## 1995

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Hastert

Hayes

Hobson

Hoke

Horn

Hunter

Hyde

Inglis

Istook

Jones

Kasich

Kelly

Kim

King

Kolbe

Lazio

Leach

Linder

Lucas

Metcalf

Meyers

Mica

Minge

Myers Myrick

Nev

Nussle

Parker

Paxon

Convers

Coyne

Danner

Dellums

Deutsch

Dicks Dingell

Dixon

Dooley

Doyle

Durbin

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Farr

Edwards

Doggett

Gibbons

Gonzalez

Gutierrez

Hall (OH)

Hamilton

Hastings (FL)

Harman

Hefner

Hilliard

Gordon

Green

LaHood

Jacobs

	NOES-
Abercrombie	Gephardt
Ackerman	Gonzalez
Baesler	Gordon
Baldacci	Green
Barcia	Gutierrez
Barrett (WI)	Hall (OH)
Becerra	Hamilton
Beilenson	Harman
Bentsen	Hastings (
Berman	Hefner
Bevill	Hilliard
Bonior	Hinchey
Borski	Holden
Boucher	Hoyer
Brewster	Jackson-L
Brown (CA)	Jacobs
Brown (FL)	Jefferson
Brown (OH)	Johnson (S
Bryant (TX)	Johnson I
	Johnson, I
Cardin	Johnston
Chapman	Kaptur
Clay	Kennedy (
Clayton	Kennedy (
Clyburn	Kennelly
Coleman	Kildee
Collins (IL)	Kleczka
Collins (MI)	Klink
Conyers	LaFalce
Costello	Lantos
Coyne	Levin
Cramer	Lewis (GA
Danner	Lipinski
de la Garza	Lofgren
DeFazio	Lowey
DeLauro	Luther
Dellums	Maloney
Deutsch	Manton
Dicks	Markey
Dingell	Martinez
Dixon	Mascara
Doggett	Matsui
Dooley	McCarthy
Doyle	McDermot
Durbin	McHale
Edwards	McKinney
Engel	McNulty
Eshoo	Meek
Evans	Menendez
Farr	Mfume
Fattah	Miller (CA
Fazio	Mineta
Filner	Mink
Flake	Moakley
Foglietta	Mollohan
Ford	Moran
Frank (MA)	Nadler
Frost	Neal
Furse	Oberstar
Gejdenson	Obey
5	
	NOT VOT
Bishop	Fields (LA
Cubin	Gibbons
Cubili	GIDDOIIS

NOES-176 Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Pelosi lastings (FL) Peterson (FL) Pickett Pomerov Poshard Rahall Rangel ackson-Lee Reed Reynolds Richardson ohnson (SD) Rivers ohnson, E. B. Roemer Roybal-Allard Rush (ennedy (MA) Sabo Kennedy (RI) Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Skaggs Slaughter ewis (GA) Spratt Stark Stokes Studds Stupak Tejeda Thompson Thornton Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant AcDermott Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Ailler (CA) Watt (NC) Waxman Williams Wilson Wise Woolsey Wyden Wynn Yates OT VOTING-5 Fields (LA) Rose

So the amendment to the resolution was agreed to.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said resolution, as amended?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mrs. JOHNSON of Connecticut, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. MOAKLEY demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said resolution, as amended, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device.

It was decid affirmative	ed in the	Yeas Nays	255 172
¶19 7	[D_1] N_2 20	1	

12.1	[ROII NO. 39]	
	AYES-255	
Allard	Barr	Bilirakis
Andrews	Barrett (NE)	Bliley
Archer	Bartlett	Blute
Armey	Barton	Boehlert
Bachus	Bass	Boehner
Baesler	Bateman	Bonilla
Baker (CA)	Bereuter	Bono
Baker (LA)	Bevill	Browder
Ballenger	Bilbray	Brownback

Bryant (TN) Bunn Bunning Burr Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Chabot Chambliss Christensen Chrysler Clement Clinger Coble Coburn Collins (GA) Combest Condit Cooley Cox Cramer Crane Crapo Cremeans Cunningham Davis de la Garza Deal DeL av Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson English Ensign Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Flanagan Folev Forbes Fowler Fox Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Funderburk Gallegly Ganske Gekas Geren Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Goodlatte Goodling Goss Graham Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hancock Hansen

NOES-172

Abercrombie Ackerman Baldacci Barcia Barrett (WI) Becerra Beilenson Bentsen Berman Bonior Borski Boucher Brewster Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Cardin Chapman Clay Clayton Clyburn

Payne (VA) Hastings (WA) Petri Hayworth Hefley Heineman Herger Hilleary Hoekstra Hostettler Houghton Hutchinson Roth Johnson (CT) Johnson, Sam Kingston Klug Knollenberg Shaw Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Lincoln Livingston LoBiondo Longley Manzullo Tate Martini McCollum McCrery McDade McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon Meehan Miller (FL) Molinari Montgomery Moorhead Morella Nethercutt Neumann Wise Wolf Oxley Packard Zeliff Coleman Collins (IL) Collins (MÍ) Flake Costello Ford DeLauro

Peterson (MN) Pombo Porter Portman Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Ramstad Regula Riggs Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roukema Royce Salmon Sanford Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shays Shuster Sisisky Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Torricelli Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Young (AK) Young (FL) Zimmer Fattah Fazio Filner Foglietta Frank (MA) Frost Furse Gejdenson Gephardt

Hinchey Holden Hoyer Jackson-Lee Jefferson Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klink LaFalce Lantos Levin Lewis (GA) Lipinski Lofgren Lowey Luther Maloney Manton Markey Martinez Mascara Matsui McCarthy McDermott McHale McKinney McNulty Meek

Bishop

Cubin

Chenoweth

Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Mink Moakley Mollohan Skaggs Skelton Moran Murtha Nadler Spratt Stokes Oberstar Stupak Tejeda Thompson Orton Owens Pallone Torres Pastor Payne (NJ) Pelosi Tucker Peterson (FL) Pickett Pomeroy Visclosky Poshard Rahall Rangel Waters Reed Reynolds Richardson Williams Rivers Roemer Wyden Wvnn Roybal-Allard

Neal

Obey Olver

Ortiz

Rose

Rush

Sabo

Norwood

NOT VOTING-7 DeFazio Stark Fields (LA)

So the resolution, as amended, was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution, as amended, was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

**12.8** SOCIAL SECURITY AND BALANCED BUDGET AMENDMENT

Mr. FLANAGAN, pursuant to House Resolution 44, called up the following concurrent resolution (H. Con. Res. 17):

Resolved by the House of Representatives (the Senate concurring), That, for the purposes of any constitutional amendment requiring a balanced budget, the appropriate committees of the House and the Senate shall report to their respective Houses implementing legislation to achieve a balanced budget without increasing the receipts or reducing the disbursements of the Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund and the Federal Disability Insurance Trust Fund to achieve that goal

When said concurrent resolution was considered.

After debate.

The previous question having been ordered by House Resolution 44.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said concurrent resolution?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. KOLBE, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. FLANAGAN objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Sanders

Sawyer

Scott

Schroeder

Schumer

Serrano

Slaughter

Studds

Thornton

Thurman

Traficant

Velazquez

Volkmer

Watt (NC)

Waxman

Woolsey

Yates

Towns

Vento

Ward