Mr. DINGELL objected to the words being stricken from the Record.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the words be stricken from the

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, announced that the yeas

Mr. VOLKMER demanded that the vote be taken by the yeas and nays, which demand was supported by onefifth of the Members present, so the yeas and nays were ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the affirmative ....... Yeas ...... 217 Nays ...... 178

# [Roll No. 18]

### YEAS-217

Allard Fowler Miller (FL) Archer Fox Molinari Franks (NJ) Armey Moorhead Morella Bachus Franks (CT) Baker (CA) Frelinghuysen Myers Myrick Baker (LA) Frisa Ballenger Funderburk Nethercutt Barr Gallegly Neumann Barrett (NE) Ganske Ney Gilchrest Gillmor Bartlett Norwood Barton Oxley Packard Gilman Bateman Goodlatte Goodling Paxon Petri Bereuter Bilbray Goss Pombo Graham Bilirakis Porter Bliley Portman Greenwood Blute Gunderson Pryce Boehlert Hancock Quinn Boehner Hansen Radanovich Bonilla Hastert Ramstad Hastings (WA) Bono Regula Brownback Riggs Hayworth Bryant (TN) Hefley Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher Bunn Heineman Bunning Herger Burr Hilleary Roth Roukema Burton Hobson Buyer Hoekstra Royce Callahan Hoke Sanford Calvert Horn Saxton Scarborough Hostettler Camp Canady Houghton Schaefer Castle Schiff Hunter Sensenbrenner Chabot Hutchinson Chambliss Inglis Shadegg Istook Chenoweth Shaw Shays Christensen Johnson (CT) Chrysler Johnson, Sam Shuster Clinger Jones Skeen Coble Kasich Smith (NJ) Coburn Kellv Smith (WA) Collins (GA) Smith (MI) Kim Combest King Solomon Cooley Kingston Souder Klug Knollenberg Cox Spence Crane Stearns Crapo Kolbe Stockman Cremeans LaHood Stump Cubin Talent Largent Cunningham Tate Latham Taylor (NC) Davis LaTourette DeLay Diaz-Balart Lazio Thornberry Leach Tiahrt Dickey Doolittle Torkildsen Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Upton Lightfoot Vucanovich Dornan Dreier Linder Waldholtz Livingston Duncan Walker Dunn Walsh LoBiondo Wamp Watts (OK) Longley Ehrlich Lucas Weldon (PA) Manzullo Emerson English Weldon (FL) Martini McCollum Ensign Weller Everett McCrery White Ewing Fawell McDade Whitfield McInnis Wicker Fields (TX) McIntosh Wolf Flanagan Young (AK) McKeon

Foley

Mevers

Zeliff Zimmer

### NAYS-178

Abercrombie Owens Baesler Hall (TX) Pallone Hall (OH) Baldacci Parker Barcia Hamilton Pastor Barrett (WI) Payne (NJ) Harman Hastings (FL) Payne (VA) Beilenson Bentsen Hefner Peterson (MN) Hilliard Bevill Peterson (FL) Bishop Hinchey Pickett Bonio Holden Pomeroy Borski Poshard Hover Jackson-Lee Boucher Rahall Rangel Brewster Jacobs Browder Jefferson Reed Brown (FL) Johnson (SD) Richardson Brown (CA) Johnson, E. B. Rivers Brown (OH) Johnston Roemer Bryant (TX) Kanjorski Roybal-Allard Cardin Kaptur Rush Sabo Kennelly Clay Kildee Clayton Sanders Kleczka Clement Sawyer Clyburn Klink Schroeder Coleman LaFalce Schumer Collins (IL) Lantos Scott Laughlin Serrano Condit Sisisky Conyers Levin Lipinski Costello Skaggs Skelton Coyne Lofgren Cramer Lowey Spratt Luther Danner Stark Stenholm Deal Maloney DeFazio Manton Stokes Studds DeLauro Markey Dellums Martinez Stupak Dicks Mascara Tanner Dingell Matsui Tauzin Doggett McCarthy Taylor (MS) Dooley McDermott Tejeda Doyle McHale Thompson Durbin McKinney Thornton Edwards Meehan Thurman Torricelli Meek Engel Menendez Eshoo Towns Evans Mfume Traficant Miller (CA) Tucker Farr Fattah Mineta Velazquez Fazio Minge Vento Fields (LA) Visclosky Mink Filner Moakley Volkmer Foglietta Ward Mollohan Ford (TN) Montgomery Waters Frank (MA) Moran Watt (NC) Frost Nadler Waxman Neal (MA) Furse Williams Wise Woolsey Gejdenson Oberstar Gephardt Obey Gibbons Olver Wyden Gonzalez Ortiz Orton

