Seastrand

Serrano

Shadegg

Sensenbrenner

McIntosh McKeon

Meehan

Metcalf

Mica

Minge

Myers

Ney

Ortiz

Oxley

Paxon

Petri

Prvce

Quinn

Reed

Riggs

Rose

Roth

Royce Sabo

Schiff

"SECTION 6. Congress shall enforce and im-Harman plement this Article by appropriate legisla-

tion. 'SECTION 7. This Article shall take effect for the fiscal year 2002 or for the second fiscal year beginning after its ratification, whichever is later.' 1

¶13.21

whichever is la		
It was deciented and the second secon	ded in the	Yeas 135 Nays 296
¶13.21	[Roll No. 48] AYES—135	
Abercrombie	Gonzalez	Moran
Ackerman	Green	Murtha
Barcia	Gutierrez	Nadler
Becerra Beilenson	Hall (OH) Hall (TX)	Neal Neumann
Bevill	Hamilton	Obey
Bonior	Hastings (FL)	Olver
Borski Boucher	Hefner Hilliard	Orton Owens
Brown (CA)	Hinchey	Pallone
Brown (FL)	Holden	Pastor
Brown (OH) Bryant (TX)	Jackson-Lee Jefferson	Payne (NJ) Pelosi
Chapman	Johnson (SD)	Pomeroy
Clay	Johnson, E. B.	Rahall
Clayton	Johnston	Reynolds Richardson
Clyburn Coleman	Kanjorski Kaptur	Rivers
Collins (IL)	Kennedy (RI)	Roybal-Allard
Collins (MI)	Kennelly	Sanders
Conyers Costello	Kildee Kleczka	Scarborough Schroeder
Coyne	Klink	Schumer
de la Garza	LaFalce	Scott
DeLauro Dellums	Lantos Levin	Slaughter Stark
Dicks	Lewis (GA)	Stokes
Dingell	Lipinski	Stupak
Dixon	Lofgren	Thompson
Doyle Durbin	Lowey Maloney	Thurman Torres
Engel	Manton	Torricelli
Eshoo	Markey	Towns
Evans Farr	Martinez Mascara	Traficant Tucker
Fattah	McCarthy	Velazquez
Fazio	McCollum	Volkmer
Flake Ford	McKinney	Waters Watt (NC)
Frank (MA)	McNulty Meek	Whitfield
Frost	Menendez	Wilson
Furse	Mfume	Wise
Gejdenson Gephardt	Miller (CA) Mineta	Woolsey Wynn
Gibbons	Mink	Yates
NOES—296 Allard Camp Edwards		
Andrews	Canady	Ehlers
Archer	Cardin	Ehrlich
Armey Bachus	Castle Chabot	Emerson English
Baesler	Chambliss	Ensign
Baker (CA)	Chenoweth	Everett
Baker (LA) Baldacci	Christensen Chrysler	Ewing Fawell
Ballenger	Clement	Fields (TX)
Barr	Clinger	Filner
Barrett (NE) Barrett (WI)	Coble Coburn	Flanagan Foglietta
Bartlett	Collins (GA)	Foley
Barton	Combest	Forbes
Bass	Condit	Fowler
Bateman Bentsen	Cooley Cox	Fox Franks (CT)
Bereuter	Cramer	Franks (NJ)
Berman	Crane	Frelinghuysen
Bilbray Bilirakis	Crapo Cremeans	Frisa Funderburk
Bliley	Cubin	Gallegly
Blute	Cunningham	Ganske
Boehlert Boehner	Danner	Gekas
Bonilla	Davis Deal	Geren Gilchrest
Bono	DeFazio	Gillmor
Brewster	DeLay	Gilman
Browder Brownback	Deutsch Diaz-Balart	Goodlatte Goodling
Bryant (TN)	Dickey	Gordon
Bunn	Doggett	Goss
Bunning Burr	Dooley Doolittle	Graham Greenwood
Burton	Dornan	Gunderson
Buyer	Dreier	Gutknecht
Callahan Calvert	Duncan Dunn	Hancock Hansen
Carvert		ridusen

Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Heineman Herger Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Horn Hostettler Houghton Hoyer Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Jacobs Johnson (CT) Johnson, Sam Jones Kasich Kelly Kennedy (MA) Kim King Kingston Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Lincoln Linder Livingston LoBiondo Longley Lucas Luther Manzullo Martini Matsui McCrery McDade McDermott McHale McHugh McInnis

