Roth	Smith (TX)	Vucanovich
Roukema	Smith (WA)	Waldholtz
Royce	Solomon	Walker
Salmon	Souder	Walsh
Sanford	Spence	Wamp
Saxton	Stearns	Weldon (FL)
Scarborough	Stockman	Weldon (PA)
Schaefer	Stump	Weller
Schiff	Talent	White
Seastrand	Tanner	Whitfield
Sensenbrenner	Tate	Wicker
Shadegg	Tauzin	Wolf
Shaw	Taylor (NC)	Young (AK)
Shays	Thomas	Young (FL)
Shuster	Thornberry	Zeliff
Skeen	Tiahrt	Zimmer
Smith (MI)	Torkildsen	
Smith (NJ)	Upton	
NOT VOTING—3		

NOT VOTING—3

Chrysler Gingrich

Norwood

So the motion to commit with instructions was not agreed to.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House agree to said resolution?

The SPEAKER announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. SOLOMON demanded that the vote be taken by the yeas and nays, which demand was supported by one-fifth of the Members present, so the yeas and nays were ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device

It was decided in the affirmative Yeas 251 Nays 181

¶1.19 [Roll No. 5] YEAS—251

Crapo Cremeans Hefley Heineman Allard Archer Armey Cubin Herger Bachus Cunningham Hilleary Baesler Hobson Danner Baker (CA) Davis Hoekstra Baker (LA) Deal Hoke Ballenger Horn DeLay Barr Diaz-Balart Hostettler Barrett (NE) Dickey Doolittle Houghton Bartlett Hunter Barton Dornan Hutchinson Bass Dreier Hyde Bateman Duncan Inglis Bereuter Dunn Istook Bevill Johnson (CT) Ehlers Bilbray Ehrlich Johnson, Sam Bilirakis Emerson Jones English Bliley Kasich Ensign Blute Kelly Boehlert Everett Kim Boehner Ewing Fawell King Bonilla Kingston Fields (TX) Klug Knollenberg Bono Boucher Flanagan Foley Brewster Kolbe LaHood Browder Forbes Brownback Fowler Largent Bryant (TN) Latham Fox Franks (CT) Bunn LaTourette Bunning Franks (NJ) Lazio Burr Frelinghuysen Leach Lewis (CA) Burton Frisa Funderburk Buyer Lewis (KY) CaĬlahan Gallegly Lightfoot Calvert Linder Ganske Camp Gekas Livingston Canady Geren LoBiondo Gilchrest Longley Castle Chabot Gillmor Lucas Manzullo Chambliss Gilman Goodlatte Chenoweth Martini Goodling Christensen McCollum Chrysler Clinger McCrery McDade Goss Graham Coble Greenwood McHugh Coburn Gunderson McInnis Collins (GA) Gutknecht McIntosh Combest Hall (TX) McKeon Condit Hancock Metcalf Cooley Hansen Meyers Cox Hastert Mica Hastings (WA) Miller (FL) Cramer

Havworth

Crane

Molinari

Montgomery Moorhead Rogers Rohrabacher Stump Talent Morella Ros-Lehtinen Tanner Tate Tauzin Murtha Roth Roukema Myers Taylor (MS) Myrick Royce Nethercutt Salmon Taylor (NC) Thomas Neumann Sanford Ney Saxton Thornberry Norwood Scarborough Schaefer Tiahrt Nussle Torkildsen Schiff Traficant Orton Oxley Packard Seastrand Upton Vucanovich Sensenbrenner Parker Shadegg Waldholtz Paxon Shaw Walker Peterson (MN) Walsh Shays Wamp Petri Shuster Weldon (FL) Pickett Sisisky Weldon (PA) Pombo Skeen Smith (MI) Porter Weller Smith (N.J) White Portman Smith (TX) Whitfield Pryce Quillen Smith (WA) Wicker Quinn Solomon Wolf Radanovich Souder Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Ramstad Spence Regula Stearns Riggs Stenholm Roberts Stockman

