Pelosi Peterson (FL)

Horn

Hostettler

Chambliss

Chapman Chenoweth

Christensen

Chrysler

Clement

Clinger

Poshard Shays Shuster Torkildsen Pryce Torres Quillen Sisisky Traficant Quinn Skaggs Upton . Radanovich Skeen Vento Ramstad Skelton Visclosky Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Reed Volkmer Regula Vucanovich Riggs Smith (TX) Waldholtz Roberts Roemer Smith (WA) Walker Solomon Walsh Souder Wamp Rogers Rohrabacher Spence Spratt Waters Watts (OK) Ros-Lehtinen Roth Stearns Waxman Weldon (FL) Stenholm Roukema Weldon (PA) Royce Stockman Sabo Studds Weller Salmon Stump White Whitfield Sanford Talent Saxton Tanner Wicker Scarborough Tate Wilson Tauzin Schaefer Taylor (MS) Schiff Wyden Young (AK) Seastrand Taylor (NC) Sensenbrenner Tejeda Young (FL) Serrano Thomas Zeliff Shadegg Thornberry Zimmer Tiahrt NOT VOTING-5 Bishop Fields (LA) Sanders

So the amendment in the nature of a substitute was not agreed to. After some further time,

¶13.18 MOTION TO RISE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the motion of Mr. WATT of North Carolina that the Committee do now rise.

Yeas 342 It was decided in the Navs negative Answered present

Pastor

Rangel

Sabo

Scott

Sanders

Serrano

Skaggs Stark

Stokes

Studds

Towns

Tucker

Vento

Wise

Wynn

Yates

Waters

Thompson

Velazquez

Watt (NC)

Woolsey

Schroeder

Payne (NJ)

Reynolds

Roybal-Allard

¶13.19[Roll No. 47] AYES-79

Abercrombie Ford Ackerman Frost Baldacci Gejdenson Bonior Gutierrez Brown (CA) Hastings (FL) Hinchey Brown (FL) Jackson-Lee Clay Clayton Jefferson Johnson, E. B. Clyburn Lewis (GA) Coleman Collins (IL) Lofgren Collins (MI) Markey Martinez Convers Dellums Mascara Dingell McDermott Dixon McKinney Durbin Meek Edwards Mineta Mink Engel Eshoo Moakley Evans Mollohan Nadler Farr Fattah Neal Fazio Oberstan

Filner

Foglietta

NOES-342

Olver

Owens

Allard Bateman Browder Andrews Beilenson Brown (OH) Archer Bentsen Brownback Bereuter Bryant (TN) Armev Bachus Berman Bryant (TX) Baesler Bevill Bunn Bilbray Baker (CA) Bunning Baker (LA) Bilirakis Burr Burton Ballenger Bliley Blute Barcia Buyer Barr Boehlert Callahan Barrett (NE) Camp Canady Boehner Barrett (WI) Bonilla Bartlett Bono Cardin Borski Barton Castle

Coble Coburn Collins (GA) Combest Condit Cooley Costello Cox Coyne Cramer Crane Crapo Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Danner Davis de la Garza Deal DeFazio DeLauro DeLay Deutsch Diaz-Balart Dickey Dicks Doggett Dooley Doolittle Dornan Doyle Dreier Duncan Dunn Ehlers Ehrlich English Ensign Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Flake Flanagan Foley Forbes Fowler Fox Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Funderburk Furse Gallegly Ganske Gekas Gephardt Geren Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gonzalez Goodlatte Goodling Gordon Goss Graham Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Hamilton Hancock Harman Hastert Hastings (WA) Haves Hayworth Hefley Hefner Heineman Herger

