HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Forbes

Fowler

Fox

Frisa

Gallegly

Ganske

Gekas

Geren

Gillmor

Gilman

Gordon

Goss Graham

Green

Hansen

Harman

Hastert

Haves

Hefley

Hefner

Herger Hilleary

Hilliard

Hinchey

Hobson

Holden

Hunter

Hvde

Istook

Jacobs

Jones

Kaptur

Kellv

Kildee

Kim

King

Kleczka

Klink

Kolbe

LaFalce

LaHood

Lantos

Largent

Latham

Lazio

Leach

Levin

Linder

Longley

Manton

Markey

Lucas

Hoke

Horn

Barr

Government. I will ask for Congress's help in these efforts.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON. THE WHITE HOUSE, February 6, 1995.

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on Appropriations and ordered to be printed (H. Doc. 104-3).

\$20.12 LINE-ITEM VETO

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. LIN-DER, pursuant to House Resolution 55 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 2) to give the President item veto authority over appropriations Acts and targeted tax benefits in revenue Acts.

Mr. HOBSON, Acting Chairman, assumed the chair; and after some time spent therein,

The Committee rose informally to receive a message from the President.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. QUINN, assumed the Chair.

\$20.13 FURTHER MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A further message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated to the House by Mr. Edwin Thomas, one of his secretaries

The Committee resumed its sitting; and after some further time spent therein.

\$20.14 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. ORTON:

At the end of section 4, add the following new paragraph:

(5) The term "discretionary budget authority" includes authority to enter into contracts under which the United States is obligated to make outlays, the budget authority for which is not provided in advance by appropriations Acts. (

It was decided in the negative		Yeas 65 Nays 360		
¶20.15	[Roll No. 91]			
AYES-65				
Andrews	Inglis	Rohrabacher		
Barrett (WI)	Johnson (SD)	Royce		
Beilenson	Kasich	Sabo		
Bentsen	Kennedy (MA)	Schroeder		
Berman	Kennedy (RI)	Schumer		
Browder	Lincoln	Sensenbrenner		
Brownback	Lofgren	Serrano		
Bryant (TX)	Lowey	Shays		
Coleman	Luther	Skaggs		
Condit	Maloney	Slaughter		
Dellums	McHale	Smith (MI)		
Doggett	Meehan	Spratt		
Dooley	Miller (CA)	Stenholm		
Durbin	Minge	Tauzin		
Edwards	Obey	Taylor (MS)		
Eshoo	Orton	Visclosky		
Fawell	Pallone	Wilson		
Fazio	Pelosi	Wolf		
Furse	Peterson (FL)	Wyden		
Gibbons	Peterson (MN)	Yates		
Gutierrez	Pomeroy	Zimmer		
Hoyer	Rivers			
NOES—360				
Abercrombie	Armey	Baker (LA)		
Ackerman	Bachus	Baldacci		
Allard	Baesler	Ballenger		

Baker (CA)

Barcia

Archei

Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton Bass Bateman Bereuter Bevill Bilbray Bilirakis Bishop Blilev Blute Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Bonior Bono Borski Boucher Brewster Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bunn Bunning Burr Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Cardin Castle Chabot Chambliss Chapman Chenoweth Christensen Chrvsler Clay Clayton Clement Clinger Clyburn Coble Coburn Collins (GA) Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Combest Convers Cooley Costello Cox Coyne Cramer Crane Crapo Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Danner Davis de la Garza Deal DeFazio DeLauro DeLav Deutsch Diaz-Balart Dickey Dicks Dingell Dixon Doolittle Dornan Dovle Dreier Duncan Dunn Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson Engel English Ensign Evans Everett Ewing Farr Fattah Fields (LA) Fields (TX) Filner Flake Flanagan Foglietta Foley

Martinez Martini Frank (MA) Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Funderburk Gejdenson Gephardt Meek Gilchrest Gonzalez Mfume Goodlatte Mica Goodling Mink Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Moran Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Hamilton Myers Hancock Nadler Neal Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Nev Hayworth Nussle Olver Heineman Ortiz Owens Oxley Parker Pastor Hoekstra Paxon Petri Hostettler Houghton Pombo Porter Hutchinson Pryce Jackson-Lee Quinn Johnson (CT) Johnson, E. B. Rahall Johnson, Sam Johnston Rangel Reed Kanjorski Regula Kennelly Riggs Rogers Kingston Rose Roth Klug Knollenberg Rush Saxton LaTourette Laughlin Schiff Scott Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Shaw Lewis (KY Lightfoot Skeen Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Souder Manzullo Spence Stark

