cable to the legislative branch of the Federal Government.

When said bill was considered and read twice.

After debate,

Pursuant to section 108 of House Resolution 6 the previous question was considered as ordered.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EHLERS, announced that the yeas had

Mr. SHAYS demanded that the vote be taken by the yeas and nays, which demand was supported by one-fifth of the Members present, so the yeas and nays were ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the Yeas 429 affirmative Nays

¶1.32[Roll No. 15] YEAS-429

Abercrombie Clement Flanagan Ackerman Allard Clinger Foglietta Foley Clyburn Andrews Coble Forbes Archer Coburn Coleman Ford Fowler Armey Bachus Collins (GA) Fox Frank (MA) Baesler Collins (IL) Baker (CA) Collins (MI) Franks (CT) Baker (LA) Combest Franks (NJ) Baldacci Condit Frelinghuysen Ballenger Conyers Frisa Cooley Barcia Frost Funderburk Barr Costello Barrett (NE) Furse Cox Barrett (WI) Coyne Gallegly Bartlett. Cramer Ganske Gejdenson Barton Crane Bass Crapo Gekas Gephardt Geren Bateman Cremeans Cubin Becerra Beilenson Cunningham Gibbons Gilchrest Bentsen Danner Bereuter Davis Gillmor Berman de la Garza Gilman Bevill Deal Gonzalez Bilbray DeFazio Goodlatte Bilirakis DeLauro Goodling Bishop DeLay Gordon Bliley Dellums Blute Deutsch Graham Diaz-Balart Boehlert Green Dickey Boehner Greenwood Bonilla Dicks Gunderson Bonior Dingell Gutierrez Bono Dixon Gutknecht Borski Doggett Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Boucher Dooley Doolittle Brewster Hamilton Browder Dornan Hancock Brown (CA) Doyle Hansen Brown (OH) Dreier Harman Brownback Duncan Hastert Bryant (TN) Dunn Hastings (FL) Bryant (TX) Durbin Hastings (WA) Bunn Edwards Haves Hayworth Bunning Ehlers Burr Ehrlich Hefley Hefner Burton Emerson Buyer Engel Heineman English Ensign Callahan Herger Hilleary Calvert Hilliard Camp Eshoo Canady Evans Hinchey Hobson Cardin Everett Castle Ewing Hoekstra Chabot Farr Hoke Chambliss Fattah Holden Chapman Chenoweth Fawell Horn Hostettler Fazio Fields (LA) Christensen Houghton Fields (TX) Chrysler Hoyer Clay Filner Hunter Clayton Hutchinson

Hyde Inglis Miller (FL) Mineta Schumer Scott Istook Seastrand Minge Mink Moakley Jackson-Lee Sensenbrenner Jacobs Serrano Jefferson Molinari Shadegg Johnson (CT) Mollohan Shaw Johnson (SD) Montgomery Shavs Johnson, E.B. Moorhead Shuster Johnson, Sam Moran Sisisky Morella Johnston Skaggs Murtha Skeen Jones Kaniorski Myers Skelton Myrick Slaughter Kaptur Kasich Nadler Smith (MI) Smith (N.J) Kelly Neal Kennedy (MA) Nethercutt Smith (TX) Kennedy (RI) Neumann Smith (WA) Ney Norwood Kennelly Solomon Souder Kim Nussle Spence Oberstan King Spratt Kingston Obey Stearns Kleczka Olver Stenholm Klink Ortiz Stockman Klug Orton Stokes Knollenberg Owens Studds Kolbe Oxley Stump LaFalce Packard Stupak LaHood Pallone Talent Lambert-Lincoln Parker Tanner Lantos Pastor Largent Paxon Tauzin Payne (NJ) Taylor (MS) Latham Taylor (NC) LaTourette Payne (VA) Laughlin Pelosi Tejeda Thomas Peterson (FL) Lazio Leach Peterson (MN) Thompson Levin Petri Thornberry Lewis (CA) Pickett Thornton Lewis (GA) Pombo Thurman Lewis (KY) Pomerov Tiahrt Torkildsen Lightfoot Porter Torres Torricelli Linder Portman Lipinski Poshard Livingston Pryce Towns LoBiondo Quillen Traficant Tucker Lofgren Quinn Radanovich Longley Upton Lowey Lucas Rahall Velazquez Ramstad Vento Visclosky Luther Rangel Maloney Reed Volkmer Manton Regula Vucanovich Manzullo Reynolds Waldholtz Markey Richardson Walker Riggs Martini Walsh Wamp Mascara Rivers Matsui Roberts Ward McCarthy Roemer Waters McCollum Watt (NC) Rogers McCrery Rohrabacher Waxman Weldon (FL) McDade Ros-Lehtinen Rose McDermott Weldon (PA) McHale Roth Weller McHugh Roukema McInnis McIntosh Roybal-Allard Whitfield Royce Rush Wicker McKeon Williams McKinney McNulty Sabo Wilson Salmon Wise Meehan Wolf Sanders Meek Sanford Woolsey Menendez Wyden Sawver Metcalf Saxton Meyers Scarborough Young (AK) Mfume

NOT VOTING-4

Young (FL)

Zeliff

Zimmer

Schaefer

Schroeder

Schiff

Brown (FL) Stark Martinez Yates

Mica

Miller (CA)

So the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

¶1.33 ADJOURNMENT OVER

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns on Thursday, January 5, 1995, it adjourn to meet at 2:00 p.m. on Monday, January 9, 1995.

¶1.34 HOUR OF MEETING

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns on Monday, January 9, 1995, it adjourn to meet at 11:00 a.m. on Wednesday, January 11, 1995.

¶1.35 HOUR OF MEETING

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns on Wednesday, January 11, 1995, it adjourn to meet at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, January 13, 1995.

¶1.36 CALENDAR WEDNESDAY BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That business in order for consideration on Wednesday, January 11, 1995, under clause 7, rule XXIV, the Calendar Wednesday rule, be dispensed

¶1.37 REPORT OF COMMITTEE TO NOTIFY THE PRESIDENT

Mr. ARMEY was recognized and said:

Mr. Speaker, your committee appointed on the part of the House to join a like committee on the part of the Senate to notify the President of the United States that a quorum of each House has been assembled and is ready to receive any communication that he may be pleased to make has performed that duty.

Mr. Speaker, I might point out that the committee consisted of myself and the minority leader, the gentleman from Missouri [Mr. GEPHARDT]. We had a pleasant conversation with the President. I am sure he will be communicating to us later.

Mr. Speaker, I yield, if he should wish, to the minority leader, the gentleman from Missouri [Mr. GEPHARDT], for any remarks he would like to make.

Mr. GEPHARDT. Mr. Speaker, I thank the gentleman for yielding.

This call was a tradition which we have usually fulfilled. We fulfilled it earlier today or yesterday with the gentleman from Texas. We did inform the President, as we are required to do, that the House is seated, we have elected officers, elected a Speaker, and that we were ready for legislative action, and I believe we are having a meeting later today with the President and the bipartisan leadership.

¶1.38 MINORITY EMPLOYEES

Mr. GEPHARDT, by unanimous consent, submitted the following resolution, which was considered and agreed to (H. Res. 7):

Resolved, That pursuant to the Legislative Pay Act of 1929, as amended, the six minority employees authorized therein shall be the following named persons, effective January 3, 1995, until otherwise ordered by the House, to-wit: Thomas O'Donnell, George Kundanis, Marti Thomas, Michael Wessel, Laura Nichols, and Steve Elmendorf, each to receive gross compensation pursuant to the provisions of House Resolution 119, Ninety-fifth Congress, as enacted into permanent law by