$H.R.\ 494:\ Mr.\ CLYBURN,\ Mr.\ HILLIARD,\ Mr.\ FLAKE,\ and\ Mr.\ DELLUMS.$ 

 $H.R.\ 502;\ Mr.\ BAKER$  of Louisiana and Mr. McCollum.

H.R. 513: Mr. GALLEGLY.

 $H.R.\ 519;\ Mr.\ SAXTON,\ Mr.\ HANCOCK,\ and\ Mr.\ SHADEGG.$ 

H.R. 555: Mr. ENGEL and Mr. FILNER.

H.J. Res. 3: Mr. PETERSON of Minnesota.

H.J. Res. 48: Mr. SALMON, Mr. BALLENGER, Mr. COLLINS of Georgia, Ms. DUNN of Washington, Mr. STEARNS, Mr. QUINN, Mr. LINDER, Ms. PRYCE, Mr. BARTLETT of Maryland, Mr. JONES, Mr. LIGHTFOOT, and Mr. ROGERS.

H. Res. 30: Mr. Blute, Mr. Zimmer, Mr. Filner, Mr. Rohrabacher, Mr. Dooley, Mr. Moorhead, Mr. Spence, Mr. Greenwood, Ms. Furse, Mr. Yates, and Mr. Ramstad.

## FRIDAY, JANUARY 20, 1995 (9)

The House was called to order by the SPEAKER.

### ¶9.1 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of Thursday, January 19, 1995.

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal was approved.

## ¶9.2 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, were referred as follows:

188. A letter from the Under Secretary of Defense, transmitting a report of a violation of the Anti-Deficiency Act which occurred in the Department of the Army, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 1517(b); to the Committee on Appropriations.

189. A letter from the Secretary of Commerce, transmitting the Bureau of Export Administration's annual report for fiscal year 1994 and the 1995 report on foreign policy export controls; to the Committee on International Relations.

# ¶9.3 RULES OF THE HOUSE

The SPEAKER announced that consistent with clause 9 of rule XIV, statements and rulings of the Chair appearing in the Congressional Record will be a substantially verbatim account of those words as spoken during the proceedings of the House, subject only to technical, grammatical and typographical corrections.

By unanimous consent, the Congressional Record of January 18, 1995, at pages H301 and H303 reflect this policy.

# ¶9.4 UNFUNDED FEDERAL MANDATES

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GUNDERSON, pursuant to House Resolution 38 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 5) to curb the practice of imposing unfunded Federal mandates on States and local governments; to strengthen the partnership between the Federal Government and State, local and tribal governments; to end the imposition, in the absence of full consideration by Congress, of Federal mandates on State, local, and tribal governments without adequate funding, in a manner that may displace other essential governmental priorities; and to

ensure that the Federal Government pays the costs incurred by those governments in complying with certain requirements under Federal statutes and regulations; and for other purposes.

Mr. EMERSON, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein

#### ¶9.5 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Ms. LOFGREN:

In section 2(7), before the semicolon insert the following: ", and that Congress shall not impose any Federal mandate on a State (including a requirement to pay matching amounts) unless the State is prohibited under Federal law from requiring, without consent of a local government, that the local government perform the activities that constitute compliance with the mandate".

