Mr. DINGELL objected to the words being stricken from the Record.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the words be stricken from the Record?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. VOLKMER demanded that the vote be taken by the yeas and nays, which demand was supported by onefifth of the Members present, so the yeas and nays were ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device. ſ

It was decided in the	Yeas	217
affirmative	Nays	178
	l	

17.0	[Roll N
	YEAS
A 11 I	
Allard Archer	Fowler Fox
Armey	Franks (N
Bachus	Franks (C
Baker (CA)	Frelinghu
Baker (LA)	Frisa
Ballenger	Funderbu
Barr	Gallegly
Barrett (NE)	Ganske
Bartlett	Gilchrest
Barton	Gillmor
Bass	Gilman
Bateman Bereuter	Goodlatte Goodling
Bilbray	Goss
Bilirakis	Graham
Bliley	Greenwoo
Blute	Gunderson
Boehlert	Hancock
Boehner	Hansen
Bonilla	Hastert
Bono	Hastings
Brownback Bryant (TN)	Hayworth Hefley
Bryant (TN) Bunn	Heineman
Bunning	Herger
Burr	Hilleary
Burton	Hobson
Buyer	Hoekstra
Callahan	Hoke
Calvert	Horn
Camp	Hostettle
Canady	Houghton
Castle	Hunter
Chabot Chambliss	Hutchinso Inglis
Chenoweth	Istook
Christensen	Johnson (
Chrysler	Johnson,
Clinger	Jones
Coble	Kasich
Coburn	Kelly
Collins (GA) Combest	Kim King
Cooley	Kingston
Cox	Klug
Crane	Knollenbe
Crapo	Kolbe
Cremeans	LaHood
Cubin	Largent
Cunningham	Latham
Davis	LaTouret
DeLay Diaz-Balart	Lazio Leach
Dickey	Lewis (CA
Doolittle	Lewis (KY
Dornan	Lightfoot
Dreier	Linder
Duncan	Livingsto
Dunn	LoBiondo
Ehlers	Longley
Ehrlich	Lucas
Emerson English	Manzullo Martini
Ensign	McCollum
Everett	McCrery
Ewing	McDade
Fawell	McInnis
Fields (TX)	McIntosh
Flanagan	McKeon
Foley	Meyers Mica
Forbes	iviiCd

[Roll No. 18] YEAS-217 Miller (FL) Molinari Franks (NJ) Moorhead Morella Franks (CT) Frelinghuysen **Mvers** Myrick Funderburk Nethercutt Neumann Ney Norwood Oxley Packard Goodlatte Goodling Paxon Petri Pombo Porter Portman Greenwood Gunderson Pryce Quinn Radanovich Ramstad Hastings (WA) Regula Riggs Hayworth Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher Heineman Roth Roukema Royce Sanford Saxton Scarborough Hostettler Houghton Schaefer Schiff Sensenbrenner Hutchinson Shadegg Shaw Johnson (CT) Shays Johnson, Sam Shuster Skeen Smith (NJ) Smith (WA) Smith (MI) Solomon Souder Klug Knollenberg Spence Stearns Stockman Stump Talent Tate LaTourette Taylor (NC) Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Livingston Walker Walsh LoBiondo Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (PA) Weldon (FL) McCollum Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Zeliff Zimmer

Abercrombie Baesler Baldacci Barcia Barrett (WI) Beilenson Bentsen Bevill Bishop Bonio Borski Boucher Brewster Browder Brown (FL) Brown (CA) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Cardin Clay Clayton Clement Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Condit Conyers Costello Coyne Cramer Danner Deal DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Dicks Dingell Doggett Dooley Dovle Durbin Edwards Engel Eshoo Evans Farr Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Foglietta Ford (TN) Frank (MA) Frost Furse Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Gonzalez Gordon Ackerman Andrews (NJ) Becerra Berman Chapman Collins (MI) de la Garza Deutsch Dixon Flake Gekas Geren Gingrich Gutierrez So the stricken table. and said:

