## THE PROTEIN SOCIETY ANNOUNCES ITS 2011 AWARD RECIPIENTS

Excerpt from press release, December 14, 2010: <a href="http://www.proteinsociety.org/pdf/2011">http://www.proteinsociety.org/pdf/2011</a> Awards PressRelease FINAL 12.14.2010.pdf

**BETHESDA, MD –** The Protein Society, the leading international society devoted to furthering research and development in protein science, announces the winners of its 2011 awards. Two of the awards will be conferred at the IX European Symposium of The Protein Society (May 22-26, 2011 in Stockholm, Sweden) and five of the awards will be conferred at the 25th Annual Symposium of The Protein Society (July 23-27, 2011 in Boston, Massachusetts).

**The Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin Award**, sponsored by Genentech, is granted in recognition of exceptional contributions in protein science, which profoundly influence our understanding of biology.

The 2011 award will be jointly awarded to Dr. Brenda Schulman (St. Jude Children's Research Hospital – HHMI) and **Dr. Wei Yang (NIDDK, NIH)**.

Dr. Schulman will receive the award for her fundamental and pioneering contributions to the understanding of the ubiquitin and ubiquitin-like systems through structural, biophysical and biochemical insights. Studies by her laboratory have led the way worldwide in the structural and functional understanding of catalysis and regulation by UBL enzymes.

Dr. Yang will be recognized for her numerous studies that led her to propose a widely accepted model of two metal ion catalysis for a large class of nucleic acid enzymes. In her work, Dr. Yang has used powerful crystallographic and biochemical methods to define molecular mechanisms of DNA repair, replication and recombination.