Shaw Meyers Shays Miller (FL) Shuster Sisisky Moakley Skaggs Molinari Skeen Mollohan Skelton Smith (MI) Montgomery Moorhead Smith (NJ) Morella Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Myrick Solomon Nethercutt Souder Spence Norwood Spratt Stearns Nussle Oberstar Stenholm Stockman Studds Packard Stump Parker Talent Tanner Payne (VA) Tate Peterson (FL) Tauzin Peterson (MN) Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Pickett Tejeda Pombo Thomas Porter Thornberry Portman Thornton Poshard Tiahrt Torkildsen Quillen Upton Vento Radanovich Visclosky Ramstad Vucanovich Rangel Waldholtz Walker Regula Walsh Wamp Ward Roberts Watts (OK) Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Waxman Weldon (FL) Ros-Lehtinen Weldon (PA) Weller White Roukema Wicker Williams Wolf Salmon Wyden Young (AK) Sanford Sawyer Young (FL) Saxton Zeliff Schaefer Zimmer

NOT VOTING-3

Fields (LA) Rush

So the amendment in the nature of a substitute was not agreed to. After some further time,

¶13.22 RECORDED VOTE

Bishop

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment in the nature of a substitute submitted by Mr. SCHAEFER:

Strike all after the enacting clause and insert the following:

Proposing an amendment to the Constitution to provide for a balanced budget for the United States Government and for greater accountability in the enactment of tax legislation.

Resolved by the Senate and House of Rep-resentatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That the following article is proposed as an amendment to the Constitution of the United States, which shall be valid to all intents and purposes as part of the Constitution when ratified by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States within seven years after the date of its submission to the States for ratification:

"ARTICLE-

"SECTION 1. Total outlays for any fiscal year shall not exceed total receipts for that fiscal year, unless three-fifths of the whole number of each House of Congress shall provide by law for a specific excess of outlays over receipts by a rollcall vote.

SECTION 2. The limit on the debt of the United States held by the public shall not be increased, unless three-fifths of the whole number of each House shall provide by law for such an increase by a rollcall vote.

SECTION 3. Prior to each fiscal year, the President shall transmit to the Congress a proposed budget for the United States Government for that fiscal year in which total outlays do not exceed total receipts.

SECTION 4. No bill to increase revenue shall become law unless approved by a majority of the whole number of each House by a rollcall vote.

SECTION 5. The Congress may waive the provisions of this article for any fiscal year in which a declaration of war is in effect. The provisions of this article may be waived for any fiscal year in which the United States is engaged in military conflict which causes an imminent and serious military threat to national security and is so declared by a joint resolution, adoptedy by a majority of the whole number of each House, which becomes law.

'SECTION 6. The Congress shall enforce and implement this article by appropriate legislation, which may rely on estimates of outlays and receipts.

SECTION 7. Total receipts shall include all receipts of the United States Government except those derived from borrowing. Total outlays shall include all outlays of the United States Government except for those for repayment of debt principal.

SECTION 8. This article shall take effect beginning with fiscal year 2002 or with the second fiscal year beginning after its ratification, whichever is later.

Yeas It was decided in the 293 affirmative Nays 139 [Roll No. 49]

¶13.23

Allard

Archer

Armey

Bachus

Barcia

Bartlett

Bateman

Bereuter

Bevill

Bilbray

Bliley

Blute

Bilirakis

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Brewster

Browder

Bunning

Burton

Callahan

Calvert

Canady

Castle

Chabot

Chrysler

Camp

Buver

Burr

Bono

Barr

Bass

Andrews

AYES-293 Clement Fowler Clinger Fox Clyburn Coble Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Coburn Frelinghuysen Baesler Baker (CA) Collins (GA) Frisa Combest Frost Baker (LA) Condit Funderburk Ballenger Cooley Costello Gallegly Ganske Cox Gekas Barrett (NE) Cramer Geren Crane Gibbons Gilchrest Crapo Cremeans Gillmor Cubin Gilman Cunningham Gingrich Danner Goodlatte Goodling Davis de la Garza Gordon Deal Goss DeFazio Greenwood DeLay Gunderson Deutsch Gutknecht Diaz-Balart Hall (TX) Dickey Hamilton Dooley Hancock Brown (OH) Doolittle Hansen Brownback Dornan Harman Bryant (TN) Doyle Hastert Bryant (TX) Dreier Hastings (WA) Duncan Hayes Hayworth Dunn Edwards Hefley Ehlers Hefner Ehrlich Heineman Herger Emerson English Hilleary Ensign Hobson Everett Hoekstra Ewing Hoke Fawell Chambliss Horn Chapman Fields (TX) Houghton Chenoweth Flanagan Hover Hutchinson Christensen Foley Forbes Hyde