

Congressional Record

United States of America proceedings and debates of the 112^{th} congress, second session

Washington, D.C.

Thursday, June 28, 2012

House of Representatives VISCLOSKY WELCOMES NEW CITIZENS

Mr. Speaker: It is with great pleasure and sincerity that I take this time to congratulate the individuals who will take their oath of citizenship on July 4, 2012. In true patriotic fashion, on the day of our great nation's celebration of independence, a naturalization ceremony will take place, welcoming new citizens of the United States of America. This memorable occasion, coordinated by the Hammond Public Library and presided over by Magistrate Judge Andrew Rodovich, will be held at The Pavilion at Wolf Lake in Hammond, Indiana.

America is a country founded by immigrants. From its beginning, settlers have come from countries around the globe to the United States in search of better lives for their families. The upcoming oath ceremony will be a shining example of what is so great about the United States of America - that people from all over the world can come together and unite as members of a free, democratic nation. These individuals realize that nowhere else in the world offers a better opportunity for success than here in America.

On July 4, 2012, the following people, representing many nations throughout the world, will take their oath of citizenship in Hammond, Indiana: Edina Anita Szabo, Jonathan Carmona Garcia, Alaa Alzayed, Oliva Chavez, Guolan Lu, Jaime Oseguera Cardenas, Dejan Kitevski, Jelica Dobrijevic, Karla Elizabeth Arreguin Farias, Ahmad Abdelrahim Almaaya, Huda Dali, Ljubica Vignjevic, Kefaa Nahed Omar Shuaibi, Rea Agulto Clarito, Senka Pamucar, Tanja Vignjevic, Liljana Josevski, Omiyosoye Adebowale Ololade, Mopelola Eniola Ololade, Blessing Obong Dennis, An Boo Min, Amanjot Kaur, Jingli Crain, Caroline Elizabeth Nyamweru Kamau, Halrun Luppes, Senija Crnkic, Siraneth Sem, Lenna Sabina Wade, Sanel Puzic, Jose Alberto Galicia Talabera, Tobias Florian Boes, Faneromeni Talia, James Murei Mumbura Karanja, Stella Gathoni Waithaka, Bacilia Avila, Mireya Jaquelin Aguilar, Gifty Debo Barlue, Esther Joo Young Chun, Patricia Contreras, Salvador Cruz, Nathaniel Tuason David, Luis Alberto Garcia, Njeri Mary Karumbo, Juliana Santos Kladis, Lenka Mitic, Innocent Ngenga, Elizabeth Procyk, Jose Gustavo Suarez, Nour Alghnimi Ulayyet, and Jovita Zurita.

Though each individual has sought to become a citizen of the United States for his or her own reasons, be it for education, occupation, or to offer their loved ones better lives, each is inspired by the fact that the United States of America is, as Abraham Lincoln described it, a country "...of the people, by the people, and for the people." They realize that the United States is truly a free nation. By seeking American citizenship, they have made the decision to live in a place where, as guaranteed by the First Amendment of the Bill of Rights, they can practice religion as they choose, speak their minds without fear of punishment, and assemble in peaceful protest should they choose to do so.

Mr. Speaker, I ask you and my other distinguished colleagues to join me in congratulating these individuals, who will become citizens of the United States of America on July 4, 2012, the day of our nation's independence. They, too, will be American citizens, and they, too, will be guaranteed the inalienable rights to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. We, as a free and democratic nation, congratulate and welcome them.