7100 Defense Pentagon Washington, DC 20301-7100

09-NEWS-0005

March 27, 2009

Missile Defense Agency Presents Annual Pioneer Awards

Winners of the 2009 Missile Defense Agency's (MDA) Technology Pioneer Awards were presented during the seventh annual U.S. Missile Defense Conference in Washington, D.C. on March 23, 2009. Awards for individual and team achievements were presented by MDA director Lt. General Patrick O'Reilly.

Winning and accepting for the individual award, Dr O'Dean Judd, Chief Scientist for the Strategic Defense Initiative Organization (SDIO) from 1987 to 1990, was recognized in part, for oversight and technical direction on all key technologies being developed or assessed by SDIO.

The team award was presented to Dr. Donald Clapp and the Airborne Laser Technology Team. The team, comprised of Dr. Clapp, ABL Chief Engineer and Mission Assurance Manager for Boeing; Mr. Jeffrey Hartlove, ABL Deputy Program Manager for Northrop Grumman; Dr. Steven Lamberson, Missile Defense Agency's ABL Chief Scientist for the ABL System Program Office; Dr. David Morris, ABL Chief Scientist and System Performance Manager for Boeing; Dr. Harold Schall, ABL Chief Engineer for Integration and Testing for Boeing; and Mr. Paul Shattuck, ABL Beam Control/Fire Control Chief Engineer and Technical Director for Lockheed Martin were also recognized for their contributions to the development and integration of crucial technologies that enable the megawatt-class Airborne Laser to engage in boost phase ballistic missile defense.

The MDA Technology Pioneer Award was initiated in 2006 to honor individuals or small teams who have made significant contributions to the advancement of technology to support the development, testing and acquisition of current and future elements of the Ballistic Missile Defense System.

News media point of contact is Rick Lehner, Missile Defense Agency, at (703) 697-8897 or richard.lehner@mda.mil.