It was decided in the negative ....... Yeas ...... 157 Nays ..... 267

# [Roll No. 22] AYES—157

Pallone Abercrombie Green Ackerman Gutierrez Pastor Baesler Hall (OH) Payne (NJ) Hastings (FL) Baldacci Payne (VA) Pelosi Barrett (WI) Hefner Hilliard Pickett Becerra Beilenson Hinchey Pomerov Holden Poshard Bentsen Berman Hoyer Rahall Jackson-Lee Bishop Rangel Bonior Jacobs Reed Borski Jefferson Richardson Johnson, E. B. Boucher Rose Brown (CA) Roybal-Allard Johnston Brown (FL) Kanjorski Rush Brown (OH) Sanders Kaptur Bryant (TX) Kennedy (MA) Schroeder Clay Kennedy (RI) Schumer Clayton Kennelly Scott Clyburn Serrano Collins (II.) Sisisky Kleczka Collins (MI) Skaggs Lantos Lewis (GA) Slaughter Conyers Costello Lipinski Spratt Coyne Stark Lofgren Lowey Stokes de la Garza Maloney Studds DeFazio Manton Stupak DeLauro Markey Tejeda Dellums Martinez Thompson Deutsch Mascara Thornton Dicks Matsui Thurman Dingell McCarthy Torres Torricelli Dixon McDermott Towns Traficant McHale Doggett Dovle McKinnev Durbin McNulty Tucker Meek Velazquez Engel Menendez Eshoo Vento Evans Mfume Visclosky Miller (CA) Farr Volkmer Fattah Mineta Ward Mink Waters Watt (NC) Fields (LA) Moakley Mollohan Filner Waxman Foglietta Montgomery Williams Ford Nadler Wilson Frank (MA) Wise Neal Frost Oberstar Woolsey Obey Olver Gejdenson Wyden Gephardt Wynn Gonzalez Ortiz

### NOES-267

Barrett (NE) Bliley Allard Andrews Bartlett Blute Barton Armey Boehlert Bachus Bass Boehner Baker (CA) Bateman Bonilla Baker (LA) Bereuter Bono Ballenger Bevill Brewster Bilbray Barcia Browder Brownback

Owens

Gordon

Bryant (TN) Hamilton Hancock Bunn Bunning Hansen Harman Burr Burton Hastert Hastings (WA) Buyer Callahan Hayes Hayworth Calvert Hefley Camp Canady Heineman Cardin Herger Hilleary Castle Chabot Hobson Hoekstra Chambliss Chapman Hoke Chenoweth Horn Christensen Hostettler Chrysler Houghton Clement Hunter Clinger Hutchinson Coble Hyde Inglis Coburn Coleman Istook Collins (GA) Johnson (CT) Combest Johnson (SD) Johnson, Sam Condit Cooley Jones Kasich Cox Cramer Kelly Crane Kim King Crapo Cremeans Kingston Cubin Klink Cunningham Klug Knollenberg Davis Deal Kolbe LaFalce DeLay Diaz-Balart LaHood Dickey Largent Dooley Latham Doolittle LaTourette Dornan Laughlin Lazio Dreier Duncan Leach Lewis (CA) Dunn Edwards Lewis (KY) Ehlers Lightfoot Emerson Linder English Livingston Ensign LoBiondo Longley Everett Ewing Fawell Lucas Luther Fields (TX) Manzullo Flanagan Martini Foley McCollum McCrery Forbes Fowler McDade Fox McHugh Franks (CT) McInnis Franks (NJ) McIntosh Frelinghuysen McKeon Frisa Meehan Funderburk Metcalf Furse Meyers Gallegly Mica Miller (FL) Ganske Gekas Minge Geren Molinari Gilchrest Moorhead Gillmor Moran Morella Gilman Goodlatte Murtha Goodling Myers Goss Myrick Graham Nethercutt Greenwood Neumann

Parker Paxon Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pombo Porter Portman Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Ramstad Regula Riggs Rivers Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Rovce Sabo Salmon Sanford Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Skelton Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Upton . Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Ney Young (FL) Norwood Zeliff Nussle Zimmer

Orton Oxley

Packard

## NOT VOTING-10

Archer Levin Smith (NJ)
Ehrlich Lincoln Yates
Flake Reynolds
Gibbons Smith (MI)

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

### ¶9.7 RECORDED VOTE

Gunderson

Gutknecht

Hall (TX)

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendments en bloc submitted by Mr. TAYLOR of Mississippi:

In section 4, strike "or" after the semicolon at the end of paragraph (6), strike the