¶7.2 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of Tuesday, January 17, 1995.

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal was approved.

¶7.3 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, were referred as follows:

177. A letter from the Assistant Secretary of Education, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, transmitting final priorities-research and demonstration projects, pursuant to 20 U.S.C. 1232(d)(1); to the Committee on Economic and Educational Opportunities.

178. A letter from the Secretary of Education, transmitting a report concerning surplus Federal real property disposed of to educational institutions in fiscal year 1994, pursuant to 40 U.S.C. 484(o)(1); to the Committee on Economic and Educational Opportunities.

179. A letter from the Assistant Secretary for Legislative Affairs, Department of State, transmitting a listing of gifts by the U.S. Government to foreign individuals during fiscal year 1994, pursuant to 22 U.S.C. 2694(2); to the Committee on International Relations.

180. A letter from the Chairman, Federal Labor Relations Authority, transmitting the annual report under the Federal Managers' Financial Integrity Act for fiscal year 1994, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 3512(c)(3); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

181. A letter from the Chairman, Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission, transmitting the agency's annual report for the calendar year 1994 under the Freedom of Information Act, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 552(d); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

182. A letter from the Chairman, Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission, transmitting the annual report under the Federal Managers' Financial Integrity Act for fiscal year 1994, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 3512(c)(3); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

183. A letter from the Director, Office of Government Ethics, transmitting the annual report under the Federal Managers' Financial Integrity Act for fiscal year 1994, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 3512(c)(3); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

184. A letter from the Secretary of Labor, transmitting notification of the Department's intent to award a sale-source contract as required by the Federal Acquisition Regulation; to the Committee on Government reform and Oversight.

¶7.4 WORDS TAKEN DOWN

Mrs. MEEK during one minute speeches addressed the House and, during the course of her remarks,

Mr. WALKER demanded that certain words be taken down.

The Clerk read the words taken down as follows:

News accounts tell us that while the Speaker may have given up the \$4.5 million advance, he stands to gain that amount and much more. That is a whole lot of dust where I come from. If anything now, how much the Speaker earns has grown much more dependent on how hard his publishing house hawks his book.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, held the words taken down to be unparliamentary, said:

"It is the Speaker's opinion that innuendo and critical references to the Speaker's personal conduct are not in order.

Mr. VOLKMER appealed the ruling of the Chair.

Mr. LINDER moved to lay the appeal on the table.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House lay on the table the appeal of the ruling of the Chair?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, announced that the nays had it.

Mr. LINDER objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas When there appeared Nays 169

¶7.5[Roll No. 17]

YEAS-214

Fawell Fields (TX) McCrery McDade Allard Archer Armev Foley McInnis Bachus (AL) Forbes McIntosh Baker (CA) Fowler McKeon Baker (LA) Fox Metcalf Franks (CT) Ballenger Meyers Franks (NJ) Barr Mica Barrett (NE) Miller (FL) Frelinghuysen Bartlett Funderburk Molinari Gallegly Moorhead Barton Morella Ganske Bateman Gilchrest Myers Bereuter Gilman Myrick Bilbray Goodling Nethercutt Bilirakis Goss Neumann Graham Bliley Ney Greenwood Norwood Blute Boehlert. Gunderson Nussle Oxley Boehner Hancock Bonilla Hansen Packard Bono Hastert Paxon Brownback Hastings (WA) Petri Bryant (TN) Hayworth Pombo Bunn Hefley Porter Heineman Bunning Portman Herger Hilleary Burr Pryce Burton Quinn Hobson Radanovich Callahan Hoekstra Ramstad Calvert Hoke Regula Camp Riggs Hostettler Canady Roberts Houghton Castle Rogers Chabot Rohrabacher Chambliss Hutchinson Roth Chenoweth Roukema Inglis Christensen Istook Royce Johnson (CT) Sanford Chrysler Johnson, Sam Clinger Saxton Coble Scarborough Jones Kasich Coburn Schaefer Collins (GA) Kelly Schiff Sensenbrenner Combest Kim Shadegg Cooley King Cox Kingston Shaw Klug Knollenberg Crane Shays Shuster Crapo Cremeans Kolbe Skeen LaHood Smith (MI) Cubin Cunningham Smith (NJ) Largent Davis Latham Smith (WA) DeLay LaTourette Solomon Diaz-Balart Souder Lazio Dickey Doolittle Leach Spence Lewis (CA) Stearns Lewis (KY) Dornan Stockman Lightfoot Dreier Stump Duncan Linder Talent Dunn Livingston Tate Ehlers LoBiondo Taylor (NC) Emerson Longley Thomas English Thornberry Lucas Tiahrt Torkildsen Manzullo

Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK)

Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker

Wolf Young (AK) Zeliff Zimmer

NAYS-169

Abercrombie Green Owens Hall (OH) Baesler Pallone Hall (TX) Baldacci Parker Barcia Hamilton Pastor Barrett (WI) Payne (N.J) Harman Hastings (FL) Payne (VA) Beilenson Bentsen Hefner Peterson (FL) Hilliard Peterson (MN) Bishop Bonio Hinchey Pickett Borski Holden Pomerov Brewster Hover Poshard Browder Jackson-Lee Rahall Brown (CA) Jacobs Rangel Jefferson Brown (FL) Reed Brown (OH) Johnson (SD) Richardson Bryant (TX) Johnson E.B. Rivers Johnston Cardin Roemer Kanjorski Roybal-Allard Clayton Kaptur Kennelly Rush Clement Sabo Kildee Kleczka Clyburn Sawyer Coleman Schroeder Collins (IL) Klink Schumer Condit LaFalce Scott Serrano Convers Lantos Laughlin Costello Skaggs Coyne Levin Skelton Cramer Lofgren Spratt Danner Luther Stark Deal Maloney Stenholm DeFazio Manton Stokes DeLauro Markey Studds Dellums Martinez Stupak Dicks Mascara Tauzin Taylor (MS) Dingell Matsui Doggett McCarthy Tejeda Thompson Dooley McDermott McHale Doyle Thornton Durbin McKinney Thurman Edwards Torricelli Meehan Meek Engel Towns Menendez Traficant Eshoo Farr Mfume Tucker Miller (CA) Fattah Velazquez Fazio Mineta Vento Fields (LA) Visclosky Minge Filner Mink Volkmer Ward Moakley Ford Frank (MA) Montgomery Waters Frost Moran Watt (NC) Nadler Waxman Furse Gejdenson Williams Neal Wise Woolsey Gephardt Oberstan Obey Geren Gibbons Olver Wyden Gonzalez Ortiz Orton Gordon

NOT VOTING-52

Gillmor Ackerman Quillen Gingrich Goodlatte Reynolds Ros-Lehtinen Andrews Becerra Berman Gutierrez Rose Bevill Gutknecht Salmon Hayes Boucher Sanders Chapman Hyde Seastrand Kennedy (MA) Collins (MI) Sisisky Slaughter Kennedy (RI) de la Garza Deutsch Lewis (GA) Smith (TX) Dixon Lincoln Tanner Ehrlich Lipinski Torres Evans Lowey McHugh Wilson Flake Wvnn McNulty Flanagan Yates Mollohan Young (FL) Foglietta Frisa Murtha

So the motion to lay the appeal on the table was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STEARNS, announced that, by unanimous consent, the words ruled unparliamentary would be stricken from the Congressional Record.

Upton

Martini

McCollum

Everett

Ewing