Massachusetts, Mr. KENNEDY of Massachusetts, Mr. FLAKE, Mr. MFUME, Ms. WATERS, Ms. ROYBAL-ALLARD, Mr. BARRETT of Wisconsin, and Mr. HINCHEY):

H.R. 561. A bill to amend the Fair Credit Reporting Act, and for other purposes; to the Committee on Banking and Financial Services.

By Mr. HAYWORTH:

H.R. 562. A bill to modify the boundaries of Walnut Canyon National Monument in the State of Arizona; to the Committee on Resources.

By Mr. HERGER:

H.R. 563. A bill to amend the National Historic Preservation Act to prohibit the inclusion of certain sites on the National Register of Historic Places, and for other purposes; to the Committee on Resources.

By Mr. KIM (for himself and Mr. SHU-STER):

H.R. 564. A bill to provide that receipts and disbursements of the Highway Trust Fund, the Airport and Airway Trust Fund, the Inland Waterways Trust Fund, and the Harbor Maintenance Trust Fund shall not be included in the totals of the budget of the U.S. Government as submitted by the President or the congressional budget; to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight, and in addition to the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, for a period to be subsequently determined by the Speaker, in each case for consideration of such provisions as fall within the jurisdiction of the committee concerned.

By Mr. MOAKLEY:

H.R. 565. A bill to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to retroactively restore and make permanent the exclusion for amounts received under group legal services plans; to the Committee on Ways and Means.

By Mr. KLECZKA (for himself, Ms. FURSE, and Mr. DEUTSCH):

H.J. Res. 55. Joint resolution proposing a balanced budget amendment to the Constitution of the United States; to the Committee on the Judiciary.

¶7.17 ADDITIONAL SPONSORS

Under clause 4 of rule XXII, sponsors were added to public bills and resolutions as follows:

H.R. 4: Mr. DREIER, Mr. GALLEGLY, Mr. MCKEON, and Mr. ROBERTS.

H.R. 5: Mr. ENGLISH of Pennsylvania, Mr. HEFLEY, Mr. HUTCHINSON, Mr. TORKILDSEN, Mr. STEARNS, Mr. NEUMANN, Mr. MCCRERY, Mr. KOLBE, Mr. BUYER, MS. MOLINARI, Mr. REGULA, Mr. FRISA, Mr. WHITE, Mr. LATHAM, Mrs. CHENOWETH, Mr. WICKER, Mr. GRAHAM, Mr. ROBERTS, Mr. EHRLICH, Mr. TIAHRT, Mrs. SEASTRAND, Mr. UPTON, Mr. HALL of Texas. Mr. PETRI, and Ms. MCCARTHY.

H.R. 66: Mr. SPRATT and Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska.

H.R. 70: Mr. LAUGHLIN.

H.R. 76: Mr. WICKER and Mr. PETRI.

H.R. 77: Mr. QUINN, Ms. DANNER, and Mr. POSHARD.

H.R. 97: Mr. RANGEL, Mr. ENGLISH of Penn-sylvania, Mr. FROST, Ms. EDDIE BERNICE JOHNSON of Texas, and Mr. FLAKE.

H.R. 139: Mr. WOLF, Mr. LIPINSKI, and Mr. Fattah

H.R. 142: Mr. FIELDS of Texas, Mr. KNOLLENBERG, and Mr. WALSH.

H.R. 158: Mr. NORWOOD.

H.R. 209: Mr. CONDIT, Mr. LINDER, Mrs. MYRICK, Mr. SAM JOHNSON, Mr. BARTLETT of Maryland, Mr. HUNTER, and Mr. STUMP.

H.R. 214: Mr. LINDER.

- H.R. 217: Mr. PAXON.
- H.R. 218: Mr. BAKER of California. H.R. 221: Mr. RUSH, Mr. PORTER, Mr. FRANK

of Massachusetts, Mr. LAFALCE, Ms. PELOSI, Mr. GONZALEZ, Mrs. KENNELLY, Mr. HASTINGS

of Florida, Mr. GIBBONS, Ms. FURSE, Mr. OWENS, Mr. MATSUI, Mr. TOWNS, Ms. EDDIE BERNICE JOHNSON of Texas, Mr. FLAKE, Mr. MCDERMOTT, Mr. MILLER of California, Mr. MOAKLEY, Mr. SAWYER, Mr. YATES, Ms. WOOLSEY, Mr. FOGLIETTA, Mr. DELLUMS, Mr. CLAY, Mr. BONIOR, Mr. FILNER, Mr. RANGEL, Ms. BROWN of Florida, Mr. TORRICELLI, and Mr. ABERCROMBIE.

H.R. 304: Mr. POMBO and Mrs. SEASTRAND.

H.R. 384: Mr. MARTINEZ.

H.R. 388: Mr. RANGEL.

H.R. 450: Mr. PETERSON of Minnesota, Mr. BAKER of California, Mr. DAVIS, Mr. BLUTE, Mr. NETHERCUTT, Mr. LINDER, Mr. NEY, Mr. CANADY, Mr. COMBEST, and Mr. ROYCE.

