cable to the legislative branch of the Federal Government.

When said bill was considered and read twice.

After debate,

1995

Pursuant to section 108 of House Resolution 6 the previous question was considered as ordered.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title.

- The question being put, viva voce,
- Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EHLERS, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. SHAYS demanded that the vote be taken by the yeas and nays, which demand was supported by one-fifth of the Members present, so the yeas and nays were ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device.

It was decided in the Yeas 429 affirmative Nays

Clinger

Coble

Condit

Cooley

Cox

Coyne

Crane

Crapo

Cubin

Danner

Davis

Deal

DeLay

Dickey

Dingell

Dornan

Doyle

Dreier

Dunn

Duncan

Durbin

Ehlers

Ehrlich

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Everett

Ewing

Fattah

Fawell

Fazio

Filner

Flake

Hunter

Hutchinson

Farr

English Ensign

Dixon

Dicks

Cramer

¶1.32 Abercrombie Ackerman Allard Andrews Archer Armey Bachus Baesler Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Baldacci Ballenger Barcia Barr Barrett (NE) Barrett (WI) Bartlett Barton Bass Bateman Becerra Beilenson Bentsen Bereuter Berman Bevill Bilbray Bilirakis Bishop Bliley Blute Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Bonior Bono Borski Boucher Brewster Browder Brown (CA) Brown (OH) Brownback Bryant (TN) Bryant (TX) Bunn Bunning Burr Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Cardin Castle Chabot Chambliss Chapman Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clav Clayton

[Roll No. 15] YEAS-429 Clement Flanagan Foglietta Foley Clyburn Forbes Coburn Coleman Ford Fowler Collins (GA) Fox Frank (MA) Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Franks (CT) Combest Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Conyers Frisa Frost Funderburk Costello Furse Gallegly Ganske Gejdenson Gekas Gephardt Geren Cremeans Cunningham Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor de la Garza Gilman Gonzalez DeFazio Goodlatte DeLauro Goodling Gordon Dellums Goss Deutsch Graham Diaz-Balart Green Greenwood Gunderson Gutierrez Gutknecht Doggett Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Dooley Doolittle Hamilton Hancock Hansen Harman Hastert Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Edwards Haves Hayworth Hefley Hefner Emerson Heineman Herger Hilleary Hilliard Hinchey Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Holden Horn Hostettler Fields (LA) Houghton Fields (TX) Hoyer

Hyde Inglis Istook Jackson-Lee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E.B. Johnson, Sam Johnston Jones Kaniorski Kaptur Kasich Kelly Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kim King Kingston Kleczka Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaFalce LaHood Lambert-Lincoln Lantos 0 Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Linder Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Lofgren Longley Lowey Lucas Luther Malonev Manton Manzullo Markey Martini Mascara Matsui McCarthy McCollum McCrerv McDade McDermott McHale McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Metcalf Meyers Mfume Mica Miller (CA) Brown (FL) Martinez

Miller (FL) Mineta Schumer Scott Seastrand Minge Mink Moakley Sensenbrenner Serrano Molinari Shadegg Mollohan Shaw Montgomery Shavs Moorhead Shuster Moran Sisisky Morella Skaggs Murtha Skeen Myers Skelton Myrick Slaughter Nadler Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Neal Nethercutt Smith (TX) Neumann Smith (WA) Ney Norwood Solomon Souder Nussle Spence Oberstar Spratt Obey Stearns Olver Stenholm Ortiz Stockman Orton Stokes Owens Studds Oxley Stump Packard Stupak Pallone Talent Parker Tanner Pastor Tate Paxon Tauzin Payne (NJ) Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Payne (VA) Pelosi Tejeda Thomas Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Thompson Petri Thornberry Pickett Thornton Pombo Thurman Pomerov Tiahrt Torkildsen Porter Torres Torricelli Portman Poshard Pryce Towns Quillen Traficant Tucker Quinn Radanovich Upton Rahall Velazquez Ramstad Vento Visclosky Rangel Reed Volkmer Regula Vucanovich Reynolds Waldholtz Richardson Walker Riggs Walsh Wamp Rivers Roberts Ward Roemer Waters Watt (NC) Rogers Rohrabacher Waxman Weldon (FL) Ros-Lehtinen Rose Weldon (PA) Roth Weller Roukema White Roybal-Allard Whitfield Royce Rush Wicker Williams Sabo Wilson Salmon Wise Wolf Sanders Sanford Woolsey Wvden Sawver Saxton Wynn Scarborough Young (AK) Schaefer Young (FL) Schiff Zeliff Schroeder Zimmer

NOT VOTING-4 Stark

Yates

So the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

1.33 ADJOURNMENT OVER

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns on Thursday, January 5, 1995, it adjourn to meet at 2:00 p.m. on Monday, January 9, 1995.

1.34 HOUR OF MEETING

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns on Monday, January 9, 1995, it adjourn to meet at 11:00 a.m. on Wednesday, January 11, 1995.

1.35 HOUR OF MEETING

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns on Wednesday, January 11, 1995, it adjourn to meet at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, January 13, 1995.

1.36 CALENDAR WEDNESDAY BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That business in order for consideration on Wednesday, January 11, 1995, under clause 7, rule XXIV, the Calendar Wednesday rule, be dispensed with.

1.37 REPORT OF COMMITTEE TO NOTIFY THE PRESIDENT

Mr. ARMEY was recognized and said: Mr. Speaker, your committee appointed on the part of the House to join a like committee on the part of the Senate to notify the President of the United States that a quorum of each House has been assembled and is ready to receive any communication that he may be pleased to make has performed that duty.

Mr. Speaker, I might point out that the committee consisted of myself and the minority leader, the gentleman from Missouri [Mr. GEPHARDT]. We had a pleasant conversation with the President. I am sure he will be communicating to us later.

Mr. Speaker, I yield, if he should wish, to the minority leader, the gentleman from Missouri [Mr. GEPHARDT], for any remarks he would like to make. Mr. GEPHARDT. Mr. Speaker, I

thank the gentleman for yielding.

This call was a tradition which we have usually fulfilled. We fulfilled it earlier today or yesterday with the gentleman from Texas. We did inform the President, as we are required to do, that the House is seated, we have elected officers, elected a Speaker, and that we were ready for legislative action, and I believe we are having a meeting later today with the President and the bipartisan leadership.

1.38 MINORITY EMPLOYEES

Mr. GEPHARDT, by unanimous consent, submitted the following resolution, which was considered and agreed to (H. Res. 7):

Resolved, That pursuant to the Legislative Pay Act of 1929, as amended, the six minority employees authorized therein shall be the following named persons, effective January 3, 1995, until otherwise ordered by the House, to-wit: Thomas O'Donnell, George Kundanis, Marti Thomas, Michael Wessel, Laura Nichols, and Steve Elmendorf, each to receive gross compensation pursuant to the provisions of House Resolution 119, Ninety-fifth Congress, as enacted into permanent law by