NAYS-178 Green Owens Hall (TX) Pallone Hall (OH) Parker Hamilton Pastor Payne (NJ) Harman Hastings (FL) Payne (VA) Hefner Peterson (MN) Hilliard Peterson (FL) Hinchey Pickett Holden Pomeroy Poshard Hover Jackson-Lee Rahall Rangel Jacobs Jefferson Reed Johnson (SD) Richardson Johnson, E. B. Rivers Johnston Roemer Kanjorski Roybal-Allard Kaptur Rush Kennelly Sabo Kildee Sanders Kleczka Sawyer Klink Schroeder LaFalce Schumer Lantos Scott Laughlin Serrano Sisisky Levin Lipinski Skaggs Skelton Lofgren Lowey Spratt Luther Stark Maloney Stenholm Manton Stokes Markey Studds Martinez Stupak Mascara Tanner Matsui Tauzin McCarthy Taylor (MS) McDermott Tejeda McHale Thompson McKinney Thornton Meehan Thurman Torricelli Meek Menendez Towns Mfume Traficant Miller (CA) Tucker Mineta Velazquez Minge Vento Mink Visclosky Moakley Volkmer Ward Mollohan Montgomery Waters Watt (NC) Moran Nadler Waxman Neal (MA) Williams Wise Woolsey Oberstar Obey Olver Wvden Ortiz Orton NOT VOTING-40 Gutknecht Reynolds Ros-Lehtinen Hayes Hvde Rose Kennedy (MA) Salmon Kennedy (RI) Seastrand Lewis (GA) Slaughter Lincoln Smith (TX) McHugh Torres McNulty Wilson Metcalf Wynn Murtha Yates Young (FL) Nussle Pelosi Quillen words were ordered to be

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the

By unanimous consent, Mrs. MEEK was permitted to proceed in order.

¶7.7 POINT OF ORDER

Mr. VOLKMER during one minute speeches addressed the House and, during the course of his remarks,

Mr. THOMAS made a point of order,

Mr. Speaker, those words have been stricken from the Record by a vote of this House. The gentleman under the

had it. ¶7.9 Abercrombie Baldacci Barcia Bentsen Bevill Bishop Bonio Borski Boucher Browder Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Cardin Clay Clayton Clement Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Condit Conyers Costello Coyne Cramer Danner DeFazio DeL auro Dellums Dicks Dingell Doggett Dooley Dovle

rules is not allowed to repeat them and he continues to do so.³

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, sustained the point of order.

¶7.8 MOTION TO ADJOURN

Mr. MFUME moved that the House do now adjourn.

The question being put,

Brewster

Bunning

Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Bono

Bunn

Durbin

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Fattah

Fazio

Filner

Ford

Frost

Furse

Geren

Allard

Archer

Armey

Bachus

Baesler

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE

Barrett (WI)

Bartlett

Bateman

Barton

Bass

Ballenger

Barr

Foglietta

Frank (MA)

Gejdenson

Gephardt

Farr

Will the House now adjourn?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, announced that the nays

Mr. MFUME demanded a recorded vote on the motion, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device. (

It was decided in the	Yeas	152
negative	Nays	247

[Roll No. 19]	
AYES-152	
	0
Gonzalez Hall (OH)	Owens Pallone
Hall (TX)	Parker
Hamilton	Pastor
Hastings (FL)	Payne (NJ)
Hilliard	Payne (NJ) Payne (VA)
Hinchey	Peterson (FL)
Holden	Peterson (MN)
Hoyer	Pomeroy
Jackson-Lee Jefferson	Poshard Rahall
Johnson (SD)	Rangel
Johnson, E. B.	Reed
Johnston	Richardson
Kanjorski	Rivers
Kaptur	Roybal-Allard
Kennelly	Rush
Klink	Sabo
Lantos Laughlin	Sanders Sawyer
Levin	Schumer
Lewis (GA)	Scott
Lipinski	Serrano
Lofgren	Skaggs
Lowey	Skelton
Luther	Spratt
Maloney	Stark Stenholm
Markey Martinez	Stokes
Mascara	Studds
Matsui	Stupak
McCarthy	Tauzin
McDermott	Taylor (MS)
McKinney	Tejeda
Meek	Thompson
Menendez Mfume	Thurman Torricelli
Miller (CA)	Towns
Mineta	Traficant
Minge	Tucker
Mink	Velazquez
Moakley	Vento
Mollohan	Visclosky
Montgomery Moran	Volkmer Ward
Nadler	Waxman
Neal	Williams
Oberstar	Wise
Olver	Woolsey
Ortiz	Wyden
Orton	
NOES-247	
Beilenson	Burr
Bereuter	Burton
Bilbray	Buyer
Bilirakis	Callahan
Bliley Blute	Calvert
Boehlert	Camp Canady
Boehner	Castle
Bonilla	Chabot

azquez to losky kmer man iams lsey len ton ahan /ert np ady stle Chabot Chambliss Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clinger Coble

1995

¶7.6