Hilleary

Hilliard

Hobson

Hoke

Holden

Hoekstra

Peterson (MN) Houghton Petri Hoyer Pickett Hunter Pombo Hutchinson Pomerov Hvde Porter Inglis Portman Istook Jacobs Poshard Pryce Johnson (CT) Quillen Johnson (SD) Quinn Johnson, Sam Řadanovich Johnston Rahall Jones Ramstad Kanjorski Reed Kaptur Regula Kasich Richardson Kelly Riggs Kennedy (MA) Rivers Kennedy (RI) Roberts Kennelly Roemer Kildee Rogers Kim Rohrabacher King Ros-Lehtinen Kingston Roth Kleczka Roukema Klink Royce Klug Salmon Knollenberg Sanford Sawyer Kolbe LaFalce Saxton LaHood Scarborough Lantos Schaefer Largent Schiff Latham Schumer LaTourette Seastrand Sensenbrenner Laughlin Shadegg Lazio Leach Shaw Shavs Levin Lewis (CA) Shuster Sisisky Lewis (KY) Skeen Lightfoot Skelton Lincoln Slaughter Smith (MI) Linder Lipinski Smith (NJ) Livingston Smith (TX) LoBiondo Smith (WA) Longley Solomon Lowey Souder Lucas Spence Luther Spratt Maloney Stearns Manton Stenholm Manzullo Stockman Martini Stump Matsui Stupak McCarthy Talent McCollum Tanner McCrery Tate McDade Tauzin McHale Taylor (MS) McHugh Taylor (NC) McInnis Tejeda Thomas McIntosh McKeon Thornberry McNulty Thornton Meehan Thurman Menendez Tiahrt Metcalf Torkildsen Torres Mevers Mfume Torricelli Mica Upton Visclosky Miller (CA) Volkmer Miller (FL) Vucanovich Minge Waldholtz Molinari Walker Montgomery Walsh Moorhead Ward Morella Watts (OK) Murtha Waxman Myers Weldon (FL) Myrick Weldon (PA) Nethercutt Weller Neumann Nev Whitfield Wicker Norwood Nussle Wilson Obey Wolf Ortiz Wyden Orton Young (AK) Oxley Packard Young (FL) Zeliff

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1 Traficant

NOT VOTING-12

Bishop Frank (MA) Rose Boucher Gibbons Calvert Fields (LA) Hansen Wamp Williams Moran

So the motion was not agreed to. After some further time,

¶13.20 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment in the nature of a substitute submitted by Mr. BONIOR:

Strike all after the resolving clause and insert the following: That the following article is proposed as an amendment to the Constitution of the United States, which shall be valid to all intents and purposes as part of the Constitution when ratified by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States within seven years after the date of its submission for ratification:

"ARTICLE -

"SECTION 1. Prior to each fiscal year, Congress shall, by law, adopt a statement of receipts and outlays for such fiscal year in which total outlays are not greater than total receipts. Congress may, by law, amend that statement provided revised outlays are not greater than revised receipts. Congress may provide in that statement for a specific excess of outlays over receipts by a vote directed solely to that subject in which a majority of the whole number of each House agree to such excess. Congress and the President shall ensure that actual outlays do not exceed the outlays set forth in such statement

'SECTION 2. Prior to each fiscal year, the President shall transmit to Congress a proposed statement of receipts and outlays for such fiscal year consistent with the provisions of this Article.

'SECTION 3. Congress may waive the provisions of this Article for any fiscal year in which a declaration of war is in effect. The provisions of this Article may be waived for any fiscal year in which the United States faces an imminent and serious military threat to national security and is so declared by a joint resolution, adopted by a majority of the whole number of each House, which becomes law.

'SECTION 4. Total receipts shall include all receipts of the United States except those derived from borrowing and total outlays shall include all outlays of the United States except those for the repayment of debt principal. Total receipts shall not include receipts (including attributable interest) for the financing of benefits and administrative expenses of the Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund and the Federal Disability Insurance Trust Fund, or any successor funds, and total outlays shall not include outlays for disbursement of the Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund for benefits and administrative expenses and the Federal Disability Insurance Trust Fund for benefits and Administrative expenses, or any successor funds. The receipts and outlays referred to in the preceding sentence shall be limited to receipts and outlays that provide old-age and survivor cash benefits for individuals based upon their earnings and dependents of such earners or provide disability cash benefits for disabled individuals based upon their earnings and dependents of such earners

'SECTION 5. All votes taken by the House of Representatives or the Senate under this Article shall be roll-call votes.

Zimmei

Pallone

Parker

Paxon

Payne (VA)