Kennedy (RI) Obey Olver Kennelly Kildee Ortiz LaFalce Orton Owens Lantos Levin Pastor Lewis (GA) Lincoln Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Lipinski Pelosi Peterson (FL) Lofgren Lowey Pickett Maloney Pomeroy Manton Porter Markey Poshard Mascara Rangel Matsui Reed McDermott Reynolds McKinney Richardson McNulty Rivers Meek Roemer Menendez Rose Roukema Mfume Miller (CA) Roybal-Allard Mineta Rush Mollohan Sabo Sanders Montgomery Moran Sawyer Schroeder Myers Nådler Schumer Neal Scott

Oberstar

Skaggs Skelton Slaughter Spratt Stark Stearns Stenholm Stokes Studds Stupak Tanner Taylor (MS) Tejeda Thompson Thornton Thurman Torricelli Towns Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Williams Wilson Woolsey Wyden Wynn Yates

NOES-246

Serrano

Abercrombie Ensign Lewis (CA) Allard Evans Lewis (KY) Andrews Everett Lightfoot Archer Ewing Linder Livingston LoBiondo Fawell Armey Bachus Flanagan Foley Baesler Longley Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Forbes Lucas Fowler Luther Barr Fox Manzullo Franks (CT) Barrett (NF) Martinez Franks (NJ) Barrett (WI) Martini Frelinghuysen McCarthy Barton Frisa Funderburk Bass McCollum Bateman McCrery Gallegly Bereuter McDade Bilbray Ganske McHale Bilirakis Gekas McHugh Bliley Geren McInnis Gilchrest McIntosh Blute Boehlert Gillmor McKeon Boehner Goodlatte Meehan Goodling Bonilla Metcalf Bono Goss Meyers Brownback Graham Mica Bryant (TN) Miller (FL) Greenwood Gunderson Minge Bunning Gutierrez Mink Gutknecht Molinari Burr Buyer Hall (TX) Moorhead Callahan Hancock Morella Calvert Murtha Hansen Camp Hastert Myrick Hastings (WA) Canady Nethercutt Castle Neumann Hayworth Chabot Hefley Ney Norwood Chambliss Heineman Chapman Nussle Herger Chenoweth Hilleary Oxley Christensen Hobson Packard Hoekstra Pallone Chrysler Hoke Clinger Parker Paxon Coble Horn Coburn Hostettler Peterson (MN) Combest Houghton Petri Pombo Condit Hunter Cooley Hutchinson Portman Cox Hyde Pryce Inglis Covne Quillen Crane Johnson (CT) Quinn Radanovich Crapo Johnson, Sam Cremeans Jones Rahall Cubin Kasich Ramstad Cunningham Kim Regula Davis Riggs King Roberts Deal Kingston Diaz-Balart Rogers Rohrabacher Kleczka

Klink

Kolbe

LaHood

Latham

Laughlin

Lazio

Leach

Klug Knollenberg

LaTourette

Ros-Lehtinen

Scarborough

Roth

Royce

Salmon

Sanford

Saxton

Schaefer

Schiff

Dickey Doolittle

Dornan

Dreier

Dunn

Ehlers

Ehrlich

English

Emerson

Duncan

Seastrand Talent Wamp Ward Sensenbrenner Tate Tauzin Watt (NC) Shadegg Taylor (NC) Thomas Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Shaw Shays Thornberry Weldon (PA) Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Tiahrt. Weller Torkildsen White Smith (NJ) Torres Whitfield Smith (TX) Traficant Wicker Wolf Smith (WA) Upton Solomon Vucanovich Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Souder Waldholtz Walker Spence Stump Walsh Zimmer

NOT VOTING-21

Ballenger	de la Garza	Kelly
Bartlett	DeLay	Largent
Becerra	Deutsch	Moakley
Brewster	Fields (TX)	Sisisky
Collins (GA)	Gibbons	Stockman
Collins (MI)	Istook	Waters
Danner	Johnston	Waxman

So the amendment in the nature of a substitute was not agreed to.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. LAHOOD, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. BOEHNER, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶19.10 NOTICE REQUIREMENT— CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION— QUESTION OF PRIVILEGES OF THE HOUSE

Mr. TAYLOR of Mississippi, pursuant to clause 2(a)(1) of rule IX, announced his intention to call up the resolution (H. Res. 57) to preserve the constitutional role of the House of Representatives to provide for the expenditure of public money and ensure that the executive branch of the United States Government remains accountable to the House of Representatives for each expenditure of public money, as a question of the privileges of the House.

¶19.11 ADJOURNMENT OVER

On motion of Mr. GOSS, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet at 12:30 p.m. on Monday, February 6, 1995.

¶19.12 CALENDAR WEDNESDAY BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

On motion of Mr. GOSS, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That business in order for consideration on Wednesday, February 6, 1995, under clause 7, rule XXIV, the Calendar Wednesday rule, be dispensed

¶19.13 ORDER OF BUSINESS—FURTHER CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 2

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That during further consideration of the bill (H.R. 2) to give the President item veto authority over appropriations Acts and targeted tax benefits in revenue Acts, pursuant to House Resolution 55, the chairman of the Committee of the Whole may postpone until a time during further consideration in the Committee of the Whole a request for a recorded vote on any amendment; and that the chairman of the Committee of the Whole may reduce to not less than five minutes the time for voting by electronic device on any postponed question that immediately follows another vote by electronic device without intervening business, provided that the time for voting by electronic device on the first in any series of questions shall be not less than 15 minutes.

¶19.14 ORDER OF BUSINESS— AMENDMENTS DURING FURTHER CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 2

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That during further consideration the bill $(H.R.\ 2)$ to give the President item veto authority over appropriations Acts and targeted tax benefits in revenue Acts, under the fiveminute rule in the Committee of the Whole House on Monday, February 6, 1995, only six amendments, if offered, be considered; that time for debate be equally divided between proponents and opponents of the amendments with the debate not to exceed time allotted, as follows: Mr. Orton, one hour; Ms. Waters, 30 minutes; Mr. Tauzin, 30 minutes; and Mr. Traficant, 30 minutes; and that no amendments to the amendments may be offered; and

Ordered further, That two amendments in the nature of substitutes, one by Ms. Slaughter and one by Mr. Stenholm, also be considered, if offered; that time for debate be equally divided between proponents and opponents with debate not to exceed one hour for each substitute; that the substitute of Mr. Stenholm not be offered before 5 o'clock p.m.; and that no amendments

to the substitutes be offered.

¶19.15 LEAVE OF ABSENCE

By unanimous consent, leave of absence was granted-

To Mr. BARTLETT, for today;

To Mr. STOCKMAN, for today after 11 a.m.:

To Mr. KELLY, for today;

To Mr. McNulty, for today after 2 p.m.; and

To Mr. SISISKY, for today. And then,

¶19.16 ADJOURNMENT

On motion of Mr. FOLEY, pursuant to the special order heretofore agreed to, at 4 o'clock and 13 minutes p.m., the House adjourned until 12:30 p.m. on Monday, February 6, 1995.

¶19.17 PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 5 of rule X and clause 4 of rule XXII, public bills and resolutions were introduced and severally referred as follows:

By Mr. BAESLER:

H.R. 813. A bill to authorize the Secretary of Agriculture to establish a pilot program to evaluate the feasibility of county-based rural development boards, develop a strategy for adopton of national rural goals and objectives, establish a training program for local county board leaders, providing roles and responsibilities for State rural development councils, substate regional organizations, and 1862 and 1890 land grant institutions, and establish a grant program for financing various rural and small community develop-