H.R. 519: Mr. FUNDERBURK.

H.R. 520: Mr. HERGER.

H.J. Res. 53: Mr. CHAPMAN, Mr. JEFFERSON, Mr. METCALF, and Mr. MORAN.

H. Con. Res. 5: Mr. PETE GEREN of Texas, Mr. WICKER, and Mr. ROHRABACHER.

H. Res. 33: Mr. MCDERMOTT, Mr. HALL of Ohio, Mr. OBERSTAR, Mr. ACKERMAN, Mr. BROWN of Ohio, Mr. STARK, Mr. TORRES, Mr. DICKS, Mr. ENGEL, Mr. BECERRA, Ms. NORTON, Mr. LEVIN, Mr. CLAY, Mr. LAFALCE, Mr. BEIL-ENSON, and Mr. FRANK of Massachusetts.

THURSDAY, JANUARY 19, 1995 (8)

§8.1 DESIGNATION OF SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The House was called to order by the SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DRĚIER, who laid before the House the following communication:

WASHINGTON, DC,

January 19, 1995.

I hereby designate the Honorable DAVID DREIER to act as Speaker pro tempore on this day.

NEWT GINGRICH, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

§8.2 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DREIER, announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of Wednesday, January 18, 1995.

Mr. FRANK, pursuant to clause 1, rule I, objected to the Chair's approval of the Journal.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to the Chair's approval of said Journal?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DREIER, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. FRANK objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device. **(**...

When t	here appeared	Yeas Nays	218 187
¶8.3	[Roll No. 20]		
	YEAS-21	8	
Allard Archer	Bateman Bereuter	Bryant (TN) Bunn	

Allard	Bateman	Bryant (TN)
Archer	Bereuter	Bunn
Armey	Berman	Bunning
Bachus	Bilbray	Burr
Baker (CA)	Bilirakis	Burton
Baker (LA)	Bliley	Buyer
Ballenger	Blute	Callahan
Barr	Boehlert	Calvert
Barrett (NE)	Boehner	Camp
Bartlett	Bonilla	Canady
Barton	Boucher	Castle
Bass	Brownback	Chabot

Chambliss Christensen Clement Clinger Coburn Collins (GA) Combest Cooley Cox Crapo Cubin Cunningham Deal DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dreier Duncan Dunn Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson English Ensign Everett Ewing Fawell Fazio Fields (TX) Flanagan Foley Forbes Ford Fowler Fox Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Funderburk Gallegly Ganske Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Goodlatte Goodling Goss Graham Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hamilton Hancock Hansen Hastert Hastings (WA) Heineman Herger

Hilleary

Hobson

Hoke

Horn

Hyde

Inglis Istook

Jones

Kelly

Kim

King

Klug

Kolbe

LaHood

Largent

Latham

LaTourette

Laughlin

Lewis (CA)

Lewis (KY)

Livingston

LoBiondo

Longlev

Manzullo

Martinez

McCollum

Martini

McCrerv

McDade

McHugh

McInnis

McKeon

Metcalf

Meyers

Miller (FL)

Molinari

Morella

Myers Myrick

Nev

Moorhead

Nethercutt

Neumann

Norwood

Deutsch

Dicks

Dingell

Dixon

Doggett

Dooley

Doyle

Durbin

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Fattah

Filner

Frost

Furse

Gekas

Geren

Fields (LA)

Foglietta

Frank (MA)

Gejdenson

Gephardt

Gonzalez

Gutierrez

Hall (OH)

Harman

Hefley

Hilliard

Hinchey

Holden

Hoyer

Hunter

Hastings (FL)

Gordon

Green

Farr

Edwards

Nussle

Mica

McIntosh

Lucas

Lightfoot

Linder

Lazio

Leach

Kingston

Knollenberg

Kasich

Hoekstra

Hostettler

Houghton Hutchinson

Johnson (CT)

Johnson, Sam

Abercrombie Ackerman Andrews Baesler Baldacci Barcia Barrett (WI) Becerra Beilenson Bentsen Bevill Bishop Bonio Borski Brewster Browder Brown (CA) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Cardin Chenoweth Clay Clayton Clyburn Coble Coleman Collins (IL) Condit Costello Coyne Cramer Crane Danner de la Garza DeFazio DeLauro Dellums

Oxley Packard Parker Paxon Petri Portman Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Ramstad Regula Riggs Roberts Rogers Rose Roth Royce Salmon Sanford Saxton Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Skelton Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Stearns Stockman Talent Tate Thomas Thornberry Thornton Tiahrt Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

NAYS-187

Jackson-Lee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (SD) Johnson, E.B. Johnston Kanjorski Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klink LaFalce Lantos Levin Lewis (GA) Lipinski Lowey Luther Maloney Manton Markev Mascara Matsui McCarthy McDermott McHale McKinnev McNulty Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink