consideration of the bill (H.R. 101) to transfer a parcel of land to the Taos Pueblo Indians of New Mexico. The first reading of the bill shall be dispensed with. General debate shall be confined to the bill and shall not exceed one hour equally divided and controlled by the chairman and ranking minority member of the Committee on Resources. After general debate the bill shall be considered for amendment under the five-minute rule. Each section shall be considered as read. At the conclusion of consideration of the bill for amendment the Committee shall rise and report the bill to the House with such amendments as may have been adopted. The previous question shall be considered as ordered on the bill and amendments thereto to final passage without intervening motion except one motion to recommit.

When said resolution was considered. Mrs. WALDHOLTZ submitted the following amendment which was, by unanimous consent, agreed to:

On page 2, beginning on line 5, strike "Each section shall be considered as read." and insert the following: "It shall be in order to consider as an original bill for the purpose of amendment under the five-minute rule the amendment in the nature of a substitute recommended by the Committee on Resources now printed in the bill. The committee amendment in the nature of a substitute shall be considered as read.".

On page 2, line 9, insert before the last sentence of the resolution the following new sentence: "Any Member may demand a separate vote in the House on any amendment adopted in the Committee of the Whole to the bill or to the committee amendment in the nature of a substitute.".

On page 2, line 12, insert before the period at the end of the last sentence of the resolution the following: "with or without instructions"

After debate.

On motion of Mrs. WALDHOLTZ, the previous question was ordered on the resolution, as amended, to its adoption or rejection and under the operation thereof, the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution, as amended, was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶17.16 ARCTIC NATIONAL PARK AND PRESERVE LAND EXCHANGE

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. UPTON, pursuant to House Resolution 52 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 400) to provide for the exchange of lands within Gates of the Arctic National Park and Preserve, and for other purposes.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. UPTON, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. HASTERT as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole; and after some time spent therein,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. UPTON, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. HASTERT, Chairman, pursuant to House Resolution 52, reported the bill back to the House.

The previous question having been ordered by said resolution.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. UPTON, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. MILLER of California objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

¶17.17 [Roll No. 84] YEAS—427

Abercrombie Coyne Goodling Ackerman Cramer Gordon Allard Crane Goss Graham Andrews Crapo Archer Cremeans Green Greenwood Armey Cubin Cunningham Gunderson Bachus Baesler Danner Gutierrez Baker (CA) Davis Gutknecht de la Garza Baker (LA) Hall (TX) Hamilton Baldacci Deal DeFazio Ballenger Hancock Barcia DeLauro Hansen Barr DeLay Harman Barrett (NE) Dellums Hastert Barrett (WI) Hastings (FL) Deutsch Barton Diaz-Balart Dickey Hastings (WA) Hayes Bass Bateman Hayworth Dicks Dingell Beilenson Hefley Hefner Bentsen Dixon Doggett Heineman Bereuter Dooley Doolittle Herger Hilleary Berman Bevill Bilbray Dornan Hilliard Bilirakis Doyle Hinchey Bishop Dreier Hobson Bliley Duncan Hoekstra Blute Dunn Hoke Holden Boehlert Durbin Boehner Edwards Horn Hostettler Bonilla Ehlers Ehrlich Bonior Houghton Bono Emerson Hoyer Borski Hunter Engel English Hutchinson Boucher Brewster Ensign Hyde Browder Eshoo Inglis Evans Istook Brown (FL) Everett Jackson-Lee Brown (OH) Jacobs Ewing Brownback Jefferson Fattah Johnson (CT) Bryant (TN) Fawell Johnson (SD) Bryant (TX) Johnson, E.B. Fazio Fields (LA) Bunning Johnson Sam Fields (TX) Johnston Burr Burton Filner Jones Buver Flake Kaniorski Callahan Flanagan Kaptur Foglietta Calvert Kasich Kellv Camp Foley Canady Forbes Kennedy (MA) Cardin Ford Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Castle Fowler Chabot Fox Kildee Frank (MA) Chambliss Kim Franks (CT) King Chapman Franks (NJ) Chenoweth Kingston Christensen Frelinghuysen Kleczka Klink Chrysler Frisa Clayton Frost Klug Knollenberg Funderburk Clement Clinger Kolbe Furse Gallegly LaFalce Clyburn Coble Ganske LaHood Coleman Gejdenson Lantos Collins (GA) Largent Gephardt Collins (IL) Latham Collins (MI) LaTourette Geren Laughlin Combest Gibbons Gilchrest Condit Lazio Conyers Gillmor Leach Cooley Costello Gilman Levin Lewis (CA) Gonzalez

Lewis (KY) Packard Pallone Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Lightfoot Parker Solomon Linder Pastor Souder Lipinski Paxon Spence Payne (NJ) Livingston Spratt LoBiondo Payne (VA) Pelosi Stearns Lofgren Stenholm Longley Peterson (FL) Stockman Lowey Peterson (MN) Stokes Petri Studds Lucas Luther Pickett Stump Maloney Pombo Stupak Manton Pomeroy Talent Manzullo Porter Tanner Markey Martinez Portman Tate Poshard Tauzin Martini Pryce Taylor (MS) Quillen Taylor (NC) Mascara Matsui Tejeda Quinn McCarthy Radanovich Thomas McCollum Rahall Thompson McCrery Ramstad Thornberry McDade Rangel Thornton McDermott Reed Thurman McHale Regula Tiahrt Torkildsen McHugh Reynolds McInnis Richardson Torres McIntosh Riggs Torricelli McKeon Rivers Towns McKinney Roberts Traficant McNulty Roemer Tucker Meehan Rogers Unton Rohrabacher Meek . Velazquez Menendez Ros-Lehtinen Vento Visclosky Metcalf Rose Roth Volkmer Meyers Mfume Roukema Vucanovich Roybal-Allard Waldholtz Mica Miller (CA) Royce Walker Miller (FL) Rush Walsh Mineta Sabo Wamp Minge Salmon Ward Mink Sanders Waters Moaklev Watt (NC) Sanford Watts (OK) Molinari Sawyer Mollohan Saxton Waxman Weldon (FL) Scarborough Montgomery Moorhead Schaefer Weldon (PA) Moran Schiff Weller Schroeder White Morella Myers Myrick Schumer Whitfield Wicker Scott Nadler Seastrand Williams Wilson Neal Sensenbrenner Nethercutt Serrano Wise Neumann Shadegg Wolf Ney Shaw Woolsey Norwood Wyden Wynn Shavs Nussle Shuster Oberstar Sisisky Yates Obev Skaggs Young (AK) Young (FL) Skeen Ortiz Skelton Zeliff

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Coburn

Slaughter

Smith (MI)

Smith (NJ)

NOT VOTING—6

Zimmer

Bartlett Clay Murtha Becerra Hall (OH) Stark

So the bill was passed.

Orton

Owens

Oxley

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

¶17.18 LAND CONVEYANCE IN BUTTE COUNTY, CALIFORNIA

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. UPTON, pursuant to House Resolution 53 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 440) to provide for the conveyance of lands to certain individuals in Butte County, California.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. UPTON, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. HASTERT as Chairman of

Lewis (GA)

Goodlatte