FUNDERBURK, Mr. NEY, Mr. WELLER, Mr. CAMP, Mr. FORBES, Mrs. JOHNSON of Connecticut, Mr. Christensen, Mr. BOEHNER, Mr. SCHIFF, Mr. BRYANT of Mr. MARTINI, Tennessee, HASTINGS of Washington, Mr. DAVIS, Mr. HYDE, Mr. LEACH, Mr. CHABOT, Mr. Brownback, Mr. Hilleary, Mr. McCollum, Mr. Walker, Mr. Sol-OMON, Mr. ARMEY, Mr. GRAHAM, Mr. GANSKE. Mr. LONGLEY, Mr. CHAMBLISS, Mr. Norwood, Mr. HEINEMAN, Mrs. CUBIN, and Mr. CHRYSLER):

H. Con. Res. 17. Concurrent resolution relating to the treatment of Social Security under any constitutional amendment requiring a balanced budget; to the Committee on Rules.

By Mr. SOLOMON:

H. Res. 43. Resolution to amend clause 2(g)(3) of House rule XI to permit committee chairman to schedule hearings; to the Committee on Rules.

¶10.25 ADDITIONAL SPONSORS

Under clause 4 of rule XXII, sponsors were added to public bills and resolutions as follows:

H.R. 2: Mr. BAKER of Louisiana, Mr. CHABOT, Mr. CONDIT, Mr. LIVINGSTON, Mr. LUCAS, Mr. MEEHAN, Mr. MOORHEAD, Mr. NETHERCUTT, Mr. NEY, Mr. NORWOOD, Mr. PE-TERSON of Minnesota, Mr. POSHARD, Mr. RAMSTAD, Mrs. SEASTRAND, Mr. SOUDER, Mr. WALKER, and Mr. KLUG.

H.R. 8: Mr. DREIER, Mr. ROBERTS, and Mr. Ромво.

H.R. 13: Mr. WELDON of Florida and Mr. WELLER.

H.R. 28: Mr. McKeon.

H.R. 42: Mr. JEFFERSON, Mr. HINCHEY, Mr. McDermott, and Mr. Kleczka.

H.R. 47: Mr. DELAY, Mr. DOOLITTLE, Mr. FORBES, Mr. NEY, Mr. JONES, Mr. LAUGHLIN, Mr. ROYCE, Mr. SAXTON, and Mr. Fox.

H.R. 65: Mr. GEJDENSON LATOURETTE.

H.R. 103: Mr. HASTINGS of Florida, Mr. JOHNSTON of Florida, and Mr. MARTINEZ.

H.R. 104: Mr. SENSENBRENNER and Mr. KINGSTON.

H.R. 109: Mr. LIPINSKI, Mr. JOHNSTON of Florida, Mr. LATOURETTE, Mr. HEFNER, Mr. SKELTON, and Mr. GRAHAM.

H.R. 127: Mr. KNOLLENBERG, Mr. FROST, and Mr. SAWYER.

H.R. 139: Mr. BUNNING of Kentucky and Mr. EVANS.

H.R. 142: Mr. PETERSON of Florida, Mr. BUNNING of Kentucky, Mr. SKELTON, and Mr.

H.R. 201: Mr. Frost, Mr. Ballenger, Ms. DANNER, Mr. NEY, Mr. SOLOMON, Mr. PETE GEREN of Texas, Mr. FORBES, Mr. PACKARD, Mr. HALL of Texas, and Mr. BLUTE.

H.R. 217: Mr. MOORHEAD.

H.R. 218: Mr. LATOURETTE.

H.R. 303: Mr. LATOURETTE.

H.R. 325: Mr. HOSTETTLER, Mr. NEUMANN, and Mr. DAVIS.

H.R. 326: Mr. MARTINEZ.

H.R. 359: Mr. SERRANO, Mr. CHRYSLER, Mr. LATOURETTE, and Mr. RICHARDSON.

H.R. 393: Mr. SMITH of New Jersey.

H.R. 449: Mr. FATTAH.

H.R. 450: Mr. MARTINEZ and Mr. HOEKSTRA.

H.R. 452: Mr. EVANS.

H.R. 483: Mr. GEJDENSON, Mr. PORTMAN, Mr. CRANE, Mr. BARTON of Texas, Mr. FIELDS of Texas, Ms. Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, Mr. de la Garza, Mr. Hancock, Ms. Pryce, Mr. Stearns, Mr. Pete Geren of Texas, Mr. SENSENBRENNER, Ms. ESHOO, Mr. GENE GREEN of Texas, Mrs. LOWEY, and Mr. LAZIO of New

H.R. 485: Mr. Cox and Mr. BILBRAY.

H.R. 489: Mr. CALVERT and Mr. HEFLEY.

H.R. 490: Mr. CALVERT, Mr. LUCAS, and Mr. ROBERTS

H.R. 512: Mr. LIPINSKI.

H.R. 519: Mr. STUMP. H.R. 521: Mr. WELLER.

H.R. 558: Mr. BALDACCI and Mr. LONGLEY.

H.R. 587: Mr. BERMAN.

H.R. 599: Mrs. SMITH of Washington and Ms. FURSE

H.R. 613: Mr. STARK.

H.J. Res. 24: Mr. Goss, Mr. Solomon, and Mr. Christensen.

H.J. Res. 28: Mr. BACHUS, Mr. BILBRAY, Mr. BUNNING of Kentucky, Mrs. Johnson of Connecticut, Mr. Lewis of California, Mr. Shaw, Mrs. SMITH of Washington, Mr. UPTON, and Mrs. WALDHOLTZ.

H. Res. 33: Mr. EVANS, Mr. BERMAN, and Mr. BOUCHER.

H.R. 5: Mr. MILLER of Florida.

TUESDAY, JANUARY 24, 1995 (11)

¶11.1 DESIGNATION OF SPEAKER PRO **TEMPORE**

The House was called to order by the pro SPEAKER tempore, STEARNS, at 9:30 o'clock a.m., who laid before the House the following communication:

> WASHINGTON, DC, January 24, 1995.

I hereby designate the Honorable CLIFF STEARNS to act as Speaker pro tempore on this day.

NEWT GINGRICH,

Speaker of the House of Representatives.

¶11.2 MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A message from the Senate by Mr. Hallen, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate had agreed to without amendment a concurrent resolution of the House of the following title:

H. Con. Res. 16. Providing for a joint session of Congress to receive a message from the President on the State of the Union. Passed House January 23, 1995. Received in Senate and passed January 23 (Legislative day of January 10), 1995.

¶11.3 "MORNING HOUR" DEBATES

The SPEARKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, pursuant to the order of the House of Wednesday, January 4, 1995, recognized Members for "morning hour" debates.

¶11.4 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated to the House by Mr. Edwin Thomas, one of his secretaries.

¶11.5 RECESS—10:17 A.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, pursuant to clause 12 of rule I, declared the House in recess until 11:00 a.m.

¶11.6 AFTER RECESS—11:00 A.M.

The SPEAKER called the House to order.

¶11.7 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of Monday, January 23,

Mr. VOLKMER, pursuant to clause 1, rule I, objected to the Chair's approval of the Journal.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to the Chair's approval of said Journal?

The SPEAKER announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. VOLKMER objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 278 When there appeared Nays 135

 $\P 11.8$ [Roll No. 30] YEAS-278

Allard Ensign Lazio Andrews Everett Leach Lewis (CA) Archer Ewing Lewis (KY) Armey Fields (TX) Bachus Lightfoot Baker (CA) Flake Linder Baker (LA) Flanagan Livingston Ballenger Foley LoBiondo Forbes Barr Lofgren Ford Longley Barrett (NE) Barrett (WI) Fowler Lucas Bartlett Luther Fox Franks (CT) Manzullo Barton Bass Franks (NJ) Martini Bateman Frelinghuysen McCollum Beilenson Frisa McCrery Bentsen Frost McDade Bereuter Funderburk McHale Berman Gallegly McHugh McInnis Bevill Ganske Bilbray Gekas McIntosh Bilirakis Geren McKeon Gibbons McNulty Bliley Blute Gilchrest Metcalf Boehner Gillmor Meyers Bonilla Gilman Mica Miller (FL) Bono Gonzalez Minge Mink Boucher Goodlatte Brewster Goodling Brownback Gordon Molinari Bryant (TN) Goss Mollohan Bunn Greenwood Montgomery Gunderson Moorhead Bunning Burton Gutknecht Moran Buyer Hall (TX) Morella CaĬlahan Murtha Hamilton Calvert Hancock Mvers Camp Hansen Myrick Canady Hastert Nethercutt Hastings (WA) Cardin Neumann Castle Hayes Ney Chabot Hayworth Norwood Chambliss Heineman Nussle Chenoweth Herger Orton Oxley Packard Christensen Hilleary Hobson Chrysler Clement Hoekstra Parker Hoke Holden Clinger Porter Portman Coble Coburn Horn Pryce Collins (GA) Hostettler Quillen Houghton Combest Quinn Řadanovich Condit Hoyer Cooley Hutchinson Ramstad Coyne Hyde Regula Inglis Roberts Crapo Cremeans Istook Rogers Rohrabacher Johnson (CT) Cubin Cunningham Johnson, Sam Ros-Lehtinen Danner Johnston Roth Roukema Davis Jones Deal Kaptur Royce DeLay Kasich Salmon Diaz-Balart Kelly Sanford Dickey Kennelly Sawyer Dingell Kildee Saxton Kim Scarborough Dooley King Schaefer Doolittle Kingston Schiff Kleczka Dornan Scott Klug Knollenberg Dreier Seastrand Duncan Sensenbrenner Dunn Kolbe Shadegg LaHood Edwards Shaw Ehlers Largent Shays Ehrlich Latham Shuster Emerson LaTourette Sisisky English Laughlin Skeen