INFORMATION ON JOB HUNTING RESOURCES: A Pathfinder

This guide will introduce some of the resources available in the Combined Arms Research Library on JOB HUNTING. This guide is not a comprehensive listing of sources, but is intended to be a starting point.

BOOKS

Try searching CARL's Online Catalog. The following subject headings will provide recent titles:

• Employment Interviewing
• Job Hunting
• Resumes (employment)
• Vocational Guidance

The following are some examples of book titles:

• Complete Job Search Organizer (650.14 O13C 1997)
• Electronic Resumes and Online Networking (025.06S657e)
• From Army Green to Corporate Gray (650.14 S267f)
• Get Hired! Winning Strategies to Ace the Interview (650.14 G797g)
• Job Search: Marketing your Military Experience (650.12024355 H496j)
• Jobs and the Military Spouse (650.14 F231j)
• Resumes and Cover Letters that have Worked for Military Professionals (650.14 R436)
• What Color is your Parachute? (650.1405 B691w)

REFERENCE SOURCES

Available on the 1st Floor.

• Almanac of American Employers (Reference Index Table)
• Career Guide: D&B Employment Opportunities Directory (Reference Index Table)
• National Jobline Directory: Over 2000 Companies (Ref 650.14025 S353n)
• Occupational Outlook Handbook (Ref 331.7 O15)
• Professional's Job Finder (Ref 331.1280973 P964)

MAGAZINES

Professional job listings in your career area may be found in your professional journals. Newspapers for the geographical area you are interested in are another great source of job listings and many may now be found on the Internet. There are many newspaper links on the CARL Gateway to the Internet. Below are just a few examples:

• Federal Career Opportunities (Reading Table)
• Kansas City Star (Newspapers)
• New York Times (Newspapers)
• CARL Links to the Internet News Services

PERIODICAL INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS

Periodical articles about different careers, finding a job, or any other topic may be found using the following indexes:

• EbscoHost (On-line through the CARL's Databases)
• ProQuest Direct (On-line through the CARL's Databases)
• Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (Ref 050 R282)

INTERNET

The Internet has changed the way people look for jobs and provides an excellent way to find out about a company, resources for job hunting, or available jobs.  Below are some helpful websites:

• America's Job Bank
• Riley Guide - resume and job hunting tips
• Kansas Civil Service Jobs
• USA Jobs
• Missouri: State Employment Opportunities

ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE

---

Return to Pathfinder Directory