

RELEASE #2009-02-25-1 2009: THE YEAR OF THE NCO February 25, 2009

Thirteen U.S. Army Europe junior officers honored for commitment to duty, honor, country with MacArthur leadership awards

By Spc. Fabian Ortega

U.S. Army Europe Public Affairs Office

HEIDELBERG, Germany -- U.S. Army Europe saluted the leadership of 13 of the command's junior officers with the presentation of USAREUR-level awards in the 2008 Gen. Douglas MacArthur Leadership Awards program, Feb. 23.



SPC FABIAN ORTEGA

Winners of this year's Gen. Douglas MacArthur Leadership Awards at the U.S. Army Europe level pose for a photo with USAREUR commander Gen. Carter Ham (center) following their award presentations in Heidelberg, Germany, Feb. 23. The winners are (left to right) Warrant Officer 1 Daniel Frazee; Chief Warrant Officer 2 Theron Bostick; Chief Warrant Officer 2 Philip Ranck; Capt. Jose Collado; Chief Warrant Officer 2 Sylvester Anderson; Amy Rodick, who accepted the award on behalf of her husband, Capt. Michael Rodick; Capt. Jeffrey Hazard; Capt. Allen Kehoe; Chief Warrant Officer 2 Sammy Rodriguez; and Capt. Johnathan Martin, who accepted the award on behalf of Capt. Erik Oksenvaag. Not pictured are winners Chief Warrant Officer 2 Terry F. Throm; Capt. Ari D. Fisher and Capt. Philip Turner.

In his remarks at the awards luncheon in the Patrick Henry Village Pavilion here, USAREUR commander Gen. Carter F. Ham lauded the 13 officers for their leadership and service to Soldiers.

"In other armies the Soldiers serve the officers. In our Army I think it's the other way around -- the officers serve the Soldiers. I think ... the reason that you are here today is because you have served those Soldiers so well," Ham told the honorees.

"You have led them so

ably, and your senior officers and commanders have recognized in you those very special traits that set you apart from your peers. I believe foremost amongst those traits is that notion of serving those Soldiers that we are privileged to lead," the general said.

The Gen. Douglas MacArthur Leadership Award was introduced in 1987 and is presented annually to company-grade and junior warrant officers who demonstrate MacArthur's ideals of "Duty, Honor, Country" and have a proven record of performance, leadership and achievement.

Approximately 3,700 USAREUR officers were eligible for this year's award. The nominees were recommended by their commanders and selected for USAREUR-level awards by their major commands.

"Each of you 13, for as long as you continue to serve, can always remember that this day you were selected by your commanders and by your commands as the best of the best," said Ham. "All of us are humbled by you and proud of your service."

A panel of senior leaders selected three of the 13 to represent USAREUR at the Department of the Army level of the competition.

One of the three moving on to Army-level competition, Capt. Allen Kehoe, commander of D Company, 1st Battalion, 503rd Infantry, said his selection for the MacArthur award is a reflection of the Soldiers and the leadership around him.

"Anybody who is awarded something like this really has too many people to thank (for) all their accomplishments," he said. "I thank all the people who have worked with me and the leadership that has developed me over the years."

The Army level winners are expected to be announced in May.

The officers who will represent USAREUR at the Army level of the Gen. Douglas MacArthur Leadership Awards competition are:

Capt. Allen Kehoe Company D, 1st Battalion, 503rd Infantry, 173rd Airborne Brigade Combat Team

Capt. Erik C. Oksenvaag Company C, 1st Battalion, 6th Infantry, 1st Armored Division

Chief Warrant Officer 2 Terry F. Throm Headquarters and Headquarters Detachment, 14th Movement Control Battalion, 21st Theater Sustainment Command

The following officers received USAREUR-level Gen.Douglas MacArthur Leadership Awards:

Capt. Jeffrey Hazard Battery C, 5th Battalion, 7th Air Defense Artillery, 357th Air and Missile Defense Detachment

Capt. Michael Rodick Battery A, 5th Battalion, 7th Air Defense Artillery, 357th Air and Missile Defense Detachment

Capt. Jose Collado Headquarters, Special Troops Battalion, V Corps

Capt. Ari D. Fisher 709th Military Police Battalion, 18th MP Brigade, 21st Theater Sustainment Command

Capt. Philip Turner Headquarters and Headquarters Detachment, 39th Movement Control Battalion, 21st Theater Support Command

Chief Warrant Officer 2 Philip Ranck Headquarters, Special Troops Battalion, V Corps

Chief Warrant Officer 2 Theron Bostick Battery A, 5th Battalion, 7th Air Defense Artillery, 357th Air and Missile Defense Detachment

Chief Warrant Officer 2 Sammy Rodriguez Fusion Company, 2nd Battalion, 503rd Infantry, 173rd Airborne Brigade Combat Team

Chief Warrant Officer 2 Sylvester Anderson Special Troops Battalion, 21st Theater Sustainment Command

Warrant Officer 1 Daniel Frazee Service Battery, 5th Battalion, 7th Air Defense Artillery, 357th Air and Missile Defense Detachment



www.hqusareur.army.mil