyne de la Garza Serrano Lofgren Skaggs Slaughter DeFazio Lowey DeLauro Luther Spratt Dellums Stark Maloney Dicks Manton Stokes Dingell Markey Studds Dixon Martinez Thompson Doggett Matsui Thornton Durbin McCarthy Thurman McDermott Engel Torres McKinney Eshoo Towns Evans McNulty Tucker Meehan Velazquez Fattah Meek Vento Fazio Mfume Visclosky Fields (LA) Miller (CA) Volkmer Mineta Ward Filner Flake Mink Waters Moakley Watt (NC) Foglietta Mollohan Waxman Frank (MA) Nadler Williams Furse Neal Wise Gejdenson Oberstan Woolsey Gephardt Obey Wvnn Olver Gonzalez Owens

Clay

Farr

Ford

NOT VOTING-3

Andrews Collins (MI) Metcalf So the amendment was agreed to.

Kingston

Gallegly