Martinez

Martini

Mascara

McCarthy

McCollum

McDermott

McCrery

McHugh

McInnis

Matsui

Forbes

Fowler

Frank (MA)

Franks (CT)

Fox

Government. I will ask for Congress's help in these efforts.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON. THE WHITE HOUSE, February 6, 1995.

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on Appropriations and ordered to be printed (H. Doc. 104-3).

¶20.12 LINE-ITEM VETO

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. LIN-DER, pursuant to House Resolution 55 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 2) to give the President item veto authority over appropriations Acts and targeted tax benefits in revenue Acts.

Mr. HOBSON, Acting Chairman, assumed the chair; and after some time spent therein,

The Committee rose informally to receive a message from the President.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. QUINN, assumed the Chair.

¶20.13 FURTHER MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A further message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated to the House by Mr. Edwin Thomas, one of his secretaries

The Committee resumed its sitting; and after some further time spent therein.

¶20.14 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. ORTON:

At the end of section 4, add the following new paragraph:

(5) The term "discretionary budget authority" includes authority to enter into contracts under which the United States is obligated to make outlays, the budget authority for which is not provided in advance by appropriations Acts.

It was decided in the Yeas Nays 360 negative

920.15[Roll No. 91] AYES-65

Andrews Inglis Rohrabacher Barrett (WI) Johnson (SD) Royce Sabo Beilenson Kasich Bentsen Kennedy (MA) Schroeder Berman Kennedy (RI) Schumer Sensenbrenner Browder Lincoln Brownback Lofgren Serrano Lowey Luther Bryant (TX) Shays Coleman Skaggs Condit Maloney Slaughter Smith (MI) Dellums McHale Doggett Meehan Spratt Miller (CA) Stenholm Durbin Minge Tauzin Obey Taylor (MS) Edwards Eshoo Orton Visclosky Fawell Pallone Wilson Fazio Pelosi Wolf Peterson (FL) Furse Gibbons Wyden Peterson (MN) Yates Gutierrez Pomeroy Zimmer

NOES-360

Abercrombie Armey Baker (LA) Bachus Baldacci Ackerman Allard Baesler Ballenger Baker (CA)

Rivers

Hoyer

Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton Bass Bateman Bereuter Bevill Bilbray Bilirakis Bishop Bliley Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Bonior Bono Borski Boucher Brewster Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bunn Bunning Burr Burton Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Cardin Castle Chabot Chambliss Chapman Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clay Clayton Clement Clinger Clyburn Coble Coburn Collins (GA) Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Combest Convers Cooley Costello Cox Coyne Cramer Crane Crapo Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Danner Davis de la Garza Deal DeFazio DeLauro DeLav Deutsch Diaz-Balart Dickey Dicks Dingell Dixon Doolittle Dornan Dovle Dreier Duncan Dunn Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson Engel English Ensign Evans Everett Ewing Fattah

Fields (LA)

Fields (TX)

Filner

Flake

Foley

Flanagan

Foglietta

Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Funderburk Gallegly Ganske Gejdenson Gephardt Geren Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gonzalez Goodlatte Goodling Gordon Goss Graham Green Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hamilton Hancock Hansen Harman Hastert Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Hefner Heineman Herger Hilleary Hilliard Hinchey Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Holden Horn Hostettler Houghton Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Istook Jackson-Lee Jacobs Johnson (CT) Johnson, E. B. Johnson, Sam Johnston Jones Kanjorski Kaptur Kellv Kennelly Kildee Kim King Kingston Kleczka Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaFalce LaHood Lantos Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Lewis (KY Lightfoot Linder Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Longley Lucas

McIntosh McKeon McKinney McNulty Meek Menendez Metcalf Meyers Mfume Mica Miller (FL) Mineta Mink Moakley Molinari Montgomery Moorhead Moran Morella Murtha Mvers Myrick Nadler Neal Nethercutt Neumann Nev Norwood Nussle Oberstar Olver Owens Oxley Packard Parker Pastor Paxon Payne (NJ) Pavne (VA) Petri Pickett Pombo Porter Portman Poshard Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Rangel Reed Regula Richardson Riggs Roberts Roemer Rogers Ros-Lehtinen Rose Roth Roukema Roybal-Allard Rush Salmon Sanders Sanford Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Scott Seastrand Shadegg Shaw Shuster Sisisky Skelton Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon

Stearns Stockman Stokes Studds Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas Thompson Thornberry Thornton Thurman Becerra Bryant (TN)

Torricelli Towns Traficant Upton Velazquez Vento Volkmer Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Ward FrostJefferson McDade

Tiahrt Torkildsen

Waters Watt (NC) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Williams Wise Woolsey Wynn Young (AK) Young (FL)

NOT VOTING-

Mollohan Tucker Watts (OK)

So the amendment was not agreed to.

¶20.16 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Ms. WATERS:

The first sentence of paragraph (3) of section 4 is amended by inserting "or which the President determines would yield at least 20 percent of its benefit to the top 1 percent of income earners" before the period.

It was decided in the Yeas negative Nays 280

920.17[Roll No. 92]

Barcia

Bentsen

Berman

Revill

Bishop

Bonior

Clay

Clayton

Clement

Conyers

Covne

Cramer

Danner

Dellums

Dingell

Doggett

Durbin

Engel

Evans

Fattah

Fazio

Filner

Flake

Foglietta

Frank (MA)

Farr

Dixon

Deal

AYES-144

Abercrombie Furse Baldacci Gejdenson Gephardt Barrett (WI) Gibbons Beilenson Gonzalez Gordon Green Gutierrez Hamilton Hastings (FL) Brewster Hilliard Browder Hinchey Brown (CA) Jackson-Lee Brown (FL) Johnson (SD) Brown (OH) Johnson, E. B. Bryant (TX) Johnston Chapman Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Clyburn Kildee Coleman Kleczka Collins (IL) Klink LaFalce Collins (MI) Lantos Lewis (GA) Lincoln Lofgren Luther DeFazio Manton Del.auro Markey Martinez McCarthy McDermott McKinney Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Fields (LA) Mink Moakley

Owens Pallone Payne (NJ) Pelosi Pomeroy Rahall Rangel Reynolds Rivers Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Schroeder Scott Serrano Skaggs Slaughter Stark Stenholm Stokes Studds Stupak Taylor (MS) Thompson Thurman Towns Traficant Velazquez Vento Volkmer Ward Waters

Neal

Obey

Olver

Oberstar

NOES-280

Mollohan

Nadler

Montgomery

Ackerman Baker (CA) Allard Andrews Baker (LA) Ballenger Archer Barr Barrett (NE) Armey Bartlett Bachus

Bateman Bereuter Bilbray Bilirakis Bliley

Watt (NC)

Williams

Woolsey

Wyden

Wynn

Yates

Wise

Souder

Spence

Manton

Manzullo