NAYS-181

Abercrombie Gutierrez Olver Ackerman Hall (OH) Hamilton Ortiz Andrews Owens Baldacci Harman Pallone Hastings (FL) Barcia Pastor Barrett (WI) Payne (NJ) Hayes Hefner Payne (VA) Beilenson Hilliard Pelosi Hinchey Peterson (FL) Bentsen Berman Holden Pomeroy Hoyer Jackson-Lee Bishop Poshard Rahall Bonior Borski Jacobs Rangel Brown (CA) Jefferson Reed Brown (FL) Johnson (SD) Reynolds Brown (OH) Johnson, E. B. Richardson Bryant (TX) Johnston Rivers Cardin Kanjorski Roemer Chapman Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Rose Roybal-Allard Clav Clayton Kennedy (RI) Rush Clement Clyburn Kennelly Sabo Sanders Kildee Kleczka Coleman Sawyer Collins (IL) Klink Schroeder Collins (MI) LaFalce Schumer Lambert-Lincoln Conyers Scott Costello Lantos Serrano Laughlin Skaggs Covne de la Garza Skelton Levin Lewis (GA) DeFazio Slaughter Lipinski DeLauro Spratt Dellums Lofgren Stark Lowey Luther Deutsch Stokes Dicks Studds Dingell Maloney Stupak Tejeda Thompson Dixon Manton Doggett Markey Dooley Martinez Thornton Doyle Mascara Thurman Durbin Matsui Torres Edwards McCarthy Torricelli McDermott Engel Towns McHale Tucker Evans McKinney Velazquez McNulty Farr Vento Fattah Meehan Visclosky Fazio Fields (LA) Meek Volkmer Menendez Ward Filner Mfume Waters Miller (CA) Watt (NC) Flake Foglietta Waxman Mineta Ford Williams Minge Frank (MA) Mink Wilson Wise Frost Moakley Furse Mollohan Woolsey Gejdenson Gephardt Moran Wyden Nadler Wvnn Gibbons Neal Oberstan Gordon

NOT VOTING—2

Obey

Gingrich Gonzalez

Green

So the resolution was agreed to. A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶1.20 MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A message from the Senate by Mr. Hallen, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate has passed resolutions of the following titles, in which the concurrence of the House is requested:

S. RES. 1

Resolved. That a committee consisting of two Senators be appointed to join such committee as may be appointed by the House of Representatives to wait upon the President of the United States and inform him that a quorum of each House is assembled and that the Congress is ready to receive any communication he may be pleased to make.

S. RES. 2

Resolved, That the Secretary inform the House of Representatives that a quorum of the Senate is assembled and that the Senate is ready to proceed to business.

S. RES. 11

Resolved, That the House of Representatives be notified of the election of the Honorable Strom Thurmond, a Senator from the State of South Carolina, as President protempore of the Senate.

S. RES. 12

Resolved, That the House of Representatives be notified of the election of the Honorable Sheila P. Burke, of California, as Secretary of the Senate.

$\P 1.21$ RULES OF THE HOUSE

Mr. ARMEY, pursuant to House Resolution 5, called up the following privileged resolution (H. Res. 6):

Resolved,

TITLE I. CONTRACT WITH AMERICA: A BILL OF ACCOUNTABILITY

SEC. 101. The Rules of the House of Representatives of the One Hundred Third Congress, including applicable provisions of law or concurrent resolution that constituted rules of the House at the end of the One Hundred Third Congress, together with such amendments thereto in this resolution as may otherwise have been adopted, are adopted as the Rules of the House of Representatives of the One Hundred Fourth Congress, with the following amendments:

Committee, Subcommittee, and Staff Reforms

(a) COMMITTEE STAFF REDUCTIONS.—In the One Hundred Fourth Congress, the total number of staff of House committees shall be at least one-third less than the corresponding total in the One Hundred Third Congress.

(b) SUBCOMMITTEE REDUCTIONS.—In clause 6 of rule X, amend paragraph (d) to read as fol-

"(d) No committee of the House shall have more than five subcommittees (except the Committee on Appropriations, which shall have no more than thirteen; the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight, which shall have no more than seven; and the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, which shall have no more than six)."

(c) CONSOLIDATED COMMITTEE STAFF AND BIENNIAL FUNDING.—

(1) In clause 5(a) of rule XI, amend the first sentence to read as follows: "Whenever any committee, commission, or other entity (except the Committee on Appropriations) is to be granted authorization for the payment of its expenses (including all staff salaries) for a Congress, such authorization initially shall be procured by one primary expense resolution reported by the Committee on House Oversight.".