H.R. 494: Mr. Clyburn, Mr. Hilliard, Mr. FLAKE, and Mr. DELLUMS.

H.R. 502: Mr. BAKER of Louisiana and Mr. MCCOLLUM.

H.R. 513: Mr. GALLEGLY.

H.R. 519: Mr. SAXTON, Mr. HANCOCK, and Mr. Shadegg.

H.R. 555: Mr. ENGEL and Mr. FILNER.

H.J. Res. 3: Mr. PETERSON of Minnesota.

H.J. Res. 48: Mr. SALMON, Mr. BALLENGER, Mr. COLLINS of Georgia, Ms. DUNN of Washington, Mr. STEARNS, Mr. QUINN, Mr. LINDER, Ms. PRYCE, Mr. BARTLETT of Maryland, Mr. JONES, Mr. LIGHTFOOT, and Mr. ROGERS.

H. Res. 30: Mr. BLUTE, Mr. ZIMMER, Mr. FILNER, Mr. ROHRABACHER, Mr. DOOLEY, Mr. MOORHEAD, Mr. SPENCE, Mr. GREENWOOD, Ms. FURSE, Mr. YATES, and Mr. RAMSTAD.

FRIDAY, JANUARY 20, 1995 (9)

The House was called to order by the SPEAKER.

9.1 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of Thursday, January 19. 1995.

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal was approved.

9.2 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, were referred as follows:

188. A letter from the Under Secretary of Defense, transmitting a report of a violation of the Anti-Deficiency Act which occurred in the Department of the Army, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 1517(b); to the Committee on Appropriations.

189. A letter from the Secretary of Commerce, transmitting the Bureau of Export Administration's annual report for fiscal vear 1994 and the 1995 report on foreign policy export controls; to the Committee on International Relations.

¶9.3 RULES OF THE HOUSE

The SPEAKER announced that consistent with clause 9 of rule XIV, statements and rulings of the Chair appearing in the Congressional Record will be a substantially verbatim account of those words as spoken during the proceedings of the House, subject only to technical, grammatical and typographical corrections.

By unanimous consent, the Congressional Record of January 18, 1995, at pages H301 and H303 reflect this policy.

¶9.4 UNFUNDED FEDERAL MANDATES

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GUNDERSON, pursuant to House Resolution 38 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 5) to curb the practice of imposing unfunded Federal mandates on States and local governments; to strengthen the partnership between the Federal Government and State, local and tribal governments; to end the imposition, in the absence of full consideration by Congress, of Federal mandates on State, local, and tribal governments without adequate funding, in a manner that may displace other essential governmental priorities; and to

ensure that the Federal Government pays the costs incurred by those governments in complying with certain requirements under Federal statutes and regulations; and for other purposes.

Mr. EMERSON, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein,

9.5 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Ms. LOFGREN:

In section 2(7), before the semicolon insert the following: ", and that Congress shall not impose any Federal mandate on a State (including a requirement to pay matching amounts) unless the State is prohibited under Federal law from requiring, without consent of a local government, that the local government perform the activities that con-stitute compliance with the mandate''.

It was decided in the Yeas 157 negative 267

E 0.0	
¶9.6	[Roll No. 22]
	AYES-157
Abercrombie	Green
Ackerman	Gutierrez
Baesler Baldacci	Hall (OH) Hastings (FL)
Barrett (WI)	Hefner
Becerra	Hilliard
Beilenson	Hinchey
Bentsen	Holden
Berman Bishop	Hoyer Jackson-Lee
Bonior	Jacobs
Borski	Jefferson
Boucher	Johnson, E. B.
Brown (CA)	Johnston
Brown (FL) Brown (OH)	Kanjorski Kaptur
Bryant (TX)	Kennedy (MA)
Clay	Kennedy (RI)
Clayton	Kennelly
Clyburn	Kildee
Collins (IL) Collins (MI)	Kleczka Lantos
Conyers	Lewis (GA)
Costello	Lipinski
Coyne	Lofgren
Danner	Lowey
de la Garza	Maloney
DeFazio DeLauro	Manton Markey
Dellums	Martinez
Deutsch	Mascara
Dicks	Matsui
Dingell	McCarthy
Dixon	McDermott McHale
Doggett Doyle	McKinney
Durbin	McNulty
Engel	Meek
Eshoo	Menendez
Evans	Mfume Millon (CA)
Farr Fattah	Miller (CA) Mineta
Fazio	Mink
Fields (LA)	Moakley
Filner	Mollohan
Foglietta	Montgomery
Ford Frank (MA)	Nadler Neal
Frost	Oberstar
Gejdenson	Obey
Gephardt	Olver
Gonzalez	Ortiz
Gordon	Owens
	NOES-267
Allard	Barrett (NE)
Andrews	Bartlett
Armey Bachus	Barton Bass
Baker (CA)	Bateman
Baker (LA)	Bereuter
Ballenger	Bevill
Barcia	Bilbray
Barr	Bilirakis

Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Pickett Pomerov Poshard Rahall Rangel Reed Richardson Rose Roybal-Allard Rush Sanders Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Sisisky Skaggs Slaughter Spratt Stark Stokes Studds Stupak Tejeda Thompson Thornton Thurman Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Williams Wilson Wise Woolsey Wvden Wynn Bliley Blute Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Brewster

Browder

Brownback

Bono

Bunning Burr Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Cardin Castle Chabot Chambliss Chapman Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clement Clinger Coble Coburn Coleman Collins (GA) Combest Condit Cooley Cox Cramer Crane Crapo Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Davis Deal DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolev Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Edwards Ehlers Emerson English Ensign Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Flanagan Foley Forbes Fowler Fox Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Funderburk Furse Gallegly Ganske Gekas Geren Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Goodlatte Goodling Goss Graham Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX)

Bryant (TN)

Bunn

Hamilton

Hancock

JANUARY 20 Orton Oxley

Hansen Harman Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Heineman Herger Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Horn Hostettler Houghton Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, Sam Jones Kasich Kelly Kim King Kingston Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaFalce LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Linder Livingston LoBiondo Longlev Lucas Luther Manzullo Martini McCollum McCrery McDade McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon Meehan Metcalf Meyers Mica Miller (FL) Minge Molinari Moorhead Moran Morella Murtha Myers Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Ney Norwood Nussle

Packard Parker Paxon Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pombo Porter Portman Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Ramstad Regula Riggs Rivers Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Royce Sabo Salmon Sanford Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Skelton Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff

NOT VOTING-10		
Archer	Levin	Smith (NJ)
Ehrlich	Lincoln	Yates
Flake	Reynolds	
Gibbons	Smith (MI)	

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

Zimmer

9.7 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendments en bloc submitted by Mr. TAYLOR of Mississippi:

In section 4, strike "or" after the semicolon at the end of paragraph (6), strike the