## NOT VOTING-40

Gutknecht Reynolds Ackerman Andrews (NJ) Ros-Lehtinen Hayes Becerra Hvde Rose Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Salmon Berman Chapman Seastrand Collins (MI) Lewis (GA) Slaughter de la Garza Lincoln Smith (TX) Deutsch McHugh Torres Dixon McNulty Wilson Flake Metcalf Wynn Gekas Murtha Young (FL) Geren Nussle Gingrich Pelosi Quillen

So the words were ordered to be stricken.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the

By unanimous consent, Mrs. MEEK was permitted to proceed in order.

## ¶7.7 POINT OF ORDER

Gordon

Mr. VOLKMER during one minute speeches addressed the House and, during the course of his remarks,

Mr. THOMAS made a point of order,

Mr. Speaker, those words have been stricken from the Record by a vote of this House. The gentleman under the

rules is not allowed to repeat them and he continues to do so.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, sustained the point of order.

#### ¶7.8 MOTION TO ADJOURN

Mr. MFUME moved that the House do now adjourn.

The question being put,

Will the House now adjourn?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, announced that the nays

Mr. MFUME demanded a recorded vote on the motion, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the Yeas ...... negative ..... Nays ..... 247

#### ¶7.9[Roll No. 19] AYES-152

Abercrombie Gonzalez Owens Baldacci Hall (OH) Pallone Barcia Hall (TX) Parker Hamilton Bentsen Pastor Payne (NJ) Bevill Hastings (FL) Bishop Hilliard Payne (VA) Peterson (FL) Bonio Hinchey Borski Holden Peterson (MN) Hoyer Jackson-Lee Pomeroy Poshard Boucher Browder Brown (CA) Jefferson Rahall Johnson (SD) Brown (FL) Rangel Reed Johnson, E. B. Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Johnston Richardson Cardin Kaniorski Rivers Roybal-Allard Clay Kaptur Kennelly Clayton Rush Klink Clement Sabo Clyburn Sanders Lantos Sawyer Coleman Laughlin Collins (IL) Schumer Levin Lewis (GA) Condit Scott Conyers Lipinski Serrano Costello Lofgren Skaggs Coyne Lowey Skelton Cramer Luther Spratt Danner Maloney Stark DeFazio Markey Stenholm Del.auro Martinez Stokes Dellums Studds Mascara Dicks Matsui Stupak Dingell McCarthy Tauzin Doggett McDermott Taylor (MS) Dooley McKinney Tejeda Dovle Meek Thompson Menendez Durbin Thurman Mfume Miller (CA) Engel Torricelli Eshoo Towns Evans Mineta Traficant Farr Minge Tucker Fattah Mink Velazquez Moakley Fazio Vento Visclosky Filner Mollohan Foglietta Volkmer Montgomery Ford Moran Ward Frank (MA) Nadler Waxman Neal Williams Frost Furse Oberstar Wise Gejdenson Olver Woolsey Gephardt Ortiz Wyden Geren Orton

### NOES-247

Allard Beilenson Burr Archer Bereuter Burton Armey Bachus Bilbray Bilirakis Buyer Callahan Baesler Bliley Calvert Baker (CA) Blute Camp Canady Baker (LA) Boehlert Ballenger Boehner Castle Bonilla Barr Chabot Barrett (NE) Bono Chambliss Barrett (WI) Brewster Chenoweth Brownback Bartlett. Christensen Barton Bryant (TN) Chrysler Bunn Clinger Bass Bateman Bunning Coble