Shadegg Stump Wamp Watts (OK) Shaw Talent Weldon (FL) Shavs Tate Weldon (PA) Weller Shuster Tauzin Taylor (MS) Skeen White Skelton Taylor (NC) Whitfield Smith (MI) Thomas Wicker Smith (NJ) Thornberry Wolf Smith (TX) Tiahrt Young (AK) Young (FL) Torkildsen Smith (WA) Solomon Unton Zeliff Vucanovich Souder Zimmer Waldholtz Spence Stearns Walker Stockman Walsh

#### NOES-173

Abercrombie Hefner Pastor Payne (NJ) Hilliard Ackerman Baldacci Hinchey Payne (VA) Barrett (WI) Holden Pelosi Peterson (FL) Bateman Hostettler Becerra Houghton Pickett Beilenson Hoyer Jackson-Lee Pomeroy Bentsen Porter Bereuter Jacobs Rahall Berman Johnson (CT) Rangel Boehlert Johnson (SD) Reed Johnson, E. B. Reynolds Bonior Borski Johnston Richardson Kanjorski Boucher Rivers Brown (FL) Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Bryant (TX) Cardin Roukema Roybal-Allard Kennedy (RI) Clay Kennelly Sabo Clayton Clyburn Kildee Sanders Kleczka Sawyer Coleman Klink Schroeder LaFalce Collins (IL) Schumer Collins (MI) Lantos Scott Conyers Levin Serrano Lewis (GA) Costello Sisisky Coyne Lipinski Skaggs DeFazio Lofgren Slaughter DeLauro Lowey Luther Spratt Dellums Deutsch Maloney Stenholm Dicks Manton Stokes Dingell Markey Studds Dixon Martinez Stupak Doggett Mascara Tanner McCarthy Tejeda Durbin McDermott Thompson McHale Thornton Engel McKinney Thurman Evans McNulty Torres Meehan Torricelli Farr Fattah Meek Traficant Fazio Menendez Tucker Filner Mfume Velazquez Miller (CA) Flake Vento Visclosky Foglietta Mineta Ford Minge Volkmer Frank (MA) Mink Ward Moakley Waters Frost Furse Mollohan Watt (NC) Waxman Williams Gejdenson Moran Genhardt Murtha Gibbons Nadler Wilson Gonzalez Neal Wise Woolsey Green Oberstan Gutierrez Obey Wyden Hall (OH) Olver Wynn Hamilton Ortiz Yates Hastings (FL) Owens

# NOT VOTING—9

Bishop Fields (LA) Morella Brown (CA) Jefferson Rush Cox Matsui Towns

So the committee amendment in the nature of a substitute was agreed to.

After some further time,

## ¶13.8 CALL IN COMMITTEE

Mr. WALKER, Chairman, announced that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, finding itself without a quorum, directed the Members to record their presence by electronic device, and the following-named Members responded—

¶13.9 [Roll No. 42]

