# ¶19.10

Obey Olver

Ortiz

Orton

Owens

Pastor

Peľosi

Pickett

Porter

Poshard

Rangel

Reed

Rivers

Roemer

Rose

Rush

Sabo

Fox

Goss

Kim

King

Lazio

Leach

Schaefer

Schiff

Sanders

Sawyer

#### Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee LaFalce Lantos Levin Lewis (GA) Lincoln Lipinski Lofgren Lowey Maloney Manton Markey Mascara Matsui McDermott McKinney McNulty Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Mollohan Montgomery Moran Myers Nadler Neal Oberstar

Skaggs Skelton Slaughter Spratt Stark Stearns Payne (NJ) Stenholm Payne (VA) Stokes Studds Peterson (FL) Stupak Tanner Taylor (MS) Pomeroy Tejeda Thompson Thornton Thurman Reynolds Torricelli Richardson Towns Tucker Velazquez Vento Roukema Visclosky Roybal-Allard Volkmer Williams Wilson Wise Woolsey Schroeder Wyden Schumer Wynn

## NOES-246

Abercrombie Allard Andrews Archer Armey Bachus Baesler Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Barr Barrett (NE) Barrett (WI) Barton Bass Bateman Bereuter Bilbray Bilirakis Bliley Blute Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Bono Brownback Bryant (TN) Bunn Bunning Burr Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Chabot Chambliss Chapman Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clinger Coble Coburn Combest Condit Cooley Cox Covne Crane Crapo Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Davis Deal Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson English

Scott Yates Serrano Ensign Lewis (CA) Evans Lewis (KY) Everett Lightfoot Ewing Linder Livingston LoBiondo Fawell Flanagan Foley Longley Forbes Lucas Fowler Luther Manzullo Franks (CT) Martinez Franks (NJ) Martini Frelinghuysen McCarthy Frisa Funderburk McCollum McCrery Gallegly McDade Ganske McHale Gekas McHugh Geren McInnis Gilchrest McIntosh Gillmor McKeon Goodlatte Meehan Goodling Metcalf Meyers Graham Mica Miller (FL) Greenwood Gunderson Minge Gutierrez Mink Gutknecht Molinari Hall (TX) Moorhead Hancock Morella Murtha Hansen Hastert Myrick Hastings (WA) Nethercutt Neumann Hayworth Hefley Ney Norwood Heineman Nussle Herger Hilleary Oxley Hobson Packard Hoekstra Pallone Hoke Parker Horn Paxon Hostettler Peterson (MN) Houghton Petri Pombo Hunter Hutchinson Portman Hyde Pryce Inglis Quillen Johnson (CT) Quinn Radanovich Johnson, Sam Jones Rahall Kasich Ramstad Regula Riggs Roberts Kingston Rogers Rohrabacher Kleczka Klink Klug Knollenberg Ros-Lehtinen Roth Kolbe Royce LaHood Saľmon Latham Sanford LaTourette Saxton Scarborough Laughlin

# JOURNAL OF THE

Danner

Seastrand	Talent	Wamp
Sensenbrenner	Tate	Ward
Shadegg	Tauzin	Watt (NC)
Shaw	Taylor (NC)	Watts (OK)
Shays	Thomas	Weldon (FL)
Shuster	Thornberry	Weldon (PA)
Skeen	Tiahrt	Weller
Smith (MI)	Torkildsen	White
Smith (NJ)	Torres	Whitfield
Smith (TX)	Traficant	Wicker
Smith (WA)	Upton	Wolf
Solomon	Vucanovich	Young (AK)
Souder	Waldholtz	Young (FL)
Spence	Walker	Zeliff
Stump	Walsh	Zimmer
NOT VOTING-21		
Ballenger	de la Garza	Kelly
Bartlett	DeLay	Largent
Becerra	Deutsch	Moakley
Brewster	Fields (TX)	Sisisky
Collins (GA)	Gibbons	Stockman
Collins (MI)	Istook	Waters

So the amendment in the nature of a substitute was not agreed to.

Waxman

Johnston

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. LAHOOD, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. BOEHNER, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

**19.10** NOTICE REQUIREMENT— CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION-QUESTION OF PRIVILEGES OF THE HOUSE

Mr. TAYLOR of Mississippi, pursuant to clause 2(a)(1) of rule IX, announced his intention to call up the resolution (H. Res. 57) to preserve the constitutional role of the House of Representatives to provide for the expenditure of public money and ensure that the executive branch of the United States Government remains accountable to the House of Representatives for each expenditure of public money, as a question of the privileges of the House.

¶19.11 ADJOURNMENT OVER

On motion of Mr. GOSS, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet at 12:30 p.m. on Monday, February 6, 1995.

**19.12** CALENDAR WEDNESDAY BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

On motion of Mr. GOSS, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That business in order for consideration on Wednesday, February 6, 1995, under clause 7, rule XXIV, the Calendar Wednesday rule, be dispensed with.

**19.13** ORDER OF BUSINESS—FURTHER CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 2

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That during further consideration of the bill (H.R. 2) to give the President item veto authority over appropriations Acts and targeted tax benefits in revenue Acts, pursuant to House Resolution 55, the chairman of the Committee of the Whole may postpone until a time during further consideration in the Committee of the Whole a request for a recorded vote on any amendment; and that the chairman of the Committee of the Whole may reduce to not less than five minutes the time for voting by electronic device on any postponed question that immediately follows another vote by electronic device without intervening business, provided that the time for voting by electronic device on the first in any series of questions shall be not less than 15 minutes.

19.14 ORDER OF BUSINESS— AMENDMENTS DURING FURTHER CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 2

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That during further consideration the bill (H.R. 2) to give the President item veto authority over appropriations Acts and targeted tax benefits in revenue Acts, under the fiveminute rule in the Committee of the Whole House on Monday, February 6, 1995, only six amendments, if offered, be considered; that time for debate be equally divided between proponents and opponents of the amendments with the debate not to exceed time allotted, as follows: Mr. Orton, one hour; Ms. Waters, 30 minutes; Mr. Tauzin, 30 minutes; and Mr. Traficant, 30 minutes; and that no amendments to the amendments may be offered; and

Ordered further, That two amendments in the nature of substitutes, one by Ms. Slaughter and one by Mr. Stenholm, also be considered, if offered; that time for debate be equally divided between proponents and opponents with debate not to exceed one hour for each substitute; that the substitute of Mr. Stenholm not be offered before 5 o'clock p.m.; and that no amendments to the substitutes be offered.

**19.15** LEAVE OF ABSENCE

By unanimous consent, leave of absence was granted-

To Mr. BARTLETT, for today;

To Mr. STOCKMAN, for today after 11 a.m.:

To Mr. KELLY, for today;

To Mr. MCNULTY, for today after 2 p.m.; and

To Mr. SISISKY, for today.

And then,

¶19.16 ADJOURNMENT

On motion of Mr. FOLEY, pursuant to the special order heretofore agreed to, at 4 o'clock and 13 minutes p.m., the House adjourned until 12:30 p.m. on Monday, February 6, 1995.

### **¶19.17** PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 5 of rule X and clause 4 of rule XXII, public bills and resolutions were introduced and severally referred as follows:

By Mr. BAESLER:

H.R. 813. A bill to authorize the Secretary of Agriculture to establish a pilot program to evaluate the feasibility of county-based rural development boards, develop a strategy for adopton of national rural goals and objectives, establish a training program for local county board leaders, providing roles and responsibilities for State rural development councils, substate regional organizations, and 1862 and 1890 land grant institutions, and establish a grant program for financing various rural and small community develop-