HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Kim

King

Crane

confined to the bill and shall not exceed two hours, with one hour equally divided and controlled by the chairman and ranking minority member of the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight and one hour equally divided and controlled by the chairman and ranking minority member of the Committee on Rules. After general debate the bill shall be considered for amendment under the five-minute rule. In lieu of the amendments recommended by the Com-mittee on Government Reform and Oversight and the Committee on Rules, it shall be in order to consider as an original bill for the purpose of amendment under the five-minute rule the amendment in the nature of a substitute printed in the report of the Committee on Rules accompanying this resolu-tion. That amendment in the nature of a substitute shall be considered by title rather than by section. Each of the first four sections and each title shall be considered as read. During consideration of the bill for amendment, the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole may accord priority in recognition on the basis of whether the Member offering an amendment has caused it to be printed in the portion of the Congressional Record designated for that purpose in clause 6 of rule XXIII. Amendments so printed shall be considered as read. At the conclusion of consideration of the bill for amendment the Committee shall rise and report the bill to the House with such amendments as may have been adopted. Any Member may de-mand a separate vote in the House on any amendment adopted in the Committee of the Whole to the bill or to the amendment in the nature of a substitute made in order as original text. The previous question shall be considered as ordered on the bill and amendments thereto to final passage without intervening motion except one motion to recommit with or without instructions.

When said resolution was considered. After debate

On motion of Mr. DREIER, the previous question was ordered on the resolution to its adoption or rejection.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said resolution?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GUNDERSON, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. MOAKLEY objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device. (

When there	e appeared	Yeas 350 Nays 71
¶8.9	[Roll No. 21	1
YEAS-350		
1 EAS-550		
Ackerman	Bilirakis	Camp
Allard	Bishop	Canady
Andrews	Bliley	Castle
Archer	Blute	Chabot
Armey	Boehlert	Chambliss
Baesler	Boehner	Chenoweth
Baker (CA)	Bonilla	Christensen
Baker (LA)	Bono	Chrysler
Ballenger	Boucher	Clayton
Barcia	Brewster	Clement
Barr	Browder	Clinger
Barrett (NE)	Brown (OH)	Clyburn
Barrett (WI)	Brownback	Coble
Bartlett	Bryant (TN)	Coburn
Barton	Bryant (TX)	Collins (GA)
Bass	Bunn	Combest
Bateman	Bunning	Condit
Bentsen	Burr	Conyers
Bereuter	Burton	Cooley
Berman	Buyer	Costello
Bevill	Callahan	Cox
Bilbray	Calvert	Cramer

Crapo Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Danner Davis de la Garza Deal DeLauro DeLav Dellums Deutsch Diaz-Balart Dickey Dicks Doggett Dooley Doolittle Dornan Dovle Dreier Duncan Dunn Edwards Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson Engel English Ensign Eshoo Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (LA) Fields (TX) Flanagan Foley Forbes Ford Fowler Fox Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Funderburk Gallegly Ganske Gekas Gephardt Geren Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gonzalez Goodlatte Goodling Gordon Goss Graham Green Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hamilton Hancock Hansen Harman Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Hefner Heineman Herger Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Holden Horn Hostettler Houghton Hover Hunter Hutchinson Hvde Inglis Istook Jackson-Lee Abercrombie Baldacci

Becerra

Jacobs Jefferson Porter Portman Johnson (CT) Johnson, E.B. Johnson, Sam Johnston Jones Kaptur Kasich Kelly Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kingston Kleczka Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Lantos Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Linder Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Lofgren Longley Lucas Luther Manton Manzullo Martinez Martini Mascara Matsui McCarthy McCollum McCrery McDade McHale McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon Tate Menendez Metcalf Meyers Miller (CA) Miller (FL) Minge Molinari Mollohan Montgomerv Moorhead Moran Morella Murtha Myers Myrick Nadler Nethercutt Neumann Ney Norwood Nussle Orton Oxlev Packard Pallone Parker Pasto Wise Paxon Payne (VA) Wolf Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Pickett Pombo Pomerov NAYS-71 Beilenson Brown (CA)

Mica

Neal

Obev

Ortiz

Petri

Poshard Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Reed Regula Richardson Riggs Rivers Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Roth Roukema Royce Salmon Sanford Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schiff Schroeder Schumer Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Sisisky Skaggs Skeen Skelton Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Spratt Stearns Stenholm Stockman Studds Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas Thompson Thornberry Thornton Tiahrt Torkildsen Torres Towns Traficant Tucker Upton Visclosky Volkmer Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Ward Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Wynn Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

Bonior Borski

Brown (FL)

Cardin

Clay Coleman Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Coyne DeFazio Dingell Dixon Durbin Evans Farr Fattah Fazio Filner Foglietta Frank (MA) Frost Furse Gejdenson Gutierrez Hall (OH)

Bachus Chapman Flake Lincoln Meehan

Owens Payne (NJ) Rangel Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Scott Serrano Stark Stokes Thurman Torricelli Velazquez Vento Waters Williams Woolsey

NOT VOTING-13

Hastings (FL) Hilliard

Johnson (SD)

Hinchey

Kanjorski

LaFalce

Lowey

Maloney

Markey

Lewis (GA)

McDermott

McKinney

McNulty

Meek

Mfume

Mineta

Moakley

Oberstar

Mink

Olver

Klink

Pelosi Revnolds Ros-Lehtinen Rose Schaefer

Watt (NC) Wyden Slaughter

Waxman

Yates

So the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

8.10 UNFUNDED FEDERAL MANDATES

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GUNDERSON, pursuant to House Resolution 38 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 5) to curb the practice of imposing unfunded Federal mandates on States and local governments; to strengthen the partnership between the Federal Government and State, local and tribal governments; to end the imposition, in the absence of full consideration by Congress, of Federal mandates on State, local, and tribal governments without adequate funding, in a manner that may displace other essential governmental priorities; and to ensure that the Federal Government pays the costs incurred by those governments in complying with certain requirements under Federal statutes and regulations; and for other purposes.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GUNDERSON, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. EMERSON as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole; and after some time spent therein,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GOODLATTE, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. EMERSON, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

\$8.11 JOINT ECONOMIC COMMITTEE MEMBERS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GOODLATTE, by unanimous consent and pursuant to the provisions of 15 U.S.C. 1024(a), announced that the Speaker appointed as Members of the Joint Economic Committee the following Members on the part of the House

Mr. SAXTON of New Jersey. Mr. EWING of Illinois;