

7100 Defense Pentagon Washington, DC 20301-7100

06-FYI-0074

28 March 2006

## Missile Defense Agency Presents First Technology Pioneer Award

The Missile Defense Agency (MDA), announced the winners for the first Technology Pioneer Awards on March 24, 2006, at the 4th Annual U.S. Missile Defense Conference.

The six winners for this year include three individual awards: Edward Walters for introducing hit-to-kill technology, Edward Gerry for introducing high energy lasers, and Robert Van Allen for introducing high energy lasers. The first of the three group awards went to a team who led the successful Delta 180 experiment that completed the first boost-phase missile intercept: John Dassoulas, Michael Griffin, Thomas Coughlin, Larry Crawford, Courtney Ray, Jr., and Thomas Roche. The second went to a team for introducing the design and technology of the Lightweight Exo-Atmospheric Projectile (LEAP) program: Richard Matlock, William Carpenter, and Michael Leal. The third went to the team who led missile defense X-Band Radar development: John Krasnakevich, William Lemnios, and LTC (Ret.) Stephen Peth.

The Technology Pioneer Award was created to recognize individuals or small groups who have made outstanding contributions to technology and the advancement of missile defense in the past 24 years. This unsung hero award recognizes those whom have made significant contributions in science and technology, engineering, or program management.

Nominees include either government or industry employees that have made a unique contribution that directly affects the missile defense capability for the United States. The candidates were picked due to their initiative, creative thinking, innovation, and have gone beyond the normal bureaucratic boundaries. The award may be granted to either government or industry employees living or deceased, so long as they have made a unique contribution that directly affects the missile defense capability for the United States. They are also picked due to their initiative, creative thinking, and innovation.



Photo Caption: Lt. Gen. Obering presents the Technology Pioneer Award to the team who led missile defense X-Band Radar development on March 24, 2006 at the 4<sup>th</sup> annual Missile Defense Conference in Washington, DC.

Contact: Rick Lehner, Missile Defense Agency, at (703) 697-8997