Mascara Matsui McCarthy McCollum McCrery McDermott McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon McKinney McNulty Menendez Metcalf Meyers Miller (FL) Mineta Moakley Molinari Montgomery Moorhead Morella Murtha Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Norwood Oberstar Packard Payne (NJ) Pavne (VA) Pickett Portman Poshard Quillen Radanovich Ramstad Reynolds Richardson Roberts Roemer Ros-Lehtinen Roukema Roybal-Allard Salmon Sanders Sanford Sawyer Scarborough Schaefer Seastrand Shadegg Shuster Sisisky Skelton Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon

Stearns	Tiahrt	Waters		
Stockman	Torkildsen	Watt (NC)		
Stokes	Torres	Waxman		
Studds	Torricelli	Weldon (FL)		
Stump	Towns	Weldon (PA)		
Stupak	Traficant	Weller		
Talent	Upton	White		
Tanner	Velazquez	Whitfield		
Tate	Vento	Wicker		
Taylor (NC)	Volkmer	Williams		
Tejeda	Vucanovich	Wise		
Thomas	Waldholtz	Woolsey		
Thompson	Walker	Wynn		
Thornberry	Walsh	Young (AK)		
Thornton	Wamp	Young (FL)		
Thurman	Ward	Zeliff		
NOT VOTING—9				
Becerra Bryant (TN) Ford	Frost Jefferson McDade	Mollohan Tucker Watts (OK)		

So the amendment was not agreed to.

\$20.16 RECORDED VOTE

Foglietta

Frank (MA)

Ackerman

Allard Andrews

Archer

Armey

Bachus

Baesler

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Ms. WATERS:

The first sentence of paragraph (3) of section 4 is amended by inserting "or which the President determines would yield at least 20 percent of its benefit to the top 1 percent of income earners'' before the period.

It was decided in the		Yeas 144
negative		Nays 280
negative		1 ays 200
¶20.17	[Roll No. 92	1
	AYES-144	1
	ATES-144	
Abercrombie	Furse	Neal
Baldacci	Gejdenson	Oberstar
Barcia	Gephardt	Obey
Barrett (WI)	Gibbons	Olver
Beilenson	Gonzalez	Owens
Bentsen	Gordon	Pallone
Berman	Green	Pastor
Bevill	Gutierrez	Payne (NJ)
Bishop	Hamilton	Pelosi
Bonior	Hastings (FL)	Pomeroy
Brewster	Hilliard	Rahall
Browder	Hinchey	Rangel
Brown (CA)	Jackson-Lee	Reed
Brown (FL)	Johnson (SD)	Reynolds
Brown (OH)	Johnson, E. B.	Rivers
Bryant (TX)	Johnston	Roybal-Allard
Chapman	Kanjorski	Rush
Clay	Kaptur	Sabo
Clayton	Kennedy (MA)	Sanders
Clement	Kennedy (RI)	Schroeder
Clyburn	Kildee	Scott
Coleman	Kleczka Klink	Serrano
Collins (IL)	LaFalce	Skaggs
Collins (MI)		Slaughter Stark
Conyers	Lantos	Stenholm
Coyne Cramer	Lewis (GA)	Stokes
Danner	Lincoln	Studds
Deal	Lofgren Luther	
DeFazio	Manton	Stupak Taylor (MS)
DeLauro	Markey	Thompson
Dellums	Martinez	Thurman
Dingell	Mascara	Torres
Dixon	McCarthy	Towns
Doggett	McDermott	Traficant
Doyle	McKinney	Velazquez
Durbin	Meehan	Vento
Engel	Meek	Volkmer
Eshoo	Menendez	Ward
Evans	Mfume	Waters
Farr	Miller (CA)	Watt (NC)
Fattah	Mineta	Waxman
Fazio	Minge	Williams
Fields (LA)	Mink	Wise
Filner	Moakley	Woolsey
Flake	Mollohan	Wyden

NOES-280

Wynn

Yates

Bass

Bateman

Bereuter

Bilirakis

Bilbray

Bliley

Blute

Montgomery

Nadler

Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Ballenger Barr Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton

20.17