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-424 Abercrombie Dixon Johnson (SD) Ackerman Johnson, E. B. Doggett Allard Johnson, Sam Doolittle Andrews Johnston Archer Dornan Jones Doyle Kanjorski Armey Kaptur Kasich Bachus Dreier Baesler Duncan Kelly Baker (CA) Dunn Kennedy (MA) Baker (LA) Durbin Baldacci Edwards Kennedy (RI) Ballenger Ehlers Kennelly Ehrlich Kildee Barcia Barr Emerson Kim Barrett (NE) Engel King Barrett (WI) English Kingston Bartlett Ensign Kleczka Barton Eshoo Klink Bass Evans Klug Knollenberg Bateman Everett Becerra Ewing Kolbe Beilenson LaFalce Farr Bentsen Fattah LaHood Bereuter Fawell Lantos Berman Fazio Largent Bevill Fields (TX) Latham Bilbray LaTourette Filner Biliraǩis Flake Laughlin Bliley Flanagan Lazio Blute Foglietta Leach Boehlert Foley Levin Boehner Forbes Lewis (CA) Bonilla Ford Lewis (GA) Bonior Fowler Lewis (KY) Borski Fox Lightfoot Franks (CT) Boucher Lincoln Franks (NJ) Brewster Linder Browder Brown (CA) Frelinghuysen Lipinski Frisa Livingston Brown (OH) LoBiondo Frost Brownback Funderburk Lofgren Bryant (TN) Furse Longley Bryant (TX) Gallegly Lowey Bunn Ganske Lucas Bunning Gejdenson Luther Burr Gekas Maloney Gephardt Geren Burton Manton Buyer Manzullo Callahan Gibbons Markey Calvert Gilchrest Martinez Camp Gillmor Martini Canady Gilman Mascara Cardin Gonzalez Matsui McCarthy Castle Goodlatte Chabot Goodling McCollum Chambliss Gordon McCrery McDade Chapman Goss Chenoweth Graham McDermott McHale Christensen Green Chrysler Greenwood McHugh Clay Gunderson McInnis Clayton Gutierrez McIntosh Gutknecht Clement McKeon Clinger Hall (OH) McKinnev Hall (TX) Clyburn McNulty Coble Hamilton Meehan Coburn Hancock Meek Coleman Hansen Menendez Collins (GA) Harman Metcalf Collins (IL) Hastert Mevers Collins (MI) Hastings (FL) Mfume Mica Combest Hastings (WA) Miller (CA) Condit Hayes Hayworth Convers Miller (FL) Cooley Costello Hefley Mineta Hefner Minge Cox Heineman Mink Herger Hilleary Moakley Molinari Coyne Cramer Crane Hilliard Mollohan Hinchey Crapo Montgomery Hobson Cremeans Moorhead Cubin Hoekstra Morella Cunningham Hoke Murtha Holden Danner Mvers Myrick Davis Horn de la Garza Hostettler Nadler Houghton Neal Deal DeFazio Nethercutt Hoyer DeLauro Hunter Neumann Ney DeLay Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Jackson-Lee Dellums Norwood Deutsch Nussle Diaz-Balart Oberstar Jacobs Jefferson Obey Dickey Dicks Olver Dingell Johnson (CT) Ortiz

Orton Owens Sanford Thornberry Sawver Thornton Oxley Saxton Packard Pallone Scarborough Tiahrt Torkildsen Schaefer Schiff Parker Torres Schroeder Torricelli Pastor Paxon Schumer Towns Payne (NJ) Scott Traficant Seastrand Payne (VA) Pelosi Tucker Sensenbrenner Upton Peterson (FL) Velazquez Serrano Peterson (MN) Shadegg Vento Visclosky Shaw Petri Pickett Shays Volkmer Vucanovich Pombo Shuster Waldholtz Pomeroy Sisisky Porter Skaggs Walker Poshard Skeen Walsh Skelton Wamp Pryce Quillen Slaughter Ward Smith (MI) Waters Quinn Radanovich Smith (NJ) Watt (NC) Rahall Smith (TX) Watts (OK) Ramstad Smith (WA) Waxman Weldon (FL) Rangel Solomon Reed Souder Weldon (PA) Weller Regula Spence White Whitfield Reynolds Spratt Richardson Stearns Riggs Stenholm Wicker Stockman Williams Roberts Stokes Wilson Roemer Studds Wise Stump Stupak Wolf Rogers Rohrabacher Woolsev Ros-Lehtinen Talent Wyden Tanner Rose Wynn Roth Tate Yates Roukema Tauzin Young (AK) Roybal-Allard Taylor (MS) Young (FL) Rovce Taylor (NC) Zeliff Sabo Tejeda Zimmei Thomas Salmon Thompson Sanders

#### NOT VOTING-10

Bishop Frank (MA) Rush Bono Istook Stark Brown (FL) Moran Fields (LA) Portman

Thereupon, Mr. WALKER, Chairman, announced that 424 Members had been recorded, a quorum.

The Committee resumed its business.

# ¶13.10 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment in the nature of a substitute submitted by Mr. OWENS:

Strike all after the resolving clause and insert the following:

That the following article is proposed as an amendment to the Constitution of the United States, which shall be valid to all intents and purposes as part of the Constitution when ratified by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States within seven years after the date of its submission for ratification:

### "ARTICLE —

"Section 1. Prior to each fiscal year, Congress shall, by law, adopt a statement of receipts and outlays for such fiscal year in which total outlays are not greater than total receipts. Congress may, by law, amend that statement provided revised outlays are not greater than revised receipts. Congress may provide in the statement for a specific excess of outlays over receipts by a vote directed solely to that subject in which three-fifths of the whole number of each House agree to such excess. Congress and the President shall ensure that actual outlays do not exceed the outlays set forth in such statement

"SECTION 2. Prior to each fiscal year, the President shall transmit to Congress a proposed statement of receipts and outlays for such fiscal year consistent with the provisions of this Article.